We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nights sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Spearfish

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Spearfish to your Saves list
Super 8 Spearfish
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   440 Heritage Drive, I-90 EXIT 14, Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great nights sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The reception staff was awesome on arrival and departure, our reservations were waiting for us, room clean and large enough, although the only thing that would make this excellent would be to upgrade the TV to HDTVs. The pool and hot tub are an excellent addition to this motel, and greatly appreciated at the end of a long day of driving. The morning breakfast was enough to let you start your trip and the coffee was great. Overall a great place for overnight or even a bit longer stay would be nice in this Super 8.

Room Tip: The motel is far enough from the interstate that road noise was not a problem but the front desk was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were please with our location and staff. We are currently in the process of upgrading all of our TV's and would love to have another opportunity to accommodate you. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    52
    35
    15
    8
See reviews for
69
60
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The front desk staff is not at all professional nor courteous. They were rude to our children and us during the entire stay. The room could have been better stocked with linens as they knew that 5 of us would be staying. Definately will NEVER stay at this Super 8 again. The only good thing about this place is the pool and hot tub. The games would ahve been nice, but they obviously annoyed the staff and so they were unplugged.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavour to improve the qualtiy of our motel. Our rooms are stocked to the standards of Super 8 and we have extra towels at the front desk if more supplies were needed. The arcade machines are unplugged every night so the noise doesn't bother the guests near them. If there was anything we can do to make your next stay more comforable, please do not hesitate to ask. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Wyoming
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The staff was very nice and the beds and room were comfortable. The pressure on the jets in hot tub were a little intense. other than that things met my standards.Was there in march of 2013. The property was clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that we were able to provide a positive expereience for you. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Super 8 staff were very hospitable during our stay. The layout of the hotel allowed us to quickly see who of our group was in the pool, which was very convenient - the pool was viewable from every hotel door! The waffles were amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We enjoyed having you stay with us. If you are ever in the area again we would love to have you come back and visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel was a great at accommodating our every need. It started with a very late check in for a group of us that was very quick. Our group was there on vacation and the front desk staff including the general manager went out of their way to give us recommendations and point us in the right direction. The beds were large and very comfortable. The rooms themselves were very spacious and had a lot of seating so our group could get together in one room. Will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPFSUPER8, General Manager at Super 8 Spearfish, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our award-winning hotel! Our staff does an amazing job of welcoming our guests and making them feel at home. We hope you get the opportunity to travel back to the area. We'd love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Spearfish

Address: 440 Heritage Drive, I-90 EXIT 14, Spearfish, SD 57783
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Super Eight Spearfish
Spearfish Super 8
Spearfish Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Spearfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.