We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better nite's sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1200 N. Dakota Street, Vermillion, SD 57069   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vermillion
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better nite's sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Good value. Clean, quiet, comfortable, We always stay here when in Vermillion. Service from staff is good. No issues. Our only disappointment this trip is that the hot tub isn't working. Breakfast is fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
7
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It was my third time in that hotel. I think this is the best place to stay in town.
Staff was friendly, rooms were clean, and since it was a business trip I have nothing negative to say. Not bad for being in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank You so much for choosing to stay with us & for taking the time to comment on our hotel.
We highly value our guest's opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was our 4th of 5th visit at this loc. This is the best quality hotel in town. We were welcomed with smile from , if I remember correctly , Zach. He was nice and polite as always. After we found out we had no frig in the room ,I called the front desk asking for help, 5 min later we had our frig in the room. Nice job Zach. Yes this hotel looks like needs a face lift and apparently it is going to happen next year. Bad , pillows and towels were very nice. We just found some stain on the cover of the bad, did not call front desk about, no big deal. Breakfast : it was ok I wish to have more variety of morning sausages, it would be nice to have a waffle instead of this "fake" pancakes machine. Suddenly every hotel has a pancake machine which makes tasteless pancakes. Would be nice to have better selection of fruit and ham, cheese.
The breakfast area in very small to accommodate all guests at the same time. Otherwise we wish this location would get more modern soon also the outside doors from the south did not have a lock working on it, everybody could enter the building. I went to the front desk to report it , this was around 22:00, the front desk guy said :they know about it and this is what it is. RED FLAG !!!! Manager please fix this hotel's security on all your outdoor door ASAP before something happens. thank you.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I went to stay at this hotel and when I arrived I was going to be charged double the amount that was on my confirmation.
When asked why to the person working the front desk he said he did not know but that I would have to talk to the manager on Monday.....another huge inconvenience.
If you are looking for a Holiday Inn, go to Sioux Falls or Yankton, SD and stay far away from Vermillion as they are rude, disrespectful and talk down to you as if you are not allowed to stay there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
I do apologize for the rate increase, however this reservation was a employee rate & when my Front Desk Agent called to verify the guest's employment with that hotel thier Front Desk Agent did not know this person at all. I also asked for a employee card to be brought in at checkin & a copy of a employee card was emailed instead.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I made one night's reservation on-line and then called the week of to ask about a second night. They didn't have a room with 2 queen beds for the second night but they did have a king suite. Since my daughter would be staying on campus the second night, we decided to move to the king room the second night. Our soon would be able to use the pull-out sofa. We were told on the phone that the king suite was more money but that they would charge us the cost of a queen room both nights. Well, on the second day we asked about moving rooms and were told we would be staying in the queen room. Ok, so our bill showed that we paid $140.16 for the first night and $133.46 for the second night. Not sure why the price difference since we stayed in the same room both nights and the queen was supposed to be less expensive than the king? The breakfast in the morning was fine and what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The rooms are very dated. It is time for them to do some remodeling, as you can see in the photos. Taking a shower was a process because the room would steam up terribly and the shower took a long time because of the poor water pressure. There aren't many hotel choices in Vermillion but I think next time we visit our daughter in Vermillion we will stay in Sioux Falls and make the drive. The hotel doesn't warrant the $140 nightly charge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I do apologize for your room being dated, however the hotel is getting a new remodel this next year. As for your first night's stay that had been made online, which the hotel is not able to change the rate. On the second night our Front Desk was able to offer you the lower rate. I do apologize again & if you had anymore questions please feel free to contact me at the hotel.

Thank You,

Amanda Whittecar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This HIX is in Vermillion, South Dakota. Home of University of South Dakota.
This is a top notch operation with service to match. If you do have the same experience, please contact me.
- Fast, accurate, check in
- Acknowledgment of IHX members
- Very Quiet
- 20 Meg Wi-Fi Internet (wow!)
- HVAC very good!
- HIX Bedding
Make sure you ask for extra coffee (single cup) maker in room.

I highly recommend this hotel for my fellow road warriors...

Safe Travels!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed two nights in July visiting our daughter. We were greeted by a friendly person at the counter and made to feel welcome. We were given a handicapped room on the first floor. The sink was very small with almost no counterspace to place your things. Because it is a handicapped shower, it leaked water over the edge and they all seem to do(in my experience). The bathroom was very clean. The room itself for the most part was clean except cobwebs in the corner of the ceiling. The wallpaper was peeling off the wall and in the corners which was ugly. There were no musty smells in the room. The breakfast was hot, fresh, and the fruit great. The staff there was very nice. My husband liked the workout room. Overall, we would stay here again but ask for a nonhandicapped room and one without peeling wallpaper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We always try to provide the best service available to all of our guests. We will look into the the issues that you have listed. We hope you choose to stay with us for future visits and that we can improve your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion

Address: 1200 N. Dakota Street, Vermillion, SD 57069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Vermillion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vermillion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express hotel is ideally located directly across the street from the University of South Dakota's, Dakota Dome, and three blocks from the main campus. This Vermillion hotel is minutes from the scenic Oyate Trail, the National Music Museum, the W.H. Over Museum, the Missouri River and Spirit Mound Historic Prairie. The University of South Dakota is home to many museums and sporting venues. Vermillion is home to a special blend of agriculture, higher education, retail business and light industry. Several shopping opportunities are minutes from the hotel. A variety of restarants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Vermillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Vermillion
Holiday Inn Vermillion
Vermillion Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vermillion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.