We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macaroon by Alison Seagrave - CLOSED

Macaroon by Alison Seagrave
569 Bury Road, Bamford, Rochdale, England
01706 558565
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We visited Macaroon after finding out that it is ranked the top place for afternoon tea in Greater Manchester. The sandwiches, cakes and scones were beautiful. Very friendly service and I also thought it was great value for money at £10 each. We also bought loads of cupcakes to take home which were delicious. Thank you for having us!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Another lovely afternoon tea today while having a catch up with a friend.
Great freshly made sandwiches with a choice of fillings, a variety of tasty cakes and a warm homemade scone with butter, jam and cream.
Excellent
Saved the best until last - great Macaroon! But of course it would be !
Thank you

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Go Go Go ..... this is a great place and the cakes are delish ! Whether you go in for a cream tea or just call in for a couple of lovely cakes you cannot go wrong here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not much choice - cakes not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went in today and we thought that there would have been more choice (it was 3.20pm). The lady who served us was very friendly and the prices were reasonable. When we ate the cupcakes, we found that the sponge was very crumbly and did not hold together well. Also the icing was too wet and a bit sloppy. It was a shame as we were looking for a nice treat after a disappointing meal elsewhere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Expected more from the reputation this place has was disapointed ! It is just a cafe on a main road that you could find anywhere. Had afternoon tea selection of small sandwiches you cant pick the filling you just get what they give you ! ,cakes.scone jam/cream scones average I like mine crispy they were soft but thats a personal preference. the service was excellent, overall it was good but wouldnt rush to go back .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macaroon by Alison Seagrave also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macaroon by Alison Seagrave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.