We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place for kids of all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wall Drug

Wall Drug
510 Main Street, Po Box 401, Wall, SD
605-279-2175
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Attractions in Wall
Type: Malls, Specialty Shops, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Shopping
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1931, this family business is known for its friendly service and for offering free drinking water to travelers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A Great Place for kids of all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

There is only one Wall Drug but you can find the signs for it all over the world. It all started with free ice water (which is pretty darn good) and now has become a global phenom. All of the animatronic cowboys singing cowboy ballads never gets old. All of the trinkets you can by here are just that but still fun to look around. I have very fond memories of this place from childhood and many now too as an adult. Worth the time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    342
    308
    99
    58
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We Got Sucked In and It Was Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

On a road trip with my friend, we were running low on gas and water and couldn't help but notice the signs on the highway guiding us to Wall Drug. So we stopped thinking we could refuel, refill, and take a quick look around and be back on the road. That was not the case, we walked into this massive store and could not resist checking out everything they have to offer, including the free ice water, $0.05 cups of coffee, amazing donuts and pie, and general amazing coolness of this store. The backyard here is a must-see! There are so many fun photo opportunities back there!

We had a great time here although it definitely set us TWO HOURS back, it was well worth it! We picked up the brochure for the store and read it on our way to our hotel. The story of how this store became famous is a good road trip read after your visit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Wish I could've gotten to spend more time here. This is a fun place to stop and shop! Wide variety of items to choose from. So many cute little shops. Not to expensive overall!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Must-See Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Wall Drug is a true American success story - a small-town drug store that could barely survive during the depression era and brought to life by offering travelers free ice water. Since then, with a lot of imagination and a great sense of humor, it has become one of America's top tourist attractions. Don't miss the backyard where you can get a photo with a jack-a-lope! See the T-Rex roar, the animated western singers, and many more attractions for the kids. If you want to buy gifts or souvenirs from the Badlands or Black Hills, this is the place to do it. No rip-offs here. There is a huge selection, and everything is reasonably priced. There are also shops with a great selection of western wear and novelties, not to mention a chapel, and even the drug store is still here! We had dinner in the Western Art Gallery Restaurant. This was the middle of Labor Day Weekend, so not sure why the hours were reduced and the menu was shortened, but prices were low and the service was great. Food was tasty, as well, and we stopped here the next morning for a delicious breakfast. Coffee is always 5 cents, and they still give away free ice-water! This is NOT a tourist trap - it's a real American icon that you will simply not want to miss. Set aside several hours, have fun, and bring a good sense of humor!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Really?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We did not get the hype behind this place. If you are into buying crappy souvenirs, then this is definitely the place for you, but we didn't get it. We didn't get any food, so I hope that's the attraction, because everything else wasn't worth it to us.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wall Drug also viewed

 

Been to Wall Drug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wall Drug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.