We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A holiday I will remember for the rest of my life, for all the right reasons.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bybeck Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bybeck Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Bybeck Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Bybeck, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Borrowdale CA12 5UQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A holiday I will remember for the rest of my life, for all the right reasons.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

My friend and I decided to have a short get-a-way in the Lake District to relax us before we headed back to University. We searched for places online and found "Bybeck B&B". We decided to go for it, as it looked idilic and peaceful.
Neither of us had stayed in a B&B before so we did not know what to expect. As soon as we arrived we knew it was going to be a great trip.
This peaceful get-a-way turned out to be one of the best holidays I have ever been on. The owners, David and Marilyn (two of the most lovely people I have ever met) were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful.
When we awoke to a spectacular breakfast feast, David provided us with maps of different walks we could do in the day according to what difficulty we fancied; when we returned Marilyn suprised us with some home-made chocolate cake, which ended the day perfectly!
All-in-all, I recommend everyone to go to Bybeck B&B, as I guarantee you will be able to have a holiday to perfection. I could not have been happier and certainly did not wish to go home at the end of the trip. See you soon David and Marilyn... we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We have just spent three nights at Bybeck with Marilyn and David at their wonderful B&B. We have stayed at various B&Bs in the Lake District over the years and this is unquestionably the most enjoyable stay we have ever had at a B&B in the Lake District or anywhere else.

We were immediately made welcome on our arrival and by the time we left, it felt more like a stay with friends than a B&B. We tended to be late out walking each day because we spent so long chatting at breakfast. David gave us spot-on advice on what walks to do and supplied laminated maps of the route before we set off. Grange is a lovely quite spot in Borrowdale and so it is ideally placed for walks from the door, without the need to drive anywhere.

Marilyn cooks the most marvelous chocolate cake and fruit loaf which she kindly put in the room so that it was waiting for us at the end of a tiring days walk. We made the mistake of not trying the drop scones until the last morning - - they are a treat and we won't miss out on these the next time we visit.

All in all, we loved our stay and our only concern now is whether it will be available for next time we visit, as I am certain that all who stay here will go back again for their next Lakeland visit.

Many thanks to Marilyn and David for their hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Our daughter booked three nights for us as a treat after her wedding. We have stayed in the area many times, so we knew the location was perfect, but so too was the accommodation.
We received a very warm welcome from Marilyn and David. Nothing was too much trouble, and we instantly felt at home. Breakfasts and homemade cake were splendid.
David and Marilyn are excellent hosts who are eager to share their home and their knowledge of the area with guests.
Our stay was over all too quickly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We spent 4 days staying with David and Marilyn, with family staying in a caravan nearby. The B&B was immaculately clean and the warmth and hospitality was more than generous. M&D were so welcoming and friendly, entertaining and WITTY ! The weather wasn't the best for us but we were told that in the Lake distict one must expect rain--although they had just gone through a long period of drought and glorious sunshine--so we were a bit unlucky but still had a great time. We are from Texas and were visiting family in the UK-so do remember that we are used to 90-100F!! The B&B is beautifully situated and it as ideal place for hiking and long walks--the scenery is fantastic! We enjoyed feeding the ducks daily just outside the B&B at the edge of the Derwent river. Keswick is the nearest town and we found it quaint and full of activity-especially on market day. A must do is to have dinner at the Borrowdale hotel--food was wonderful and if you like Indian food there is an excellent restaurant in town. Would highly recommend Bybeck and do try their famous Bybeck scones !! Would love to go back but doubt we'll get across the "pond" again anytime soon. Thanks again David and Marilyn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 10 nights and every one of them was most enjoyable. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and made to feel like one of the family. We couldn't find fault with Bybeck or the lovely Marilyn and David, they were the perfect host, and nothing was too much trouble for them. They would make sure everything was ok and ask if we needed anything. The breakfasts were superb with plenty of variety. The Drop Scones are a must to try, and are one of David's specialities. We had the twin room, and is really spacious with two lovely views. On our first day there, David offered to take us up to Surprise View, and supplied us with printed out maps which highlighted various walks, and he told us the challenge grade of the walk. They also told us of a few hidden treasures to visit, that were truely worth the visit. They would also tell you the best places to park and recommend places to eat in Keswick. The passion and energy Marilyn and David have for the Lake District and making you feel welcome at Bybeck is so amazing they are true ambassadors. To think what they have achieved in such a short time, really puts alot of other places in the shade. The attention to detail and the personal touch is faultless. We would spend ages just engaged in having lovely chats and having a laugh. It was a very sad occasion when we had to leave, because we had grown to love Marilyn & David so quickly. We would most definately love to go back again, would certainly recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

This was the second time for us at Bybeck and we can honestly say that we have never been made to feel more welcome any where else. EVERYTHING was just perfect especially the hosts.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

David nd Marilyn welcomedus a pot of tea and a slice of chocolate cake. I took no persuading to have another slice!
The rooms are very comfortable and spotless. The twin is enormous.
The breakfast will set you up for the day. You can have as much as you want.
If you wish to go walking David will print out a map for you and give directions. You do not even have to use a car to reach the starting point. He has many that begin at Bybeck.
David and Marilyn will also show you where to go for an evening meal. The Borrowdale hotel do some excellent bar meals and it is within walking distance.
Do visit the Theatre by the Lake in Keswick. They put on a variety of shows during the summer.
This was our second visit and will not be our last

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bybeck Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bybeck Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bybeck, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Borrowdale CA12 5UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Grange-in-Borrowdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bybeck is a refurbished lakeland stone house offering two beautiful en-suite bedrooms for B&B. There are wonderful views of the Borrowdale fells from both rooms. Warm hospitality, home cooking and delicious breakfasts add to the appeal. There is a good bus service to Keswick (5 miles) and Honister Pass. Many walks can be planned directly from the B&B's front door. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bybeck Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.