We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   540 East Jackson Blvd., Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Gwinn, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was easy to find off Interstate 90. When we checked in the desk clerk was on the phone with a customer, but acknowledged us several times. He was very customer friendly, which both my husband and I appreciate very much. Our room was very roomy and comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was just fine. The desk clerk in the morning was very friendly and enjoyable. She also was in charge of the breakfast. I would recommend this this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jettyann, thank you for such a nice review. We appreciate you taking the time, as well as the compliments. As I mentioned to another guest with a recent review, I will take these comments and pass on directly to the hotel staff in person. They like reading or hearing about the good stuff like this - it's what we hope to hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    71
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
59
54
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here while traveling west, it's a very convenient and comfortable place to stay right off of I-90. The rooms are good sized and clean, and nice and quiet. Didn't get to visit the bar, but it looks like a great place to relax after a long drive. The employees are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms should be similar, though there is no elevator for the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear EBMN, Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. It's always nice to hear what you think about the simplest things that many travelers look for, such as the convenient location and especially cleanliness. With the hotel business evolving and becoming more competitive, it's still the basics like these - and hospitable guest service - that matter most! Thanks again for staying with us. I hope you return if you come back through the Black Hills again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Miss.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
309 helpful votes 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for three days in September. Its more of a motel, one long hallway with rooms that open both into the hall, and to the outside. You can park directly in front of your room which is nice. The rooms are large, pretty simple, but clean and comfortable. Typical Best Western decor. The "black hills lodge" is kinda silly, its just a hotel, but i give it a thumbs up.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back. All rooms open to the outside so you can park by your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear JacksonGuy, Thanks for your review. I see you write a lot of them! ...and many consider your reviews "helpful". That's great. We do focus on first things first like you mentioned - clean and comfortable (and guest service). But, we are always hoping to improve things. And with regard to the name Lodge, I agree - I have not thought of it as "silly" but had to chuckle a bit when I read that. You're right it is kind of silly. When I bought the hotel 5 years ago it seemed a little off to me too - but it is a bit stuck now. So we'll go on adding more lodge decor similar to the logs out front and trim around out and inside. Thanks for that bit of awareness again!:) like the photo - looks like you're havin fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here last weekend and found it most enjoyable. Friendly, knowledgeable staff; good restaurant next door; dog friendly; clean updated, quiet rooms. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting good utility at an affordable price. My only complaint was having to park on the far side of the lot and walk through a small "drainage canal" the length of the lot while packing the car on a rainy departure day. Convenient to good dining, gas, I-90 and the center of Spearfish. Had the waffle breakfast both mornings during stay. Don't miss Spearfish Canyon if you are out for sightseeing. We passed through two herd of Bison migrating across the road with traversing Custer State Park late in the day. That was excitement for both of us including the dog.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear David, thank you for your review of our hotel. I greatly apologize for just getting around to acknowledging it! It sounds like you really enjoyed your time here. and yes, we have some puddle issues for a couple days when we drain our pool in late Sept. each year - so sorry! We really should have been giving out some alternative parking info on that day. As we wind down the year, Hopefully (and it sounds like you could) you will look back on your trip to the Black Hills with great memories.
Oh yes, and I enjoyed my first-ever trip to your area/San Diego this summer!
Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed there for 4 days while visiting the Black Hills. We were going to stay in Deadwood but they had a Music Fest and all of the rooms were booked. Spearfish is close to Deadwood and we were glad we stayed. I was traveling with my wife and her friend. We booked one room which was there suite on the second floor. The suite has a king bed in the main room and a king bed in another room. There is only one bathroom. The main room is huge and has a sofa, coffee table and there is a dining room table with 4 chairs in there. We booked in June so the room was not booked. (Room 203) If you are traveling with friends, this room would sleep at about 6 people. The only draw back I found was that the hotel does not have a elevator to go to the 2nd floor. The hotel has a bar in the front that serves drinks and have free popcorn. The pool is outside but is heated. There is no hot tub. The staff was great and made you feel at home. Everyone was very nice and asked how our stay was going. Breakfast was ok. No eggs but they do have waffles. There is a restaurant next door that serves a great breakfast. I can't say how the other rooms are but ours was very clean. I will stay again when visiting the Black hills.

Room Tip: You want a big room, get the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI NY
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotels on the hill.The rooms were decent. clean.Staff was great. No elevator(only 2 floors)but staff was willing to carry anything. But we were ok.Only there one nite. Breakfast was ok,could have been better.Theres a walmart & kmart very close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villisca, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Clean older unit but very accommoding Excellent staff. Easy to find off I-90 even in the dark!!! Quiet even with the girls golf team staying there!!!! Would stay there again. Does not have an elevator so ask for first floor if you have bad knees!! - But the staff was quick to offer to carry our luggage up for us!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Address: 540 East Jackson Blvd., Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Black Hills of South Dakota, between Mount Rushmore and Devils Tower, the Best Western Black Hills Lodge in Spearfish, South Dakota is just off of Interstate 90 at Exit 12. Highly ranked on TripAdvisor in Spearfish the past couple years, you'll love the clean rooms with up to date amenities, the nice outdoor pool area and a new lounge and patio - opened in summer 2013. With a host of great restaurants nearby, including a 24-hour family restaurant next door, and attractions in several directions, we make a great stop along the way or as a week-long vacation headquarters. You will be most pleased with our hospitality and service - they are second to none in the area. We wish you safe travels always! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.