We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Sioux Falls. Convenient location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 North West Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Sioux Falls. Convenient location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Sheraton Sioux Falls is a solid option for business travelers and vacationers not looking for any opulence.

It is near the airport and centrally located within Sioux Falls. Honestly, the city isn't very big. Everything in the city seems to be within 15 minutes or less of everything else.

It is constructed as most Sheratons are, with a big open central lobby/foyer and rooms around the perimeter. The common areas are clean and well maintained.

Check-in was fairly easy and the staff was incredibly friendly, which is true for the population just about everywhere in the city. The gentleman who checked me in forgot to explain that there were food vouchers in my door-key packet and the various scenarios I could use them. Minor annoyance.

I was upgraded to a larger suite on the club lounge level due to elite status. The floor is clean. The rooms are nothing special, but they are also clean. I had a problem with a noisy AC and engineering was able to get it fixed within 10 minutes of my request for help.

The club lounge for AM breakfast is pretty terrible. I honestly have to ask why a hotel would even offer these options: a block of scrambled eggs., flavorless potatoes., two boring cereals. They have a fancy Jura coffee machine, but it's broken and only creates espresso. The espresso is nice because the brewed coffee is terrible. I used the espresso to essentially make an espresso floater in a glass of coffee flavored water! Having said all of that, I had colleagues staying at two other highly rated Sioux Falls hotels, and the Sheraton's options were better.

Disappointed with the club lounge, I had breakfast at the lobby restaurant the next two days. I probably would have done this on my first day had I been told about this benefit at check-in. The restaurant was marginally better with egg, bacon, sausage, french toast, waffle, fruit, yogurt and granola options. You can also order an omelet at the breakfast buffet or just order a la carte. The breakfast wasn't spectacular, but it was edible whereas the club lounge really felt inedible. The brewed coffee was much better at the restaurant but espresso or use of the jura coffee machine was not included whereas it was free in the club lounge (had it been working). It was too much hassle to go up to the 6th floor for my espresso to bring it down to the restaurant. This is a silly annoyance and such an easy fix to create a non-confusing and uncompromising experience for your best customers.

The people who work at this hotel are very nice. They were just fine to let me sit at the restaurant table off the lobby for 5 hours on my last day while I worked. They kept the coffee coming. This is a very nice thing!

I actually found the lobby to be an ideal place to work. There are artificial waterfalls, which create great white noise to create a work environment with little distraction, which is an odd thing to say for a place like a lobby.

Despite some of my complaints, I will stay at the Sheraton again when I return to Sioux Falls. Colleagues that worked with me in the lobby will also stay here instead of staying at the other "highly rated" club hotel in town.

Room Tip: 5th and 6th floor appear to be reserved for Starwood elite members. 6th floor might be reserved for...
See more room tips
Green Features: Aside from opting into not having your room serviced, sheets/towels replaced in lieu of Starwood points, I was not aware of any other environmentally-friendly practices. But that doesn't mean that the hotel doesn't have any
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Crheimy,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. Your review will be shared with my management team as we are continually looking to improve. Although you experienced annoyances during your stay, I am happy to hear that the lobby provided you with a place do to your work. Thank you again for the detailed feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to Sioux Falls!
Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    92
    61
    22
    21
See reviews for
70
61
14
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel during a recent road trip and I will definitely stay there again if I ever get a chance to go up there. It was conveniently located close to the highway, very clean and comfortable. It was one of the nicest smelling hotels I've stayed in. We upgraded to the club level and it was worth it- I definitely recommend it. The upgrade included wi-fi, breakfast and an evening reception. The breakfast was decent and service was good. The pool area and fitness room were clean and well taken care off. There was no convention next door so it wasn't noisy or crowded. There was construction going on outside hotel so there was a detour getting to the property

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Babajide O,
Thank you for taking time to share your review. I am happy to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable and relaxing stay during your roadtrip. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sioux Falls in the future!
Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

but really didn't. There was quite a bit of road construction in getting to the hotel but that's not their fault. Our room was just around the corner from the vending and ice machines so I assumed that we would be listening to them all night. Wrong. Never even heard them. There was quite a bit of hallway noise but everything quieted down at a very reasonable time. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Very friendly staff that call you by name. Rooms are very comfy and adequate for business travelers. WIFI is really slow so be ready for that. Restaurant was average until I tried the pheasant soup which was fantastic and a trade mark dish of theirs. This hotel is connected to the arena, and about two miles from the airport so very convenient. Stay on the 6th floor and you get access to the private continental breakfast in the morning. I will return

Room Tip: 6th floor has complimentary breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear HR C,
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoy our property and pheasant soup! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sioux Falls.
Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Disappointed that wi-fi was $10.95 per night. For such a nice hotel, everything additional had an extra cost from the water in your room. Nothing complimentary here. You literally have to pay for anything else you want.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our room was very clean, quiet and spacious. Apparently road work and construction has been going on for well over a year. They are nearly finished. I read other reviews about noise and such. We found the staff to be helpful and were not bothered by any noise inside or outside the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Gina M,
Thank you for sharing your review. I am happy to hear that our property and staff met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent the night here when we attended a relative's wedding. The hotel was at capacity. All things being equal with a room, the hotel staff makes or breaks the experience. This is where this hotel broke down. The staff appeared to be overwhelmed and poorly trained. I am also writing this on behalf of several relatives who also stayed there.

First, the elevators could not handle the traffic and you waited quite a while for one to appear going in your direction. My husband and I ended up taking the stairs for the most part although we were on the fifth floor. My key card stopped working so I walked downstairs. The front desk staff made me a new one. I walked up. The key card didn't work. I walked down. They made me another one. I walked upstairs. It didn't work. I walked downstairs. By this time I was furious. How hard is it to make a key card? I was very upset. They made another key card. They didn't promise this one would work. One desk person called maintenance. I walked upstairs again. This card finally worked. Four attempts, lots of stairs, and I was finally able to get in my room. Maintenance had not appeared.

The restaurant at breakfast was total chaos. The staff only noticed you when you did something wrong --- my husband started to pour syrup out of a bottle on the buffet counter and was told not to---there was syrup on the table. There were bowls for oatmeal, no milk, and so on. We ordered eggs. It took quite a while for them to appear. Nope, those belonged to a different table. The wait staff seemed besieged at times and disorganized at best. When we went to pay the bill the cashier did not subtract the breakfast vouchers we had. She was unable to complete this simple transaction and gave up.
More fun ensued. My sister-in-law was double billed for her room. It's several days later and we're hoping our bill was correct as it hasn't posted yet.

Overall, I don't think we'll stay here again. The Sheraton will respond to this, so be aware that they are trying to blunt the impact of this review because they don't want potential customers to be scared off, and that I will not have an opportunity to answer their comments. I'm saying this because the experience didn't have to be this bad. The room was ok. The staff couldn't handle the hotel at capacity. If the Sheraton is wise, they will learn from this review and either train their staff or not allow the hotel to get full.

Room Tip: The Atrium can get noisy. A relative with a room in one of the wings said the hallway was very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear poodytat,
Thank you for taking time to share feedback on your recent stay as it plays an integral role in our goal of complete guest satisfaction. With that said, what you experienced is not acceptable and I plan on sharing your review with my management team. Thank you again for your review.
Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
0.1 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#38 of 51 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center

Address: 1211 North West Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#18 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to the Sioux Falls Convention Center, Denny Sanford Premier Center and Sioux Falls Arena by indoor walkway, our hotel in Sioux Falls provides a convenient location for easy access to the best Sioux Falls has to offer. With complimentary shuttle service to and from the Sioux Falls Regional Airport, and a variety of Fortune 500 companies nearby including Wells Fargo, Citi Bank, and Great Western Bank, our Sioux Falls hotel makes exploring South Dakota easy and exciting. After completing a $6.5 million renovation, our redesigned guest rooms provide you with all the comforts you need. All rooms and suites are equipped with our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, High Speed Internet Access, and much more. Our Sheraton Club Rooms provide exclusive access to our Sheraton Club Lounge, an upscale space to gather and enjoy complimentary breakfast, evening hors d’oeuvres, wireless High Speed Internet Access and more. Relax in our indoor heated pool and spa or join us in Water's Edge Lounge or Falling Waters Grille for classic bistro cuisine and cocktails. Our downtown Sioux Falls hotel is the ideal venue for your next corporate meeting, wedding or any special event. With our connection to the Sioux Falls Convention Center, featuring 97,400 square feet of modern event space, events are our specialty. Our attentive and experienced staff is here to help you every step of the way and ensure that your event is successful and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.