We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relief after long day on road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orchard Creek Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spearfish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard Creek Cottages
514 Mason Street, Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Spearfish
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great relief after long day on road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Mark, the manager, was there to met us even when we arrived late! Cabin was very clean & the bed very comfortable. Provided coffee and continents too. They had a grill for your use & relaxing areas outside to enjoy! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Sincerely a pleasure to have you folks stay with us. Thank you for the great rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Mark & Martha went to great lengths to make our stay comfortable and memorable, even inviting us to stay before they had technically opened for the season (yeah, I’m way late writing this review, we stayed in early May and it’s now August!). The rooms were comfortable and warmly furnished. Our cottage had a kitchenette, full-size frig, coffee maker, and a TV. It felt like a lodge as we had access to their backyard and grills. The cottages were on a cul-de-sac, there was no noise, except the song birds at sunrise. A welcome change from my urban environment.

If I were to make one suggestion, I would suggest that they install pull-down shades on the windows facing the street as our cottage faced that direction and the street lamp shone directly into our room from sunrise on.

Be sure to check out Sanford’s Grill that is only stumblin, er, I mean, walking distance away. The portions are huge (consider sharing), and reasonably priced.

And the best part? Mark went to great lengths to help me with the logistics of proposing to my girlfriend. For example, I gave him money to purchase champagne and flowers to place in our room upon our return after I had proposed (on Iron Mountain Road, just past the bridge closest to Mt. Rushmore). He more than fulfilled the role of a trusted ops. man. Those touches meant a great deal to us and made the proposal look all the more planned and polished.

Overall, the price point was excellent, hosts outstanding, and location fantastic, (c’mon, Spearfish? How much better does it get?). Thank you Mark and Martha, you are incredibly gracious hosts! I recommend them and their Cottages with neither hesitation nor reservation, and thank them for their hospitality.

Room Tip: Do not choose street side, unless they installed blinds, as they face east, otherwise no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks for the great review Patrick! It was a genuine pleasure to have you here and we are glad we could assist you with your special plans. A room darkening blind has been installed based on your recommendation. We hope to meet you and yours again someday. In the meantime, take care in the big city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Fantastic stay. We found this place on Trip Advisor and couldn't be more pleased with the entire experience. It's in a great location close to biking/walking trails and to town as well. The cabins were very clean and well stocked with everything you need. Beds were comfortable as well. The only tiny drawback is our shower in cabin 2 was really small. No big deal we weren't expecting a walk in but ours was pretty tiny. They had a community grill we used both nights which made coming back and just relaxing nice as we could fix our meals right there. If you are looking to visit Devils Tower, Sturgis, Deadwood, Mt. Rushmore etc this is an awesome base camp for all. This is BY FAR the best value and quality you will find in this type of setting. We rode/drove by many of the other places we saw online once we were there and Orchard Creek blew them away in our opinion. Mark is a super nice guy and great manager of the property. There is free wifi throughout as well. We will definitely be back. In fact we may start making this an annual trip we were so pleased with it.

Thanks Mark!

Room Tip: All the cabins appeared to be identical from the outside. I assume they are all configured the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks for the great review Jeff! Sorry about the smaller shower. Not all the cottages are configured the same, as some have smaller kitchenette areas, which makes for a bigger bathroom. When you stop by again, remind me and I'll try to get you a bigger one. Your review makes it all worth while. It was great meeting you and yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

What a Wonderful quiet little place! We saw the reviews here on trip advisor and decided to give it a try while passing through for a one night stay in Spearfish. The manager Mark was extremely accommodating, made us feel welcome, and truly appreciated our business. The property had approximately 20 cottages surrounding a large shaded grass area. A short walk from the back yard took us to a little creek with a few benches. Our kids enjoyed that.

Our cottage had a small kitchen, dining, and tv area with foldout futon; a bedroom with a queen bed, and a bathroom in the middle. Quarters were a bit tight, but the place was extremely clean. Linens smelled fresh. It was by no means modern or luxurious, but the next time I stay in spearfish it will be here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay hope to have you back again someday. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

After traveling 7500 miles in over 5 weeks, staying in all types of accommodations we finally found the best gem. Our Orchard Creek Cottage was immaculately clean, had great space, best bed yet. We can find NO faults. Mark at the desk was awesome! Only complaint is we have to get back on the road and can't stay longer.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so much for stopping by! Your review quite simply made our summer. Hope you can make it back someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

clean, the owner is determined for your stay to be relaxing and very accomadating, great for kids, creek on site that is kid friendly for playing or fishing, great location to the city, great parks, great water park, free wifi, TV good, quiet great friendly place, GREAT price!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark M, Manager at Orchard Creek Cottages, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
You were a big part of making our summer season worthwhile! Thanks a bunch for the great rating. Hope we made your extended trip across the states more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Check in was a pleasure, and when I mentioned that I would be needing ice for my neck, Mark went so far as to bring a bag of it and a gallon zip lock to us at our cottage.

The grounds are as advertised, grassy, with gardens and a bird feeder. The creek runs out back and you can walk down some stairs to find a few chairs set out on the bank. Bring DEET if you go down there.

Our cottage was older, but solid. Two rooms and a bath. Appointments were dated. Just staying the night, we did not use the fridge or stove. We found the space cramped, and most of our belongings ended up on the floor for the night, as there wasn't much place to put them.

Bed was comfortable, plumbing worked, linens were of standard quality.

We walked a block to find a choice of a steakhouse, a pub, and several fast food places for dinner.

To sum it up: The decor and cramped room are not quite up to the price point, but the service, hospitality and location make up for a lot. I give it a middle of the road rating overall.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchard Creek Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Creek Cottages

Address: 514 Mason Street, Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 individual cottages or cabins for nightly and weekly rental from late May to late August only. During Black Hills State University semesters, we rent only on a monthly basis and are always full with students. Nightly and weekly reservations may be made for the Summer months at any time during the year. All cottages have kitchenettes with service for four. Pots and pans on request. All bedding, towels and maid service are included, with in room coffee. Each cottage has a modern bathroom with a shower. Free WiFi, and basic cable TV, window air conditioner with fans. Depending on sleeping arrangements, each cottage will hold four adults. If you have more than this or have smaller children, please call. Most of the cottages have a queen bed in the bedroom and a few have two full beds in the bedroom. Each has a futon that folds out to a full bed in the living/kitchenette area. There is not much privacy between the rooms. All cottages are nonsmoking and no pets. Large yard with grills and seating. There are benches at creekside. Camping is generally not permitted. We do have one RV Spot very near the creek. We accept Visa, MC and Discover. No American Express. Generally, you will not incur any additional charges for your stay. Rates vary over the Summer. The 10 days of the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally also have special rates and details on payment. Minutes from Spearfish Canyon waterfalls and historic Deadwood. Centrally located for day trips to Mt. Rushmore and Devil's Tower in Wyoming. Sturgis and the annual motorcycle rally is 20 miles via I-90. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchard Creek Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Orchard Creek Cottages to your Saves list