We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOSOSOLOSTOP” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2725 1st. Ave., Spearfish, SD 57783-3219   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“SOSOSOLOSTOP”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here overnight on a cross country drive, as had never been to this area, and wanted
a quick visit to Deadwood, which is close by and worth the short scenic drive. Located at
exit 14 of interstate 90, phoned the hotel for directions and was told it was at exit 12,
I got lucky seeing the place as I drove by, on my way to exit 12. Had a short discussion with
the young lady at the desk, she pleasantly apologized, and I was off to my room, for a quick
freshen-up and off to Deadwood. Finding the sink completely pluged up, I phoned the desk and
was immediately given a new larger upgraded room,. I was very pleased. The clean room was
quiet and had the most comfortable bed I've encountered in my travels. All is good. As I had
an early morning departure, breakfast was quick and as the area designated was small, my
observation was that it was adequate but not anything great. My first impression, of the cost
of the stay, was that it was a bit high for the facility. It was late June though, so it probably
was competative for the area. The hotel is not close to town though, so if you like roaming
around town, and in this case, it looked quite interesting, that could be a negative.
For dinning, definately would recommend Lucky 13 Pub, located across the street attached
to the Holiday Inn. It was recommend by my desk clerk and was given a coupon for a free drink,
as well. Food, service and atmosphere all excellent.

Room Tip: Upstairs has no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    24
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
44
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baker, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was a beautiful room, well worth the money. Comfortable Beds. The only thing i did not like is the fact that it was up strairs, because it is hard for my husband to climb stairs. I also appreciated that they are pet friendly. It was a bit difficult with a upstairs room for the dogs. It is also a pain in the butt to have to key the lock every time you need to get in from the outside hall exit with your luggage and etc. The continental breakfast was nice. The desk clerk was friendly. As well as the maid the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night only, desk staff were ok thought it abit weird to be asked why would you want to stay here and not somewhere like california !!! Room was ok, looked abit tired, swimming pool was way to small, no computer by the front desk, breakfast was ok, this hotel is one thing only, a cheap nights stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Wanted to thank you for spending the time to give us feedback on our services.
Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

what a rip off ,room wasnt clean .staff was rud .was charged an extra 250.oo due to mr hall owner said there was smoking in the room funny iam a nonsmoker. dont stay there it was a scam .would nod advise to stay at this place .so many better places in spearfish wish i didnt go there

Room Tip: rip off...............
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Wanted to thank you for feedback on your stay. I would like to let everyone know that this facility is a non smoking facility and we take this seriously and if you decide to smoke in our facility you will be charged a $500.00 cleaning fee.

Your party smoked in our room as stated to you personally there was pictures taken of ashes and cigs in the room and the smell was horendous. The Quality Inn would appreciated the next time you decide to write tales of false information about our hotel make sure that it is not misleading.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Room was larger than expected, reasonable price, nice beds, great shower, front desk service was good. Pool looked a little small, but indoor. Room was clean. No elevator to second floor. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Wanted to thank you for the feedback that you supplied.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSSIER, LA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

First let me say that the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room did not smell right, we thought maybe from smoking - not sure. They did try to do what they could to alleviate the smell - and it helped - no other rooms were available. Also, it is only a 2 story hotel and there is no elevator. The b'fast was good though. Stayed 6-24-12.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Appreciate your comments and will look into the over fragrance of that room. Thank you for choosing to stay with a Choice Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

First complaint was the broken drapes in the room; are you telling me the person that cleaned the room didnt notice it? One entire side was falling down!! Pool and hot tub were so hot you couldnt even stand to sit in the hot tub!!!when i heard another guest complain about this the two young girls at the front desk more or less said there wasnt anything they could do about it. I would never stay here again or recommend it to anyone!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityInnSpearfish, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Would like to appologize to you for your not feeling as if this hotel was up to your standards. Please except our appologies.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 2725 1st. Ave., Spearfish, SD 57783-3219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only hotel in Spearfish that offers complete High Definition service in every room, with our 37" flat screen TVs. Complete Hot Breakfast in the morning, complimentary newspaper, fax, coffee, and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Spearfish
Spearfish Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.