We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning: You might eat too much for breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bybeck Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bybeck Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Bybeck Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Bybeck, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Borrowdale CA12 5UQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Warning: You might eat too much for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lured by the excellent trip advisor rating we decided to spend four nights at David and Marilyn's place. David replied to my email request almost instantly, not only to confirm our reservation, but also to comment on our blog (on economic policy issues - mostly on Switzerland, in German). The email exchanges felt like chatting with a friend - long before we even met. So expectations were high...

... and they were met. David and Marilyn are not only the perfect hosts but also very interesting friends to discuss all sorts of issues from economics and security to gardening, hiking, cooking, Cooking brings me to the only danger of the place: The breakfast ist too delicious. You might overeat especially with the drop scones, which are freshliy prepared every morning. Fortunately our younger son saved us from the worst: Only 23 kilos of weight he manage to down up to 12 scones a day... (which brought him an award).

Ther rooms are extremely comfortable, beautifully decorated and impecably clean. It is also a perfect place for families with not too young and/or well- behaved children (this does NOT imply that ours are usually well-behaved. However, given David and Marilyn's warmth and the great food they retaliated by being good...)

There are s number of good eating options in the neighbourhood, though you need a car to reach most of them. Hiking options are also excellent. We were very glad to avoid the summer hustle and bustle of Keswick. Despite the bad weather we were very sorry to leave. But we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We've stayed in a lot of B & Bs in our time but this one wins hands down we think. The location is beautiful (2 tearooms next door and a short walk from cat bells and Derwent Water). The house is spotlessly clean and tidy and David and Marilyn are the most congenial hosts you could wish for. We felt like we'd come to stay with friends rather than at a B & B. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful (you must try the drop scones!), the bacon was the best I've ever tasted. They were also extremely helpful to us in supplying maps and routes for the best walks in the area (they've climbed and visited many of the local landmarks) and in recommending local eating houses. We plan to return at some point in the future.

Room Tip: We had the twin room as the double was booked but we did not mind as we loved the comfy chairs with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had the good fortune of meeting David and Marilyn during our travels through Italy in 2010 and made a mental note to visit their Bed and Breakfast if ever we had the chance of travelling to the UK.
This past September, we were blessed to experience the UK and more particularly the Lake District. We loved our stay with David and Marilyn, it was like visiting old friends. Their welcome was especially warm and sincere and their home is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. They are the perfect host and they absolutely showered us with care and attention. David’s wisdom as a nature guide and his knowledge of the hiking trails is beyond brilliant. He took us on a nature ride around the fells and described the sites, the history and some stories with great insight and humour. It was an incredible afternoon, even in the rain. We highly recommend staying at Bybeck B&B without hesitation. Thank you David and Marilyn, for making this part of our journey unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

All previous reviews confirmed, you will not find a better b&b anywhere, a beautiful place...in a beautiful place!
Marilyn & David are the perfect hosts, David's fell walking advice comes from pure experience and Marilyns drop scones are as described in the other reviews......mouth watering...the best way to start a day...and that bacon...and those cumberland sausages...we could go on.
Whatever your reason for visiting the Lake District...do yourself a favour and book into Bybeck b&b.

Room Tip: Both rooms perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was our second visit to bybeck, and it was like visiting friends & family. The welcome from Marilyn and David was as ever, extremely warm and sincere. It really is a home from home, with cleaniness second to none. The breakfasts too (not forgetting the all important Drop-scones!!) are top drawer, and set you up for a day on the fells, or meandering in the valley bottoms.
Nothing is too much trouble at the Bybeck, and David & Marilyn are a fountain of knowledge from walks to recommended places to eat & visit. A stay at the Bybeck makes you feel apart of the lake district, and not just a tourist.
Both Bybeck B&B and Grange itself are rare gems, once discovered, you'll be back to sample its charms time and time again.
Thanks again for a great stay!
Diane & Jon

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great company, food, cleanliness. lovely location the other reviewers say it all. DON'T try the drop scones and dry cured bacon - it will change your life!
Professionalism yet effortless hosting that many more luxurious locations can only aspire to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We loved our stay at Bybeck. David and Marilyn are supper friendly hosts. We love chatting with them over breakfast. David is very knowledgeable with all the walks around Lake district. He pointed us to the way up Scafell Pike that avoided the most hiker! We had a great time. He also pointed to a hike across the road that gives a perfect view of Grange from above. we wouldn't have ever find it on our own.

The B&B location is perfect! Grange is tranquil unlike some of the other big popular tourist towns within Lake district. It is also short drive to many popular hikes around. drive to start the hike for Scafell is only 5min down the road. we had a room toward the front of the house with a great view. room and bathroom are comfortable and well stocked with coffee and tea. The B&B is also surrounded by a beautiful garden.

Moving on to those drop scones for breakfast!!! they are awesome. We were even given the extras to take on our climb up Scafell, made for wonderful lunch. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Lake district.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bybeck Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bybeck Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bybeck, Grange-in-Borrowdale, Borrowdale CA12 5UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Grange-in-Borrowdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grange-in-Borrowdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bybeck is a refurbished lakeland stone house offering two beautiful en-suite bedrooms for B&B. There are wonderful views of the Borrowdale fells from both rooms. Warm hospitality, home cooking and delicious breakfasts add to the appeal. There is a good bus service to Keswick (5 miles) and Honister Pass. Many walks can be planned directly from the B&B's front door. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bybeck Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.