We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base camp for touring the Black Hills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   540 East Jackson Blvd., Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Spearfish
San Diego, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great base camp for touring the Black Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here last weekend and found it most enjoyable. Friendly, knowledgeable staff; good restaurant next door; dog friendly; clean updated, quiet rooms. Would recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting good utility at an affordable price. My only complaint was having to park on the far side of the lot and walk through a small "drainage canal" the length of the lot while packing the car on a rainy departure day. Convenient to good dining, gas, I-90 and the center of Spearfish. Had the waffle breakfast both mornings during stay. Don't miss Spearfish Canyon if you are out for sightseeing. We passed through two herd of Bison migrating across the road with traversing Custer State Park late in the day. That was excitement for both of us including the dog.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill C, Owner at BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear David, thank you for your review of our hotel. I greatly apologize for just getting around to acknowledging it! It sounds like you really enjoyed your time here. and yes, we have some puddle issues for a couple days when we drain our pool in late Sept. each year - so sorry! We really should have been giving out some alternative parking info on that day. As we wind down the year, Hopefully (and it sounds like you could) you will look back on your trip to the Black Hills with great memories.
Oh yes, and I enjoyed my first-ever trip to your area/San Diego this summer!
Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    59
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
45
46
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed there for 4 days while visiting the Black Hills. We were going to stay in Deadwood but they had a Music Fest and all of the rooms were booked. Spearfish is close to Deadwood and we were glad we stayed. I was traveling with my wife and her friend. We booked one room which was there suite on the second floor. The suite has a king bed in the main room and a king bed in another room. There is only one bathroom. The main room is huge and has a sofa, coffee table and there is a dining room table with 4 chairs in there. We booked in June so the room was not booked. (Room 203) If you are traveling with friends, this room would sleep at about 6 people. The only draw back I found was that the hotel does not have a elevator to go to the 2nd floor. The hotel has a bar in the front that serves drinks and have free popcorn. The pool is outside but is heated. There is no hot tub. The staff was great and made you feel at home. Everyone was very nice and asked how our stay was going. Breakfast was ok. No eggs but they do have waffles. There is a restaurant next door that serves a great breakfast. I can't say how the other rooms are but ours was very clean. I will stay again when visiting the Black hills.

Room Tip: You want a big room, get the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI NY
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Hotels on the hill.The rooms were decent. clean.Staff was great. No elevator(only 2 floors)but staff was willing to carry anything. But we were ok.Only there one nite. Breakfast was ok,could have been better.Theres a walmart & kmart very close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villisca, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Clean older unit but very accommoding Excellent staff. Easy to find off I-90 even in the dark!!! Quiet even with the girls golf team staying there!!!! Would stay there again. Does not have an elevator so ask for first floor if you have bad knees!! - But the staff was quick to offer to carry our luggage up for us!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose this hotel as our base for our explorations of this area. Loved this hotel and the staff.

The staff recommended local restaurants only, great idea, and they were both very good.

Although they did not have a lot of grounds for our dog, they did direct me to a dog park, two blocks away.

A very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have stayed here many times. It is a nice place run by nice folks. They are always friendly and accommodating. The ground floor rooms open to the parking lot, so you can carry your stuff directly in from your car. They just paved over the hot tub and installed a small lounge area, which is really pleasant. The breakfast is a typical free hotel breakfast, but the lady that runs it treats you like she is your mom. I feel very safe there and am a repeat customer. As it is part of the Best Western system, the perks are a good deal, but I would stay there anyway. Nice for folks visiting their kids at the college. The last time the room was about $75.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room because they open to the parking lot. Otherwise go for the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, affordable, clean all around nice place to stay, breakfast was good rooms were clean shower was good and hot plenty of clean linen, easy to get to just off highway, the lounge was very nice and drinks were good and affordable

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge

Address: 540 East Jackson Blvd., Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Black Hills of South Dakota, between Mount Rushmore and Devils Tower, the Best Western Black Hills Lodge in Spearfish, South Dakota is just off of Interstate 90 at Exit 12. Highly ranked on TripAdvisor in Spearfish the past couple years, you'll love the clean rooms with up to date amenities, the nice outdoor pool area and a new lounge and patio - opened in summer 2013. With a host of great restaurants nearby, including a 24-hour family restaurant next door, and attractions in several directions, we make a great stop along the way or as a week-long vacation headquarters. You will be most pleased with our hospitality and service - they are second to none in the area. We wish you safe travels always! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Spearfish
Spearfish Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Black Hills Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.