We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bell's Motor Lodge Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bell's Motor Lodge Motel to your Saves list
Bell's Motor Lodge Motel
230 N. Main St, Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Super value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We expected to have to pay top dollar for a motel in the week leading up to Sturgis but luckily for us Scott is a decent bloke. There was no premium rate. The rooms are cosy, but clean. The desk girl was really nice and we felt like we were part of the family. There's no frills here, no breakfast and patchy wi fi, but still a bargain given the time of year. great little café across the road on Elgin, Green Bean, was good breakfast and dinner place.

Room Tip: Don't pick a room near the road it can get quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
One of our buildings has two guest rooms bordering Main Street. Those rooms are exposed to the most traffic noise. We use these rooms last; but some days in the summer we occupy every room. When I personally check a guest into one of these two rooms, I first take the guest to the room so we can listen to the traffic together. We have an air conditioner in each room that provides background noise. But for light sleepers it may be best to find a different room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pierre, sd
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband had an appointment at the nearby VA hospital so I decided to come along with our 2 kids and very large dog.
Found the motel on trip advisor and it was all and more
Because my husband wasn't feeling well, the kids and I had a ball. First going to the local water park ($6 to get in :)) there was a huge arts festival in the park and finally swimming in the motels small but crystal outdoor pool.
The owner was so polite and gave us several recommendations for dinner. Also good.
We have traveled several times to the black hills during tourist season and paid well over $200 for a room. Going to make this retro little place our resting place from now on. Note to other travelers there is no hair dryer or coffee pot. But so well worth it

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We have several coffee pots, hair dryers, curling irons, alarm clocks, and clothes irons availble in the office for guests who can use such items. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at the beginning of the tourist season for several nights and were even given a free night by Scott, the owner. Very clean rooms just a bit on the small side. No road noise. Very good dining close by. There is parking for large trailers available in the back lot. We all felt very welcome. Yes, the walls are just a tad bit thin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Owner at Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Our rooms are on the small side. But we have four sizes to choose from. One full bed. One queen bed. Two full beds. Two queen beds or kitchenette. Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a nice surprise. Clean, well equipped kitchen, good central location. Owner? or the nice man who checked us in was very pleasant. Gave great places to have breakfast close by. Walls were a bit thin but for the price it was a good stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but the rooms do have a small refrigerator and a microwave. Can't beat the price and Scott, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. The walls are thin, so don't be surprised when you hear your neighbors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here one night, knowing we would be arriving later pm and leaving in the morning. I knew this would be a budget motel, but even just a couple of hundred dollars could do a lot for the room. We had a large room, so the space was nice, and we wanted to be able to have kitchen facilities for snacks and breakfast. The kitchen is not well stocked, but just enough to get by. I have never seen such a mishmash of stuff - it looked like a the mismatched stuff leftover from garage sales that no one would buy - bent forks, frying pans so scratched you would throw them away, etc. The oven didn't work and only a couple of the burners worked. The microwave was so old that when we tried to make popcorn (that usually only takes 2 minutes), we had it in for 8 minutes and only a few kernels had popped and the bag actually started burning, so we quit trying. When we went to make coffee there was a moldy coffee filter in the machine. No dish towels provided. Good sized fridge. The shag rug in the room is original and should just be ripped out. Could be a much better place with just a bit of effort, still keeping its retro look. The beds were on the soft side for us. We did use the pool that evening and it was nice enough and warm. Scott is pleasant and helpful if needed. Keep in mind if you plan on getting in really late that no one is there after 10 to check you in.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This Mom and Pop motel is the best at a great rate! Scott is friendly, and very knowledgeable of the area. He recommended places to eat and some awesome hikes. Clean, comfortable and best of all for us pet friendly at a great rate. We ended up staying many more days than we had planned. The rooms have all your basic needs; fridge, microwave, towels, soap, TV and wifi. The pool looked clean and inviting but we didn't have time to use it as we did a lot of hiking in the area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bell's Motor Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell's Motor Lodge Motel

Address: 230 N. Main St, Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned motel on one level with parking in front of your room. We pride ourselves in providing a clean and comfortable room at an affordable price. We have a small outdoor pool, AC, and free internet access. Some pet friendly rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bell's Motor Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell's Motor Lodge Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.