We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and quaint. Feels like small town in a good way.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spearfish Creek Inn

Spearfish Creek Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spearfish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spearfish Creek Inn
Save
You added Spearfish Creek Inn to your Saves list
450 West Kansas, Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Spearfish B&B and Inns
Midwest
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful and quaint. Feels like small town in a good way.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Definitely off the beaten path but backed up to a beautiful creek with a nice walking trail. Room decor could use updating but overall it was a nice clean room with mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Shower was great. Nice porch all around with chairs and tables to relax. Outside setting was pretty and we slept great with no traffic noise. Would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athena, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We found motel affordable and accommodating in every way.. It is an older motel and the owners are making improvements as they can. Even though the carpet showed age and wear the room were keep clean and made up every day. Thanks to Rachelle and the staff the week we were there for the bike rally was great.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

First Positive: very affordable. Second Positive: is located by the creek for easy and nice walking. There are many negatives: room was very dirty, So dirty that you did not want to take your shoes off. Bathroom has disgusting tub mat in it so you didn't know if it was cleaner to remove mat or just take a shower with flip flops on. Pool is the size of a kiddie pool and is shared by owners of motel and family and felt very awkward with family sitting on one side staring and guests on the other side. Room was in general disrepair: bathroom door had marks from a fist punching it, air conditioner had foam dripping all over it, toilet was permanently stained, chairs out side and inside room falling apart literally, beds were old and uncomfortable. This motel has great potential. I think the owners just need to spend some quality time and some money in renovating the property. It has a neglected feel. Would not choose to stay there again or recommend to friends.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here because there is no other place available, to get a room that backs up to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachelle B, Manager at Spearfish Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
The bath mats are laundered every day, and the beds are all new, on down to two years old when reviewer stayed with us. In the future she should stay in the newer hotels for $100 more per night. Our reviews have been very good, but we could have Jesus doing the cleaning and this woman would complain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We read good reviews about this place, and were not disappointed. It is not fancy, but was very clean and everything worked well. The price was good also, and Rachelle, the manager, was nice and helpful.
The best part was that it is located right on Spearfish Creek, which flows through town. There is a paved bikeway that runs between the Inn and the Creek, but nothing else between you and the water. You can open your window and listen to the burbling water all night. We went out and walked the bikeway that evening, and it follows the Creek. Very nice.
Be sure to drive Spearfish Canyon, and don't miss the waterfalls on the road. Roughnock Falls and Spearfish Falls are the best, and they are both right near the Spearfish Lodge, which is several miles from the city of Spearfish.

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the creek. 120 is the very best, being the closest to the Creek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were a bit disappointed with the Spearfish Creek Inn after reading the positive reviews on trip advisor. There is no breakfast provided so don’t think this is a B & B. The room cleanliness was average but the rug was filthy with stains and ground-in dirt – we wore our shoes in the room. We were given a conventional key which is certainly quaint but not very secure and unusual in today’s motel industry. Privacy is a bit compromised due to the configuration of the room and the location of windows on both sides of the bed. The creek was very nice but we felt uncomfortable leaving the window open to take advantage of the great sound of the creek because there is a public walkway located between the rooms and the creek. The television set was tiny for the room size and was an older standard definition set. This is a basically a place to sleep when traveling from place to place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Happened upon this place looking for reasonable lodging in the Black Hills area off I90 on way Montana- what a great find! Clean, refrig, microwave, allows pet, near creek for nature walk and close to restaurants, also has all pool. Spearfish clean nice city too. Stay here. Not a B&B, so not sure why it is in this category. No Internet but for the price we paid ($50 and $5 for our small dog) for a queen bed, we were very happy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I love this motel, service is wonderful, creek is beautiful, its affordable, and close! Clean rooms, and quiet... Wish we would of found this place ealier!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Spearfish Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spearfish Creek Inn

Address: 450 West Kansas, Spearfish, SD 57783
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Spearfish
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Spearfish Creek Hotel Spearfish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spearfish Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.