We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service and Fun Activities for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 South 27th Street, I-90 Exit 14 South, Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Clearfield, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Fun Activities for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This isn't the most modern howard Johnson but it definitely has the expected howard Johnson charm and the manager was friendly and does run a good outfit. There did not seem to be a lot of staff (maybe because we arrived before peak season). I had to have the manager located to check me in while the wife and kids had the pizza buffet attached to the hotel. The slight delay mattered not because the manager knew how to communicate and make us feel welcome.

The staff working the buffet were great. We arrived late and he put out fresh chicken, made several fresh pizzas and cheesebread... more than we could eat. We were a party of 5 but it was late and they definitely could have tried to get away with the food that was out.

the kids really enjoyed the pool, hottub and game area. It is a cozy little place. The breakfast in the morning was not the most extensive but it was adequate.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms directly over the pool area (which is indoors) so you may want to request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Yankton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at the HoJo in Spearfish in early May. I was there for a conference, but I didn't stay at the conference hotel because the HoJo was a much better value. The room was very clean and even though there were many rooms booked it was very quiet. The complimentary continental breakfast wasn't anything out of the ordinary, but considering the room value, it was an added value.

Upon returning home I discovered that I had forgotten the power cord to my computer. I called the front desk and they cheerfully said that they would mail it back to me, which they did at their expense. That is the kind of extra mile service I look for! I will be sure to stay there again if I am ever back in Spearfish!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were greeted by very friendly staff. The double queen rooms were large, clean and well equipped. There is a very nice pool and common room that the kids took advantage of. Breakfast was average but was nicely presented. The price was certainly good. If it were closer to home we would make a point of getting away for a relaxing break during the off season.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Over all the hotel was a good experience, the room did smell like glue but was clean, pillows were too hard. Having the piza place attached was conveinient but they were having a fund raiser there in which the people would not leave us alone, will not eat there again, they did have a gluten free pizza dough which was the best part of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Eaglehawkrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Parking lot was difficult to navigate. Some entrances were blocked. WiFi was advertised but not functional. The front dest acknowledged the problem but no fix was implemented.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Spearfish hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spearfish
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Spearfish
Hampton Inn Spearfish
#2 of 15 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
16.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sturgis Inn
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Spearfish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 15 in Spearfish
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish

Address: 323 South 27th Street, I-90 Exit 14 South, Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson has a strong mission to provide it's guests with a home away from home. We promise to deliver the best and most sincere service while you relax and enjoy your time in either your room, our indoor-heated pool, hot tub, arcade, lobby. We provide free WiFi as well as Deluxe Wifi, continental breakfast, and parking. We are looking forward to having you stay with us on your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Spearfish
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing