We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - great rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Spearfish

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Spearfish to your Saves list
Super 8 Spearfish
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   440 Heritage Drive, I-90 EXIT 14, Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Sioux Falls
1 review
“Great place - great rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I thought the room and the place itself was great and I got a wonderful rate (I booked through blackhillsvacations.com which was cheaper than booking directly but I think their cancellation policy may have been stricter). Had one queen size bed, a fridge, microwave & a comfy recliner but the room was still more spacious (width wise) than a friend who had a room with 2 queen size beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful whenever I had questions re: temperature control and alarm clock that wouldn't set the time. Breakfast was a little limited compared to other more costly motels but overall it was a wonderful experience all around. Quiet & comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review of our award winning Spearfish Super 8 on TripAdvisor. We enjoy having each and every guest that stays here. If you are ever in the area again we would love to have you come back and visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    52
    35
    15
    8
See reviews for
69
60
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Strathmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the best Super 8 I have stayed in. Large room, pool, hot tub, excellent full breakfast selection. The staff are very friendly and I can tell there is pride of ownership. Beautifully decorated lobby for the fall season. What is amazing is the price I paid. Very reasonable. This would be my first pick if I come through Spearfish again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review of our award winning Spearfish Super 8! We are glad you enjoyed your room, deluxe breakfast and all of our hotel amentities. We hope you get the opportunity to travel back to this area. If so, we'd love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

First, let me say, before the snow, the hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and made us feel very welcome. After the blizzard hit, they kept the guests, now stranded by 31 inches of snow and drifting, (travel bans were in effect even if you could get going) informed of the conditions, food options, and kept the hotel running as if nothing was going on outside. We really appreciated the indoor pool and hot tub, it made our extended stay enjoyable. They did a great job, and they were stranded with the rest of us. The hotel is very clean, updated and attractive. The pool and hot tub area is well maintained. The breakfast has many healthy choices. The staff all had smiles and never once complained even though they were stranded with us during the blizzard. We will definitely stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for giving our Spearfish Super 8 a 5 star rating. Our staff strives to anticipates the needs of all of our guests and offer them the best customer service possible even with the snow storm that weekend and 31" of snow. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in Super 8 motels before in different states.
This motel is the best. All Super 8 hotels are independently owned
and operated. General Manager and staff operate Super 8 in Spearfish
so well. Great Hospitality, clean, nice, great buffet. We enjoyed being there.
Bella

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review fo our award winning Spearfish Super 8! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, our deluxe breakfast and all of our hotel amentities. Please come back to see us again, we'd love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Spearfish

Address: 440 Heritage Drive, I-90 EXIT 14, Spearfish, SD 57783
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Super Eight Spearfish
Spearfish Super 8
Spearfish Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Spearfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.