We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service and Fun Activities for family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 South 27th Street, I-90 Exit 14 South, Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Clearfield, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Fun Activities for family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This isn't the most modern howard Johnson but it definitely has the expected howard Johnson charm and the manager was friendly and does run a good outfit. There did not seem to be a lot of staff (maybe because we arrived before peak season). I had to have the manager located to check me in while the wife and kids had the pizza buffet attached to the hotel. The slight delay mattered not because the manager knew how to communicate and make us feel welcome.

The staff working the buffet were great. We arrived late and he put out fresh chicken, made several fresh pizzas and cheesebread... more than we could eat. We were a party of 5 but it was late and they definitely could have tried to get away with the food that was out.

the kids really enjoyed the pool, hottub and game area. It is a cozy little place. The breakfast in the morning was not the most extensive but it was adequate.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms directly over the pool area (which is indoors) so you may want to request a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    42
    37
    22
    25
See reviews for
84
45
10
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yankton, South Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed at the HoJo in Spearfish in early May. I was there for a conference, but I didn't stay at the conference hotel because the HoJo was a much better value. The room was very clean and even though there were many rooms booked it was very quiet. The complimentary continental breakfast wasn't anything out of the ordinary, but considering the room value, it was an added value.

Upon returning home I discovered that I had forgotten the power cord to my computer. I called the front desk and they cheerfully said that they would mail it back to me, which they did at their expense. That is the kind of extra mile service I look for! I will be sure to stay there again if I am ever back in Spearfish!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were greeted by very friendly staff. The double queen rooms were large, clean and well equipped. There is a very nice pool and common room that the kids took advantage of. Breakfast was average but was nicely presented. The price was certainly good. If it were closer to home we would make a point of getting away for a relaxing break during the off season.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Over all the hotel was a good experience, the room did smell like glue but was clean, pillows were too hard. Having the piza place attached was conveinient but they were having a fund raiser there in which the people would not leave us alone, will not eat there again, they did have a gluten free pizza dough which was the best part of it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Parking lot was difficult to navigate. Some entrances were blocked. WiFi was advertised but not functional. The front dest acknowledged the problem but no fix was implemented.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish

Address: 323 South 27th Street, I-90 Exit 14 South, Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson has a strong mission to provide its guests with a home away from home. We promise to deliver the best and most sincere service while you relax and enjoy your time in either your room, our indoor-heated pool, hot tub, arcade, lobby, or casino. We provide free WiFi, continental breakfast, and parking. We are looking forward to having you stay with us on your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Spearfish
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Spearfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.