We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Clean Cabins with nice extras” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frontier Cabins Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frontier Cabins Motel
Save
You added Frontier Cabins Motel to your Saves list
1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent, Clean Cabins with nice extras”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We like many travelers stop in Wall because it is a convenient place to stop near the Badlands and on our way to other places. So when we sopped in Wall we did not have high expectations. However these cabins would be a nice place to stay in any locations. Well appointed rooms along with little touches like a hose to clean some of the dust and bugs from our travels. A porch and nice chairs to sit out at night. Nice laundry facilities. The outdoor hot tub and fire place. Nice simple breakfast.

Room Tip: If you have a choice look to the Badlands or to the West.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    74
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
167
161
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Though barely south of busy I90, this is a good choice for the traveler in search of an alternative to bland chain hotels. The nearby highway was not a problem. The property is clean and inviting with a kind of large, kitchy store/gift shop which doubles as the motel office. The young man behind the counter was pleasant, helpful, and willing to chat me up as I asked about Sturgis and other local topics. Faux log cabins outside give way to authentic western log furniture inside. Tastefully appointed rooms are clean and free from the aroma of scented cleaners. Steer clear of the big box joints on South Blvd and head to Glenn St.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central IL
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Someone knew what they were doing when they built these cabins. I wish we could have stayed here much longer than we did. It would be a very relaxing place to stay and enjoy the Wall area. We were just passing through so we only stayed the night and had to leave early the next morning.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We selected the Frontier based on a TripAdvisor review, and it was the perfect stay and then some! Each "room" is a separate cabin. They seemed nearly brand new, and were fitted out with the total western cabin look, right down to the moose robe hook and western bordered towels in the bathroom. Everything was clean and comfortable. The breakfast served in their wonderful gift shop was superb. All that along with the friendliest people make this a must stay if you're going to be in Wall.

Room Tip: All the cabins are far enough form the road to be quiet, but the ones in the back have a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you are visiting the badlands this is the place to stay. It is only about a 5 minute drive to the badlands entrance. The cabins are each individualized and are clean and roomy. You have everything you need in the room including a fridge which is great for keeping water cold. Breakfast was ok and more than enough to get the morning started. For a price under a $100/ night this place is a real value.

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesnt face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We arrived tired and beat after driving two full days. Our kids were so glad for the playground. The rooms were clean and just the right amount of "cabiny feel". At night, we put the kids to bed and sat outside on the porch. The highway is close but not too close and the tourist part of Wall is on the other side. Nice and quiet. We wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Americus, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The rooms are nice, but, no one seems to be able to manage anything over here. Exterme fire danger posted all over? No problem lighting a fire in te wind here. When I asked for a wake up call at 5 am for this morning, they called at 4:15. No one seems to know how to work anything here. The security chain on my room was broken, I asked for maintenance to repair it, but no, no one knew how to manage that, so my door was unsecured for 2 nights. Then I waited for a long distance call that didn't come because the person working the front desk did not know how to transfer a call, so I missed a business opportunity, which really upset me. When I asked to speak to the Hotel owner or manager, Theresa, the front desk clerk and wife to incompetance refused to give me the name or number. That amounts to crummy, crummy service which should be corrected. The husband tried to throw me out, and go to another hotel, after I already paid $400 for the 2 nights. What a Jerk. Next time it's the Best Western or the Super 8. Incompetance in the hotel service industry makes a paid stay a misery. Also, pretty noisy because it is next to the highway. Avoid this place if you can, because there really are better alternatives in Wall. Many other better alternatives.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontier_Cabins, Business Administrator at Frontier Cabins Motel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We at Frontier Cabins Motel are sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We try to make your stay "your" home away from home but in this case we apparently failed and for this we do apologize. We will investigate the matter and take corrective action as appropriate.
Frontier Cabins Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frontier Cabins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frontier Cabins Motel

Address: 1101 S. Glenn Street, Wall, SD 57790
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Wall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Wall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frontier Cabins Motel is family owned and offers Thirty-Three (33) Rustic Log Cabins all designed to function as your Home Away From Home. Each is fully equipped, has its own private bath and is serviced daily by our outstanding housekeeping crew. We have Four (4) types of Cabins: 1. Double Queen Beds (sleeps 4), 2. Master Queen Bed plus Queen Size Sofa bed (sleeps 4) 3. Master King Bed plus Queen Size Sofa Bed (sleeps 4) 4. Two Room Kitchenettes with Two Queen Beds in the Bedroom plus Queen Size Sofa bed in Sitting Room/Kitchen area (sleeps 6). All cabins have a Microwave, Refrigerator, Coffee Maker,Linens/Towels, Heat& Air, Cable with HBO TV. We also have a playground, Hot Tub, Sauna, & Picnic Area, Free Continental Breakfast and a 4000 sq ft Gift Shop with unique gifts for your shopping. pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frontier Cabins Hotel Wall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frontier Cabins Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.