We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Fine Fairfield” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Spearfish

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Spearfish to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Spearfish
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2720 1st Avenue East, Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfectly Fine Fairfield”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here while on a sightseeing break right before Thanksgiving. The hotel was clean and fairly up to date. The room was fine, modern, and everything worked as it should. My room faced the front and the only minus was the strong lights from the parking lot that would sometimes stream into the room if the opaque drapes weren't set just right. There was also a lot of strong winds at night, which would create a sound as it passed by the crevices on the building. No deal breaker but sometimes annoying. Breakfast was fine...nothing out of the ordinary. Staff is nothing but excellent and very helpful. If I went back to the Black Hills, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd try for a room facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
26
31
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sioux falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was a little worried and confused by the reviews but it still seemed like it was the best option. I was glad I stayed here. Wall mart is somewhat close, but so is a nice coffee shop! I didn't notice the noise being too bad and I stayed on the 1st floor next to the parking lot. I always sleep with a fan so i turned the fan on in the wall unit and could not hear a thing except some late coming hunters slamming their door. The bed was comfortable. My bathroom was huge!!! Not sure why that is different from other reviews. The room was very clean, the laudry room was clean, the workout room was top of the line and sparkling. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, South Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had specified that we wanted a quiet room on the top floor. We were very tired from a long trip, so we didn't notice until after we were unpacked that the room faced the street, instead of the countryside to the North. The road is the main route to WalMart and the airport. We had trucks, motorcycles and various other noisy vehicles all night long.

Secondly, when we're travelling, we use a credit card with a low credit limit. The hotel ran charged two items that represented 125% of the room rate onto the card, and didn't clear the charges until over 10 days had passed (and then posted the correct rate. We've never had this kind of treatment from a Marriott and wrote and told them so.

The rest of the hotel was up to Marriott standards..

P.S. Try the nearby Holiday Inn in Spearfish. It's on a quiet road.

Room Tip: Take a room facing away from the street (North Side). The breakfast is Buffet, with only the coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a newer property in a good location next to gas, spirits, dining and freeway. Rooms, especially the bathrooms were a bit small but that what makes them a higher end budget choice. Free wifi was fast and the free continental breakfast was more than adequate with choice of hot cereal, waffles, several cold cereals and microwaveable breakfast sandwhichs . Rooms were clean, only suggestion is recauch the tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I returned to this hotel one year after my last visit. Agree that the place is generally ok but my room had a few bugs crawling about. And the elevator is S L O W. Noisy neighbors but thankfully they were drowned out by the sound of the air conditioner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was a nice hotel. The front desk was friendly and helpful and the hotel & room were clean. I was concerned about the traffic noise as our room was on the front of the building. That evening many, many loud vehicles went by! It seemed kind of crazy loud, and I figured I would be awake all night, which was not the case. It quieted down later and had a good night's rest. In the morning, we went down for breakfast and it was probably unusual, but there was (possibly) a reunion of some sort. So it was extremely loud and difficult to get around the tables that had been pulled together to visit. (Happy time for them, it just was awkward for many people, I noticed.) The WiFi was very slow when we were there also. If you are in this area, don't miss Spearfish Canyon Drive! It was beautiful and had much more beautiful scenery to offer than we realized!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

No surprises - just a great, predictable stay. The rooms are great, with a wonderful foam mattress and wi-fi that works fine. Breakfast is super, with everything you'd expect from this type establishment. The desk staff and breakfast hostess were quite friendly too. You simply can't go wrong here. I am still surprised, however, that Fairfield continues to use such thin towels, since their primary competition doesn't. Let's hope that changes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairfield Inn Spearfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Spearfish

Address: 2720 1st Avenue East, Spearfish, SD 57783
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Spearfish 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn Spearfish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Spearfish Hotel Spearfish
Fairfield Spearfish
Spearfish Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Spearfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.