We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun, if a bit hokey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wall Drug

Wall Drug
510 Main Street, Po Box 401, Wall, SD
605-279-2175
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 4 attractions in Wall
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Specialty Shops, Malls
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Established in 1931, this family business is known for its friendly service and for offering free drinking water to travelers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good fun, if a bit hokey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Bashing Wall Drug for being a tourist trap is a bit like beating up Vatican City for being too religious - it misses the whole point of the place. Yes, some of the stuff for sale and "exhibits" are hokey, but in fact Wall Drug is a lot of fun. It also sells a lot of things that aren't at all trashy - the food at the cafe is good (the donuts are fantastic) and the bookstore has a great selection of Dakota and frontier history books. The toy store is really good too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    272
    240
    74
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea, but I can see where others would enjoy it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I thought this would be more of a large, old-fashioned drug store, but it's more like a tourist mall. It has a mix of very cheap souvenirs to expensive artwork. I did get some excellent salt water taffy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quirky stop on the road.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

From the signs, it seems this is the ultimate tourist trap. But it doesn't cost you anything unless you want to buy something. It is quite a unique and fun place. You can find just about anything you want, including art, Western wear, books, souvenirs, restaurants, museums, not to mention free ice water. They even sell over the counter medicines. You can start or end your trip to the Badlands here, or make this a stop during your long trip across South Dakota.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“If you haven't been, swing by...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

First, yes this is a tourist trap. You know that going into it. It's a kind of right of passage for our family now...I stopped when I was a kid and we took our kids. The donuts were good. Other breakfast food was OK. Beyond that, this is a big trinket store with lots of things to see. If you've never been, stop in and check it out. This establishment must keep the South Dakota billboard companies in business all by themselves. They had an unbelievable amount of billboards along the interstate we were driving.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Get a clue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This is tourist place, but understand the history. The couple set up shop here in the 30s following the depression. This was on the edge of the world at that time. They placed signs on the highway for free ice water and boom business started taking off. Yes it is a "tourist trap", but without understanding the history of the place is to not full appreciate why it is the way it is today. A true entrepreneurial story on the edge of no where.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wall Drug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wall Drug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wall Drug to your Saves list