We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best meal in the Hills” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bum Steer - CLOSED

The Bum Steer
701 5th Street, Spearfish, SD
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Our best meal in the Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Recomended by a lovely lady at the Chamber of Commerce ( which is very good) in Spearfish.We were very,very happy.It has good wine list,with complimentary tasting of a few choices to help you make up your mind,a terrific salad and soup bar and some of the best steaks we have had in our many visits out West.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    30
    13
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forsyth, Montana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Good Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place has an awesome salad bar and great food. The staff is friendly and on the ball. I eat steaks when I go there along with a trip to the salad bar. I really enjoy being able to watch the kitchen staff in action.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Fourche, South Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Salad Bar was amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The salad bar was really great. We were there for lunch and the service was a little slow for them not being busy but the food was good, we will be back again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Very good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I split a steak dinner and purchased an additional salad bar. The salad bar is awesome; about anything you can think of to put on a salad was there. The steak was good, loved the bread.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smith Center, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Salad Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great atmosphere in the historical building. We would have enjoyed the steak more if we hadn't enjoyed the great salad bar first and were full from that.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bum Steer also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bum Steer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.