We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About the only place to eat in Wall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Rock Restaurant

Red Rock Restaurant
506 Glenn St, Wall, SD 57790
605-279-2388
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Wall
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Calgary
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“About the only place to eat in Wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The motel owner sent us here and it was good. Good soup average salad bar, good chicken and very good pie. It was a good meal at a fair price with excellent service. I would eat here again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    97
    81
    28
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Wyoming
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Probably your best bet in Wall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I stopped in for dinner recently, during a very busy time - the Sturgis Rally was in full swing. But, we were seated quickly and our server brought drinks and menus. One note: They do not serve liquor. Beer and wine only.

Dinner was good; not excellent but good. Our server was very attentive. GIven the choices for food around here, I would say this is one of the better choices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Only if you are starving!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had just driven hundreds of miles into the Black Hills to see the National Treasure called The Bad Lands National Park. The only thing that spoiled the event was our visit to Red Rock Restaurant. I have little to say but don't go here unless it's the last stop you can find. The broasted chicken was dry as the bone it was on. The burgers were ugly scabs and the lettuce and tomato were extra!! Yes!! Extra!. One limp piece of lettuce and one heal from a tomato was all we received for our $1.75 Extra. That's enough, you get the point. Drive On!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not to crazy about this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had the buffet after the table next to us told us they had waited an hour for a sandwich to come out. The place was busy and tables were so close together they did not allow easy moving around. The waitresses were pleasant but obviously not enough of them. The buffet was a surprise. In one corner there was a small table with the salad and in a different corner was the actual buffet. I must admit I have never seen one so poorly laid out. Only one person could be in line for the main buffet at a time. There was no where else for the rest to stand. The chicken was the prize here and I give that a A+ but the rest of the food was mediocre.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“This is the best in town?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

After reading other reviews and asking a store owner downtown, we went to the Red Rock about 5:30 after visiting Wall Drug. Service was good. Place is a diner and as such, ambiance was dinerish. Glad I got the broasted chicken. It was plenty and good. Gravy on potatoes tasted jarred. Salad bar was sad with only a couple dressings, fake bacon bits (didn't even know you could still get those). And several mayo ladened salads. Nothing special in an area of the country really lacking decent restaurants for a tourist area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Rock Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Red Rock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Rock Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.