We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Wall

Motel 6 Wall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Wall to your Saves list
Motel 6 Wall
211 10th Street, Wall, SD 57790   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Wall
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just ok.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very friendly staff, clean and simple accommodation. That said, there were 2 issues worth mentioning.
1) This is a light framed building and noise from the rooms on the 2nd floor is very noticeable. Normal conversations could be heard from the room above us not to mention other forms of noise. Poorly thought out construction by a national chain that builds hundreds if not thousands of motels.
2) there is only hot water, no cold water. That was a first for us. Staff told us it comes from the city like that and that all the buildings in the neighborhood have the same issue. Very odd that is so hot that you can't bathe in it let alone drink it.

I wouldn't recommend it unless you get a discount from the usual $75 rate and are on the top floor.

Room Tip: Top floor, bring bottled water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmnap, Owner at Motel 6 Wall, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I am sorry that you has issues with your stay at our property...we have recently remodeled and added a new pool area for our guests. Unfortunately we cannot do anything more than we have already done structurally aside from leveling the building and building new...which if we had the funds we would happily do ;) . Yes our "cold" water comes out of the ground warm! This is common in our area and unfortunately we cannot do anything about it...it is a natural phenomenon. I would like to thank you for staying at our property and hope you will give us an opportunity to serve your needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    32
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
12
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Traveled from Montana to Illinois with our year old dog. Found this hotel where pets stay free and room for the night was fairly cheap. Desk attendants were all super nice and accommodating. Room had few amenities but did have cable, microwave, and refrigerator. Room and bathroom were extremely clean. After unpacking desk attendant called to see if we were happy with our room, my boyfriend and i thought that was nice. Also, front desk had dog treats:) It's nothing fancy but if you are looking for a reasonably priced pet friendly hotel in Wall, this is it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmnap, Owner at Motel 6 Wall, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are happy that you were able to have an accommodating hotel for your pet! We happily welcome pets and are in the process of making a pet friendly area where guests can relax and watch their dog play!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is very nice. It's a little dated, the beds were a hard, as were the pillows. But it was affordable, and the staff were very accommodating. Definitely would stop there again if I needed a cheap place to stay. They were renovating the pool, so I didn't get a chance to check that out, but it does have a pool! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmnap, Owner at Motel 6 Wall, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We have finished a remodel of some of our rooms and have completed the pool renovation! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukon, Iowa, Usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

No reservation and thankfully they had a room. It was adorned with the cheapest of everything. Carpet was stained, and it smelled damp. I needed a good nights rest after a long day and I got that and got out of there. My room was quiet and bathroom was clean. I'd try something else first, but sometimes on the road you don't get much choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmnap, Owner at Motel 6 Wall, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am very sorry you were unhappy with you stay at our property...we are very excited that we are able to remodel this fall and will have new rooms available soon! Thank you for your comments as they help us to improve our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

As a Motel 6 they were of course pet friendly, and gave me a corner room near the grass, but there's not much grass on the property (there IS nicely mowed grass, just not a ton). But that was ok because if you just walk down the road a ways the whole side of the road is a nice grassy area, and it's NOT a busy road at all. Nice motel! Quiet. And something that I thought was cool was that in the morning when we were packing the car I spotted some bats roosting nearby that had obviously been feasting on the bugs attracted to the lights overnight, that was very cool!

Room Tip: We were in the "back corner" and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmnap, Owner at Motel 6 Wall, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We are in the process of installing a new pet area complete with benches to for pet owners to relax while there dogs have a safe area to play off their leash! We are excited that this area will be open for pets and there parents next spring! Thank you for your comments as they help us to continually improve our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

There's not much to choose from in the way of lodging when you get to Wall -- which is probably why this aging hotel hasn't been updated in decades. It felt old, rundown, and heavily used. I was grateful to leave after one night. On top of everything else, I overpaid due to it being Sturgis week. If you can get to Rapid City (where you have plenty of modern hotels to choose from), keep going.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmnap, Owner at Motel 6 Wall, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am very sorry you were unhappy with your stay at our property...We are excited that we are able to remodel this fall and will have brand new rooms by next season! Thank you for your comments as they help us to improve our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flin Flon, Manitoba, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here as a stop on our long holiday. The room was clean enough, but had no amenities in the room. I like having a coffee maker in the room so that I can have a coffee in the morning, but there wasn't one. There were only two towels in the room. It did have free wifi though and the outdoor pool area was lovely. It was okay for a one-night stay, but I wouldn't want to stay for longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmnap, Owner at Motel 6 Wall, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments...I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at our property...Motel 6 provides basic amenities and coffee pots are not in the room but we do have complimentary coffee in the office...As always thank you for your comments as they help us improve our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Wall

Address: 211 10th Street, Wall, SD 57790
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Wall
Wall Motel 6
Wall Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.