We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Spearfish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Creek Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spearfish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Creek Cottages
Save
You added Orchard Creek Cottages to your Saves list
514 Mason Street, Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
South Dakota, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Spearfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Orchard Creek Cottages is a pleasant alternative to the bland chain motels. It is centrally located in Spearfish on a quiet street. Several restaurants are a 5 min walk away, and downtown Spearfish is a 10 min walk. They have a nice backyard area with grills and chairs for relaxing. The owners have a game for the kids to find "hidden" signs in the backyard which our kids really enjoyed. The cottages are close together but noise was not a problem. Spearfish Creek runs alongside the property, and the bike trail is easily accessible as well. Our cottage had 2 rooms with a bathroom/shower in the middle. One of the rooms is a bedroom, the other a full kitchenette. All in all, a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
It was great to have your family stay with us! Hope you can make it back someday. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is such a nice place to stay. The cabin was spotless and comfortable with a separate, fairly large kitchen/living area. Our unit had windows on three sides, air conditioning and fans (I think they all do) so we were quite comfortable in the heat. The management helped us plan our sightseeing and was so accommodating. They had plenty of ice and encouraged us to fill our cooler. There is a big lawn where children can run around and adults can sit -- There's lots of shade. We also enjoyed downtown Spearfish --

Room Tip: #1 was at the beginning so there were no other cabins to block the view from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
So nice to have you stay with us. Thank you very much for the nice comments! Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a nice place to stay. It was great to be greeted by Mark upon arrival. Kids enjoyed the backyard time in the evenings. Nice walk down by the creek which was a very relaxing spot. Lawn chairs, grill, and fire pit available for use by the cottage guests. I enjoyed the beautiful flower garden on the the way down to the creek. Cottage was clean and backyard was very well kept. I nice place to stay for a great price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for he nice comments! Truly glad you enjoyed your stay. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Minnesota, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We decided to take a chance with Orchard Creek Cottages after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were traveling through the area and were only there for one night. Mark greeted us and we could tell that this was not an ordinary person running the place. Even after a few minutes, we could tell of his integrity...and that is a HUGE plus for us. Our cottage was extremely clean and felt very homey. We loved it's quiet location in town and yet we were able to also walk a few blocks for a great pizza meal. We took a short stroll through the well kept property, beautiful garden and to the creek. Wish we'd had more time to just sit and enjoy! OCC has made some very thoughtful and helpful choices in the amenities that are offered to their guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
What a nice review of OCC! Thank you so very much for all your positive comments. We truly hope you are able to return someday and enjoy even more time in the yard. Thanks again! Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

From the welcome by Mark to the cleanliness and convenience of our cabin 1, it was a great weekend stay. Not wanting to drive for one day, the location made it easy. Located in a residential area on well kept grounds with tables and comfortable outdoor chairs, we were able to walk down the city walkways to the D C Booth fish hatchery (very good stop) and also walk to downtown. Our cabin had a nice bedroom, bathroom and small kitchen/living room. It was very comfortable and had all the amenities needed. Most importantly, the upkeep was great. The grounds were beautifully kept and we made good use of them. Of course, the weather obliged as well. Just a note to drive the Spearfish Canyon road--lovely, which we did on the way out of town. A great place in a small town!!!

Room Tip: All cabins looked the same. Some faced each other. We liked cabin 1 for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many thanks for your great comments. We are happy that you were happy and we hope to see you again someday. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our only regret about staying at Orchard Creek Cottages is that we could only stay one night!

We arrived pretty worn out after a long day of driving and sightseeing. Mark was waiting for us and greeted us by name (he knew us by our license plate!). We had requested a rollaway or cot when we made our reservation and it was already in our cottage when we got there. This was not the case at another place we stayed on our trip - this may seem like a small thing but when you're tired and the kids are exhausted, it's not. :) Our rooms had everything we needed, and a hairdryer was provided upon request. I didn't expect there to be any toiletries since it was cottage, but shampoo, shower gel, and soaps were provided, as well as plenty of linens.

The grounds were very nice, and the flower garden was beautiful (amazing roses!). We enjoyed a quick splash in the creek before heading out, and appreciated the free bag of ice. If we are ever in the area again we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Hope you are able to stay longer and relax in the yard next time!
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Unfortunately, we were only in Spearfish for one night because we sure enjoyed staying in the Orchard Creek Cottages! Our cottage had everything one would need for an extended stay--a nice-sized bedroom with a comfortable bed and an A/C that worked well; a full-sized kitchen and a cozy living room. (We did find the TV in an odd/uncomfortable position for TV-watching, but how much TV will you be watching in this lovely location?) We enjoyed an afternoon respite sitting on the bench down by the creek adjacent to the property and a morning sitting on the front porch with our coffee and doughnuts from the nearby Brothers Donut Shop. The quiet location of these cottages was a big PLUS. And we sure appreciated that full bag of ice upon our departure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Really happy you liked it at OCC! Your positive review came at a great time as the summer goes on. Great folks like you make it all worthwhile! Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orchard Creek Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Creek Cottages

Address: 514 Mason Street, Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 individual cottages or cabins for nightly and weekly rental from late May to late August only. During Black Hills State University semesters, we rent only on a monthly basis and are always full with students. Nightly and weekly reservations may be made for the Summer months at any time during the year. All cottages have kitchenettes with service for four. Pots and pans on request. All bedding, towels and maid service are included, with in room coffee. Each cottage has a modern bathroom with a shower. Free WiFi, and basic cable TV, window air conditioner with fans. Depending on sleeping arrangements, each cottage will hold four adults. If you have more than this or have smaller children, please call. Most of the cottages have a queen bed in the bedroom and a few have two full beds in the bedroom. Each has a futon that folds out to a full bed in the living/kitchenette area. There is not much privacy between the rooms. All cottages are nonsmoking and no pets. Large yard with grills and seating. There are benches at creekside. Camping is generally not permitted. We do have one RV Spot very near the creek. We accept Visa, MC and Discover. No American Express. Generally, you will not incur any additional charges for your stay. Rates vary over the Summer. The 10 days of the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally also have special rates and details on payment. Minutes from Spearfish Canyon waterfalls and historic Deadwood. Centrally located for day trips to Mt. Rushmore and Devil's Tower in Wyoming. Sturgis and the annual motorcycle rally is 20 miles via I-90. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Creek Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.