We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pool wasn't the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 N 27th St., Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“Pool wasn't the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were in town for graduation. Room was ok but had a weird smell. My biggest problem was the pool my son could not get out because a step was broken. I thought he was just playing around till I saw the problem and it was so cold his lips were blue.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear kelly c-

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in town celebrating a graduation and taking the time to give us a review of your stay. I'd like to sincerely apologize for your overall experience with our pool and I greatly appreciate you bringing these items to our attention so we can address them as quickly as possible. Thank you again for taking the time to give us great feedback.

Sincerely-

Eric Schmidt
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel recently updated their rooms and lobby... much better look now. The restaurant is great and pool area open and nice for hosting small gatherings. I understand they will be remodeling the entire pool area in the first half of 2015

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear geckoinsd-

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm very happy to read you enjoyed our recently renovated guest rooms and common areas. You are correct, our pool area will be our next phase of renovation and we're confident it will be something our guest enjoy very much! Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your stay and I hope you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely-

Eric Schmidt
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are currently moving across the country and hit a deer last night, the tow truck company was nice enough to give us a ride to Spearfish (closest Ford dealership). The staff here is super nice and very understanding of our situation. They got us into a room super fast and even gave us a military discount! The room is super clean and very comfortable! The hotel is with in a mile of the high way and near a Walmart and Kmart.There is also an Applebee's located right in front of the hotel! So one can enjoy a drink and then walk to their room :)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear amy t-

So sorry to read about your unfortunate deer incident. I'm glad you were able to get a ride to town and choose to stay with us. I'm also happy to read our staff treated you with compassion and understanding. Thank you for the great feedback and I wish you the best on your move and travels.

Sincerely-

Eric Schmidt
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Holiday Inn, Spearfish, is a great place to stay! We will definitely stay there the next time we come to Spearfish. The staff was friendly and efficient, the rooms clean and modern. What more could you ask for? Oh, and the beds were very comfortable! Thank You for a great stay!

John & Arlene Hove

Room Tip: We prefer a room away from the pool and loved havin an outdoor entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Alrene H-

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We certainly appreciate you taking the time to give us a great review filled with so many nice comments. I'm very happy you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and thought our staff was accommodating. Thank you again and we hope you are able to visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely-

Eric Schmidt
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My First visit to the Holiday Inn in Spearfish was in 2006 while I was in the process of relocating. With 2 people in our party and a 4 night stay the Holiday Inn was exactly what we were looking for. I am a local now and have held personal get-togethers in their attached restaurant “Lucky’s 13 Pub,” as the company I work with has also utilized their convention space for functions. I’d recommend using this as your home away from home and for your business or large group functions.

Room Tip: We stayed on the southwest side of the hotel, this allowed for a beautiful sunrise and sunet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Cassie S-

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy day to review our hotel. I'm very happy to read you've enjoyed everything from our guest rooms, to our excellent restaurant, to our convention space. We appreciate both your leisurely stays and business visits. Thank you for the continued support and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely-

Eric Schmidt
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We are return customers of the Holiday Inn Spearfish due to having family in the area. The last time we stayed, renovations were in process and we were happy to find the results with this stay. We were treated kindly and efficiently at check-in as expected as Platinum level Rewards Club members and were upgraded to a suite as well as offered our "rewards perks." The suite was huge with a separate bedroom. It smelled fresh and was newly updated with new carpet, wall covering, furniture, and decorations. The mattress/bed may have been new as well and was very comfortable. The lighting in the room was wonderful and much better than most hotel rooms. The room was quiet. There was a college football team staying on our floor and we didn't hear a peep. The only downside I can think of on the room is that the bathroom is a little small. However, we do like having the sink and mirror outside of the actual shower room. We did not use the pool area/hot tub this time. But this property has one of the good old fashioned large pool areas with room to spread out and maybe have a little gathering. (Much better than the little chlorine saturated closed in rooms most places have now.) There is a pool table and other arcade games and two hot tubs. We did have a drink in the Lucky 13 lounge and had lunch there as well. This is a nice restaurant with a sports bar/lounge attached. Very good food with generous portions and great service and also great popcorn! No continental breakfast at this hotel, but I believe you can get a rate with breakfast included if you want. We did not need that this time. Hotel is located right next to a couple of other restaurants and some shopping as well. Highly recommend staying here and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Pool-side rooms are probably noisier for sleeping purposes, but nice if you want to gather with othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Dawn B-

Wow! Thank you so much for being a platinum level rewards member and choosing to stay with us. I'm so happy to read your kind words which validate all the hard work we put into renovating our hotel this summer. It means a lot to us for you to take time out of your day and give such a thorough review. It's reviews like yours that potential guests may read and base their decision to stay with us. I can't express how much we appreciate it. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely-

Eric Schmidt
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hettinger, North Dakota, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Very helpful and cheery staff, even at 4:30 in the morning. The updated rooms are very homey and clean and comfortable. The pillows are even labeled soft and firm. I loved the outlets built right into the headboards.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Charlene Milliren-

Thank you so much for the great review and kind words. I'm happy to read you enjoyed our cheerful staff and newly renovated rooms. We couldn't agree with you more and we certainly appreciate you taking the time to give us a review. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely-

Eric Schmidt
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills

Address: 305 N 27th St., Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills Hotel Spearfish
Spearfish Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.