We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option in Spearfish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Spearfish

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn Spearfish to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Spearfish
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2720 1st Avenue East, Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Wyoming
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great option in Spearfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a typical newer Fairfield property. Great location near 90 exit. Jerica at check-in was so nice and called room after I had checked in to make sure everything was ok. Unlike some Fairfield rooms, this room did have a microwave and mini-fridge. Plenty of comfortable pillows and the bed was fine for the room rate we got.

This was just a quick stay, but the rate was excellent (half of what I usually pay traveling for a comparable hotel of this type). Fairfields can be hit or miss on quality but this was a great find with super customer service. The man at the front desk was very friendly when I checked out and encouraged me to grab something for breakfast before I left. Would stay here again.

Only con is that there was only one hard to reach plug for charging phone by the bed. The desk had plenty of outlets, but I use my phone as alarm so it needs to be close.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
23
24
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Originally, we were going to spend our 3rd night at the Fairfield in Rapid City, but after a very poor experience there, we left after barely stepping in the room. If you're expecting Marriott quality, then stay at the Spearfish Fairfield Inn...and NOT Rapid City!!

Our Concierge, Brian, warmly greeted us each night we showed up...especially after our poor reception in Rapid City. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and incredibly quiet. The location is right off of I-90, and very easy to find. The entire staff works hard to produce a great product, and in my opinion, they have succeeded!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean inspite of some reviews that I read. The gentleman at night and in the morning were very pleasant and helpful. Applebee's is right across the street and Walmart down the block. Convenient on and off the freeway. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here while on a sightseeing break right before Thanksgiving. The hotel was clean and fairly up to date. The room was fine, modern, and everything worked as it should. My room faced the front and the only minus was the strong lights from the parking lot that would sometimes stream into the room if the opaque drapes weren't set just right. There was also a lot of strong winds at night, which would create a sound as it passed by the crevices on the building. No deal breaker but sometimes annoying. Breakfast was fine...nothing out of the ordinary. Staff is nothing but excellent and very helpful. If I went back to the Black Hills, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd try for a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sioux falls
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was a little worried and confused by the reviews but it still seemed like it was the best option. I was glad I stayed here. Wall mart is somewhat close, but so is a nice coffee shop! I didn't notice the noise being too bad and I stayed on the 1st floor next to the parking lot. I always sleep with a fan so i turned the fan on in the wall unit and could not hear a thing except some late coming hunters slamming their door. The bed was comfortable. My bathroom was huge!!! Not sure why that is different from other reviews. The room was very clean, the laudry room was clean, the workout room was top of the line and sparkling. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had specified that we wanted a quiet room on the top floor. We were very tired from a long trip, so we didn't notice until after we were unpacked that the room faced the street, instead of the countryside to the North. The road is the main route to WalMart and the airport. We had trucks, motorcycles and various other noisy vehicles all night long.

Secondly, when we're travelling, we use a credit card with a low credit limit. The hotel ran charged two items that represented 125% of the room rate onto the card, and didn't clear the charges until over 10 days had passed (and then posted the correct rate. We've never had this kind of treatment from a Marriott and wrote and told them so.

The rest of the hotel was up to Marriott standards..

P.S. Try the nearby Holiday Inn in Spearfish. It's on a quiet road.

Room Tip: Take a room facing away from the street (North Side). The breakfast is Buffet, with only the coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a newer property in a good location next to gas, spirits, dining and freeway. Rooms, especially the bathrooms were a bit small but that what makes them a higher end budget choice. Free wifi was fast and the free continental breakfast was more than adequate with choice of hot cereal, waffles, several cold cereals and microwaveable breakfast sandwhichs . Rooms were clean, only suggestion is recauch the tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Spearfish

Address: 2720 1st Avenue East, Spearfish, SD 57783
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Spearfish 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Fairfield Spearfish
Spearfish Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Spearfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.