We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, convenient stop for a road weary traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2721 Lazelle, Sturgis, SD 57785   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sturgis
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, convenient stop for a road weary traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Sturgis was about the halfway point for a recent trip, so I decided to check out the Holiday Inn Express just off the highway. I made a reservation a few days earlier. Check-in was great, with a very friendly person willing to help with anything needed. Location was great for me...right off the highway. The Pizza Ranch was within walking distance, but I decided to venture downtown just to see the infamous Sturgis strip. My room was extremely clean and very comfortable. The only downside (and I am being picky now) was a mattress cover under the sheets that made the bed a little uncomfortable. I was leaving early, before the official breakfast time, but despite my early departure, some of the breakfast was already prepared and I was happily invited to grab some stuff if I wanted; the person was also very nice. I definitely recommend and would stop again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    19
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
30
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Union Center, South Dakota
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very new hotel. Within close walking distance of 4 eateries. Rooms clean, but no mini-fridge or microwave. Mattress for me was uncomfortably hard and I'm used to sleeping on an Army cot. Bkfst is nothing to rave about. Maybe I spent too much time in the South-fresh bisquits and no gravy? The HIE in Rapid City does it much better. Nice guest laundry. I'm a local, and have zero sinus/allergy problems, but had problems from the time I occupied the room. Not sure what it was, but partner had the same problem. Would recommend you consider the Super 8 in Sturgis. Rooms are just as nice with a frig and microwave at less than half the price.

Room Tip: Ask for west side room to get kind of a Hills view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Bearclaw6,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keithville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I really wasn't expecting anything quite this nice. From the outside all the way to the inside. Our room was perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable. I am very impressed. This is my first and probably last trip to Sturgis. So far it has been really pleasant. Even with all the snow.

Room Tip: Room 213 has a huge hot tub. It is very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am a road warrior and stay in a LOT of hotels; however, I don't stay in Holiday Inns that much. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The exterior is nice--just like the picture shows. But the inside was *very* nice, the people at the front desk were extremely friendly. But what got me most was the bathroom. It was GLEAMING. So clean! The bed was very comfy, the room was spacious and clean. The only "thing" was the walls seemed a bit thin... I could hear the guy snoring in the room next to me. LOL. However, the room is nice and dark for sleeping in. It had a microwave and mini fridge. I had no complaints about my stay and if I needed to stay in the western Black Hills again, I would stay here without question. Good job Holiday Inn Express!

Room Tip: Ask for a King "suite" if you can swing it. It's nice and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently stayed here for an evening of family fun! Their pool isn't large, but our children greatly enjoyed their waterslide. Every staff person we encountered was pleasant. We stayed in a suite and it was perfect size for my husband and I and four children. We most definately will stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very nice hotel. Nice staff. Breakfast was a little less than what I expected however. Price was kind of high as well, but I have come to expect Holiday Inn Expresses to be a little higher than their competetors. It's definitely the nicest hotel in Sturgis and I would stay there again if I was ever out that way again.

Room Tip: Best place to choose in Sturgis. Most definitely the newest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn and it was the best ever. We have told a lot of people about the stay. It was very clean the room was very nice. The food was very,very good.The location is in a a very nice area, easy to get to and from. Close to events. We are looking forward to going back this year 2013.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Address: 2721 Lazelle, Sturgis, SD 57785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sturgis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sturgis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sturgis, South Dakota. Enjoy a comfortable stay at the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota, conveniently located near Bear Butte State Park, Spearfish Canyon and the historic town of Deadwood, South Dakota. Travelers looking for lodging in western South Dakota will enjoy a stay at our Sturgis hotel with its easy access to area attractions, including Mount Rushmore, the Mammoth site, Crazy Horse Memorial & the South Dakota Air and Space Museum. Your family can also enjoy exploring the many natural caverns that dot the terrain, including Wonderland Cave Natural Park, the Black Hills Caverns and Crystal Cave Park, each within 25 miles of our hotel. A stay at our choice hotel in Sturgis, South Dakota gives you quick access to area businesses including Jameson International, EKConnection and the Coke Bottling Center, along with access to the brand new Convention Center and its premiere meeting facilities. Also, take advantage of our convenient, free shuttle into downtown Sturgis, Deadwood or to the Rapid City Regional Airport. During your stay at our hotel, enjoy all the amazing amenities we have to offer, including a game room, fitness center & heated, indoor pool with a Jacuzzi and water slide. Also, enjoy the free hot breakfast in the morning, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Sturgis hotel room deals to start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Sturgis
Sturgis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Sturgis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.