We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wall Drug Store Cafe

Wall Drug Store Cafe
510 Main St, Po Box 401, Wall, SD 57790
605-279-2175
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Wall
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Description: Wall Drug is one of the largest roadside attractions in the world! With seating available for up to 520 in the Cafe! We are set up for large groups, families with children, and tour groups. With twenty different shops that cater to any of your shopping desires.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The food was OK, and a bit overpriced as you would expect, but the prices seemed to be about the same all over town. The restaurant is cafeteria style.

The staff was polite and helpful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    136
    129
    49
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Homemade and tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went there for breakfast and dinner and was very pleasently surprised at the quality of the food. Breakfast was either order or buffet style. Very tasty. Plus they bake their own pies (which were delicious-try the cherry!) and donuts. The coffee was great too! The wait staff was great, several foreign exchange folks but all were polite, helpful and friendly! Dinner was good, had roast beef dinner. Excellent! One drawback I can find, the price is higher than other places in town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun Tourist Trap - Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Definite tourist trap with lots of props for fun photo ops. If you like touristy shopping you will be in heaven. The meals we had at the café were very good. We had a bacon cheeseburger, fries, and a chicken sandwich with bacon. Both were large sized and very good. The fries were hot and crispy. The food line moved a bit slow. The 5 cent coffee was a fun touch. Would not recommend unless you like touristy places. We will most likely be back because it was a fun experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Breakfast was not tasty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had breakfast at Wall Drug. We had the doughnuts. They have a nice crunch but you can taste the fat. Yuck. My scrambled eggs were mixed on the grill so you could see the whites. The sausage was greasy. The coffee was only a nickel and tased like it, weak. I should have went with the free breakfast at the hotel.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
445 helpful votes 445 helpful votes
“I don't get it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I don't get it. So they used to give free ice water. Now they sell very average food and lots of touristy stuff (the ice water is still free). It's just room after room after room of buying opportunity. My partner is the one who wanted to go, he liked it more than I did, thought the over-the-top hokey was fun. I think he was high on sugar (milkshake, pie, donuts). :-)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wall Drug Store Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Wall Drug Store Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wall Drug Store Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.