We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yum yumm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killian's Tavern

Killian's Tavern
539 W Jackson Blvd, Spearfish, SD 57783
1 (605) 717-1255
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Spearfish
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Spearfish, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“yum yumm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Killian's has a very upper class menu, that is full of well thought out, delicious treats. The smothered chicken (two chicken breast, smothered in cheese, shrimp and BACON!) is to die for. I also love their truffle mashed potatoes and they have a lot of specialty brewed beers. Their sushi is not their forte but I admire the will to try.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    19
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great steak dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We came during the busy Festival in the Park. This restaurant was recommended by the hotel we stayed at, and was within walking distance. My husband had the recommended Alley Cat Surf n' Turf and loved it. I had the filet mignon with shittake mushrooms, which was really much better than the chain restaurants that prepare a similar dish. There are a number of craft beers available, which went well with our meal. We will certainly be back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wow!!! Awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

So glad I stumbled on this place while in Spearfish for work. I enjoyed this place so much that I'm typing up the review while here. I ordered the Banger n' Mash. Delicious!! Hearty!! Katie R. was an awesome server. Great outdoor seating. Reasonable prices. Def worth a visit here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We ate here on our last night in Spearfish. Awesome craft beers and delicious food! We ordered walleye and prime rib - both were amazing! Great specials, fantastic service, and a really funky atmosphere! Can't say enough about it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Knocked our socks off...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Wife and I stopped for lunch after a morning at the Spearfish Festival. Craft beers we sampled on tap were excellent. The calamari appetizer was a winner--have never seen calamari as meaty as these, and they were cooked through perfectly. My wife got a burger, and I got the open faced prime rib sandwich. They were superb. Their French fries are hand cut, almost appearing as if they were shaved. They were absolutely delicious, not greasy at all. Katie our server was great, friendly as could be. We'll definitely be back, really looking forward to trying dinner here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killian's Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Killian's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killian's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.