We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isla Hermit Crab” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Contoy

Isla Contoy
Isla Contoy 77500, Mexico
52 998-884-74-83
Improve this listing
Type: Islands, National Parks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This island nature reserve is home to 100 species of birds, including pelicans.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Isla Hermit Crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Loved this little spot. Great for snorkeling and seeing a natural island habitat. A must see if you are visiting the Yucatan.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    61
    29
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a fun day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went with one of the local tour operators who picked us up at our dock @ Villa Rolandi. We went snorkeling and then over to the Island. Snorkeling was very fun and our guide was very attentive. The island is small and pretty, I was expecting a lot of "tropical" brightly colored birds that I didn't see, but the relaxing on the beach made up for it. Lunch on the beach was nice albeit a bit crowded as many tours come over for the day. I must say that it was very well organized and there is plenty of food and drinks provided. Do this...it realy is fun!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“15 MINUTES OF FAME IN THE RAIN!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited Isla Contoy on a 1 day trip that also went to the Isla Mujeres.
Whilst waiting to board the boat at Cancun, this is when the weather turned for the worse with lots of rain and wind! The journey took around 90 minutes, but fair play to all the staff who made our journey very humorous with their endless entertainment, also considering the bad weather!
When we arrived at Contoy, we were taken for a tour around the island's museum, then had a walk up the lighthouse to view the island from a great aerial view. As Contoy is designated as a national park, greenery is the main feature inland. We then proceeded for a an amazing lunch which consisted of fresh octopus. Delicious! After lunch we were free to roam around the island at our own pace, but with the weather still acting up, it was very difficult to embrace Contoy's beauty.
Have to say this a beautiful place with no residents, no sellers, and a great beach with little seaweed. Such a shame our 15 minutes of fame was in the rain, but we still can appreciate the qualities that Contoy beholds. Also lots of lizards and hermit crabs in sight!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We used El Sol tours for our trip to Isla Contoy. Our guide who was multi-lingual was fantastic, unfortunately I don't know her name. The food the crew prepared for us was delicious. The beach was beautiful and the island was fascinating. Our trip back was awful. The consensus of other passengers was that our captain was racing another boat. It was rough, pounding and miserable.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“beautiful isla contoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

had a great trip to the beautiful isla contoy, we were pick up at 07.30 from our hotel, and taken to cancun were we met the other travlers. We were given a wrist band and a told the rules of this eco island, there are a limited number of people allowed on this isle per day.After given a drink and a quick snack we set sail, after about 30 mins we stopped and went snorkling for about 45 mins, the sea was a bit rough here and as i am not the best of swimmers i didnt stay in the water for that long, after the stronger swimmers came back we set off again for contoy. You could see as you got closer to this isle, how crystal clear the water is and how beautiful contoy is, we were given a tour of the parts of the isle that you can go ( most of the isle is off limits to tourists but dont let this put you off ) and then we went and had our lovely lunch of fresh fish, chicken, salad, rice etc plus drinks. After this we had a few hours to do what we wanted , you can walk around again or just sit back and relax on the beach, go swimming or snorkling, what ever you wanted, After this when nearly all the other tourits had left we went snorkling with our guide, this was alot easier than before and we spent about an hour in the water,there were lots of fish ( barracuda ) star fish etc, and this was just right for me only being a novice to snorkling, Ater this it was time to head back to our resort.It was a very hot day when we were here, so take plenty suncream, and apart from a towel its all that you needed as there was a constant supply all day of beer,water and soft drinks, also they supplied snorkling equipment and life jackets. There is plenty of wildlife on the isle, too many to mention. Give it a go you wont be dissapointed

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Contoy also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Coba, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Isla Contoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Contoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.