We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spearfish Holiday Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   305 N 27th St., Spearfish, SD 57783   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Spearfish
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spearfish Holiday Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Its winter out and I'm visiting some old haunts so i thought to try here again. The restaurant served good food all day long but after a mediocre breakfast 2 days in a row I'd say you could get this level of breakfast anywhere.

The indoor pool could use the heat turned up. My 6 y/o handles it well but my old body thought it a bit cold.

The internet hasn't worked both times I've stayed here in the last 6 months due to that pesky something or other. Makes me wonder if it ever has.

On the positive lunch is great and its in the middle of town so going anywhere is relatively easy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Giardialamblia,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavour to improve the quality of our products and service. I am sorry to hear you were not able to enjoy our pool. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    22
    22
    9
See reviews for
39
31
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Both myself and my wife stayed here in early October. The hotel itself is very nice, typical Holiday Inn room with two queen beds. Everything was VERY clean and modern. The hotel had a very nice indoor pool area. Very nice people at the front desk. PLENTY of parking. Complementary coffee in the check-in area. The real highlight of our stay was the restaurant in the hotel, Lucky's 13 Pub. The food was VERY good and plenty of it. The meal include an enormus salad. If you are in the area, this would be a good place to stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were in room 201 which was at the front of the building and next to the door to the stairway to get to the 2nd floor from outside or within the bldg. We had no problem with noise at this location. Our room was a double queen and was very clean and comfortable. Large counter top area in bathroom with shower and toilet; a door separating the sink area with ample counter top there also. Chair with ottoman, Wifi was good. No complimentary breakfast, but we did get some membership discounts which we used for breakfast which was a nice restaurant area with good food and friendly service. All desk clerks were friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. We stayed 2 nights and have no complaints...room and bathroom appeared to be updated and again very clean.
We felt this was in a good area with easy access to several restaurants, I90, area attractions...especially enjoyed the drive through Spearfish Canyon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not a bad place to stay, it would be worth the effort to do an update sometime soon. Prices and food were great. The restaurant that was attached had a wonderful breakfast. People and service was very friendly. I'd go back even though it was out-dated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Its 10:30pm and I'm writing this review from my room at this lousy hotel because there is no way anyone could sleep through this noise. People are screaming and bouncing balls off of the walls and windows of my room. Calls to the front desk are worthless. They have a party scheduled outside the guest rooms while the convention center side of the hotel sits quiet and empty. This hotel is junk. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear ColoradoFred,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience due to the noise levels at the hotel and if the front desk service you received was less than satisfactory. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh N Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel is out of the way. We had a very comfortable stay and the restaurant was excellent value with good food. Could not complain in any way. Had a good group singing in the bar They serve Starbucks coffee in the foyer

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Director of Marketing at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate you taking time to review us for ourselves and others to see. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Next to I-90 (exit 12). Large Convention Hotel which is generally run-down. Not much of interest in surrounding neighborhood. Strong smell of chlorine around indoor pool which is attached to room corridors. Front desk always seemed too busy and not very helpful. Housekeeping was just leaving our room when we checked in so we didn't expect the very bad room condition.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in Room 445 - broken A/C on/off button, VERY sticky rug (like cola spill), toilet flushe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear kanda84,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. I have taken note of your comments about the smell of chlorine in the pool and this will certainly be looked into. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills

Address: 305 N 27th St., Spearfish, SD 57783
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Spearfish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Spearfish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills Hotel Spearfish
Spearfish Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Spearfish - Northern Black Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.