We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical but above” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   540 East Jackson Blvd., Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pierre, South Dakota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Typical but above”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Booked 2 nights here very recently. Thought it would be very typical, and for the most part is was, except a few exceptional extras. Room was nice, clean, presentable. Staff was exceptionally friendly, helpful. and bent over backwards to make sure EVERYTHING was good. Breakfast was when the extras started popping. The usual waffle machine, but they had strawberries (OK, probably frozen/thawed, but still . . .) and whipped cream (yes, from a spray can, but it was cream). Real newspapers to read, etc. etc., but then the price! about half what I paid on the other side of town about 2 months before, and they were not as nice, good, clean, or helpful. If you have a choice at this price point (+/- $25), this is were you want to be. Also close to restaurant, liquor store, grocery store, and downtown is close.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review - AND for staying with us recently. We know you have a choice of hotels, that's why we "bend over backwards" as you said. Plus it's just fun to be helpful :) You mentioned the grocery store a few blocks away - I had forgotten about how much that can mean when traveling! Thanks. Have a Wonderful Holiday Season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    75
    30
    5
    1
See reviews for
66
58
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

While traveling recently, we stayed at the Best Western - Black Hills Lodge. The facility was easy to locate coming off the freeway, and was clean and welcoming. The room was spacious and provided both internal and external access. With several food choices within walking distance, this made for an excellent overnight option for travelers in the Northern Black Hills.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you Goodmedicine. It seems like you enjoyed some of the conveniences that many of our guests mention. I appreciate you taking the time. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

While on business, I stayed at the Best Western Black Hills Lodge in Spearfish, South Dakota. Our room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. The bed was super comfy and I sleep very well. Staff was very helpful and made a number of excellent suggestions for entertainment and food. Checkout was smooth. Breakfast was hot and super good. I would stay here anytime!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear happygardener1988, thank you for the great review! Your kind words and details about your stay will be conveyed to the staff tomorrow by me personally. This is what we strive for - glad you enjoyed it. ...and we would love to have you back any time too!
Bill C, Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwinn, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was easy to find off Interstate 90. When we checked in the desk clerk was on the phone with a customer, but acknowledged us several times. He was very customer friendly, which both my husband and I appreciate very much. Our room was very roomy and comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was just fine. The desk clerk in the morning was very friendly and enjoyable. She also was in charge of the breakfast. I would recommend this this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jettyann, thank you for such a nice review. We appreciate you taking the time, as well as the compliments. As I mentioned to another guest with a recent review, I will take these comments and pass on directly to the hotel staff in person. They like reading or hearing about the good stuff like this - it's what we hope to hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here while traveling west, it's a very convenient and comfortable place to stay right off of I-90. The rooms are good sized and clean, and nice and quiet. Didn't get to visit the bar, but it looks like a great place to relax after a long drive. The employees are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms should be similar, though there is no elevator for the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear EBMN, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. It's always nice to hear what you think about the simplest things that many travelers look for, such as the convenient location and especially cleanliness. With the hotel business evolving and becoming more competitive, it's still the basics like these - and hospitable guest service - that matter most! Thanks again for staying with us. I hope you return if you come back through the Black Hills again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Miss.
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
319 helpful votes 319 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for three days in September. Its more of a motel, one long hallway with rooms that open both into the hall, and to the outside. You can park directly in front of your room which is nice. The rooms are large, pretty simple, but clean and comfortable. Typical Best Western decor. The "black hills lodge" is kinda silly, its just a hotel, but i give it a thumbs up.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back. All rooms open to the outside so you can park by your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear JacksonGuy, Thanks for your review. I see you write a lot of them! ...and many consider your reviews "helpful". That's great. We do focus on first things first like you mentioned - clean and comfortable (and guest service). But, we are always hoping to improve things. And with regard to the name Lodge, I agree - I have not thought of it as "silly" but had to chuckle a bit when I read that. You're right it is kind of silly. When I bought the hotel 5 years ago it seemed a little off to me too - but it is a bit stuck now. So we'll go on adding more lodge decor similar to the logs out front and trim around out and inside. Thanks for that bit of awareness again!:) like the photo - looks like you're havin fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here last weekend and found it most enjoyable. Friendly, knowledgeable staff; good restaurant next door; dog friendly; clean updated, quiet rooms. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting good utility at an affordable price. My only complaint was having to park on the far side of the lot and walk through a small "drainage canal" the length of the lot while packing the car on a rainy departure day. Convenient to good dining, gas, I-90 and the center of Spearfish. Had the waffle breakfast both mornings during stay. Don't miss Spearfish Canyon if you are out for sightseeing. We passed through two herd of Bison migrating across the road with traversing Custer State Park late in the day. That was excitement for both of us including the dog.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear David, thank you for your review of our hotel. I greatly apologize for just getting around to acknowledging it! It sounds like you really enjoyed your time here. and yes, we have some puddle issues for a couple days when we drain our pool in late Sept. each year - so sorry! We really should have been giving out some alternative parking info on that day. As we wind down the year, Hopefully (and it sounds like you could) you will look back on your trip to the Black Hills with great memories.
Oh yes, and I enjoyed my first-ever trip to your area/San Diego this summer!
Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Address: 540 East Jackson Blvd., Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Black Hills of South Dakota, between Mount Rushmore and Devils Tower, the Best Western Black Hills Lodge in Spearfish, South Dakota is just off of Interstate 90 at Exit 12. Highly ranked on TripAdvisor in Spearfish the past couple years, you'll love the clean rooms with up to date amenities, the nice outdoor pool area and a new lounge and patio - opened in summer 2013. With a host of great restaurants nearby, including a 24-hour family restaurant next door, and attractions in several directions, we make a great stop along the way or as a week-long vacation headquarters. You will be most pleased with our hospitality and service - they are second to none in the area. We wish you safe travels always! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.