We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There Is Something For Everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wall Drug

Wall Drug
510 Main Street, Po Box 401, Wall, SD
+1 605-279-2175
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Wall
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in 1931, this family business is known for its friendly service and for offering free drinking water to travelers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Mechanicsville
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“There Is Something For Everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

There was a lot of hype about Wall Drug, so we decided to take a look. Since its 1931 inception and to draw people to the store, the owner advertised free ice water on the signs along the highway. This was such a hit, over the years it evolved into a 76,000 square foot wonderland of free attractions, Frontier town, museum, western store shopping, restaurant, ice cream parlor and much more. My husband was looking for a straight razor, and sure enough, Wall Drug had it – yeah! We wrapped up our visit by stopping by the ice cream parlor, relaxing at a café table watching the people go by and eating a very yummy ice cream sundae! There is something for everyone.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    357
    319
    100
    59
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Arkansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Biggest 'drug store' in the world.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If they had a pharmacy I didn't see it. This city block size place has just about everything else, though. Western wear store, animated figures singing western songs, a "T-rex" that performs about every 10-15 minutes. There's a huge Jackalope and a covered wagon you can climb on to pose for photos. Western art and souveniers, trinkets and food. It's worth stopping for the free ice water and nickle cup of coffee.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pataskala
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“A bit of a let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have had many friends tell me that a visit to Wall Drug was a must on my trip through the Dakotas. I heard that so much, I guess I expected more. It was a bit of a let down. The historic buildings are nice, and there are many things to see all crammed into one area. But it basically boils down to a mall with a few side show attractions around it. There are some unique shops for things in the area, but this was not as good as the hype made it to be. It is still worth a stop for those who have never been here to experience this roadside attraction.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukee, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Oh What Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Was at Wal Drug a couple of weeks ago. Such a fun place for all ages. Of course we had ice cream at the soda fountain and shopped. Never miss it as we travel into the Badlands/Deadwood!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved the history & the attractions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

You start seeing signs for Wall Drug, hundreds of miles before you even get close to Wall. So the curiosity level was quite high by the time we reached Wall, SD. Let's just say that if you can think it, Wall Drug has it! Very neat place and really good cafe and ice cream/soda fountain. If you are going to the Badlands or Mount Rushmore you need to make the time to go to Wall Drug!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wall Drug also viewed

 

Been to Wall Drug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wall Drug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.