We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought we might have issues...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 North West Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thought we might have issues...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

but really didn't. There was quite a bit of road construction in getting to the hotel but that's not their fault. Our room was just around the corner from the vending and ice machines so I assumed that we would be listening to them all night. Wrong. Never even heard them. There was quite a bit of hallway noise but everything quieted down at a very reasonable time. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    80
    57
    20
    21
See reviews for
61
49
13
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Very friendly staff that call you by name. Rooms are very comfy and adequate for business travelers. WIFI is really slow so be ready for that. Restaurant was average until I tried the pheasant soup which was fantastic and a trade mark dish of theirs. This hotel is connected to the arena, and about two miles from the airport so very convenient. Stay on the 6th floor and you get access to the private continental breakfast in the morning. I will return

Room Tip: 6th floor has complimentary breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear HR C,
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoy our property and pheasant soup! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sioux Falls.
Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Disappointed that wi-fi was $10.95 per night. For such a nice hotel, everything additional had an extra cost from the water in your room. Nothing complimentary here. You literally have to pay for anything else you want.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our room was very clean, quiet and spacious. Apparently road work and construction has been going on for well over a year. They are nearly finished. I read other reviews about noise and such. We found the staff to be helpful and were not bothered by any noise inside or outside the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Gina M,
Thank you for sharing your review. I am happy to hear that our property and staff met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent the night here when we attended a relative's wedding. The hotel was at capacity. All things being equal with a room, the hotel staff makes or breaks the experience. This is where this hotel broke down. The staff appeared to be overwhelmed and poorly trained. I am also writing this on behalf of several relatives who also stayed there.

First, the elevators could not handle the traffic and you waited quite a while for one to appear going in your direction. My husband and I ended up taking the stairs for the most part although we were on the fifth floor. My key card stopped working so I walked downstairs. The front desk staff made me a new one. I walked up. The key card didn't work. I walked down. They made me another one. I walked upstairs. It didn't work. I walked downstairs. By this time I was furious. How hard is it to make a key card? I was very upset. They made another key card. They didn't promise this one would work. One desk person called maintenance. I walked upstairs again. This card finally worked. Four attempts, lots of stairs, and I was finally able to get in my room. Maintenance had not appeared.

The restaurant at breakfast was total chaos. The staff only noticed you when you did something wrong --- my husband started to pour syrup out of a bottle on the buffet counter and was told not to---there was syrup on the table. There were bowls for oatmeal, no milk, and so on. We ordered eggs. It took quite a while for them to appear. Nope, those belonged to a different table. The wait staff seemed besieged at times and disorganized at best. When we went to pay the bill the cashier did not subtract the breakfast vouchers we had. She was unable to complete this simple transaction and gave up.
More fun ensued. My sister-in-law was double billed for her room. It's several days later and we're hoping our bill was correct as it hasn't posted yet.

Overall, I don't think we'll stay here again. The Sheraton will respond to this, so be aware that they are trying to blunt the impact of this review because they don't want potential customers to be scared off, and that I will not have an opportunity to answer their comments. I'm saying this because the experience didn't have to be this bad. The room was ok. The staff couldn't handle the hotel at capacity. If the Sheraton is wise, they will learn from this review and either train their staff or not allow the hotel to get full.

Room Tip: The Atrium can get noisy. A relative with a room in one of the wings said the hallway was very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear poodytat,
Thank you for taking time to share feedback on your recent stay as it plays an integral role in our goal of complete guest satisfaction. With that said, what you experienced is not acceptable and I plan on sharing your review with my management team. Thank you again for your review.
Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, SD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were in Sioux Falls for a family reunion and due to the location which was close to reunion activities some of our group stayed at the Sheraton in 6 different rooms. Others stayed at the Ramada across the street. While the large atrium in the center of the building which was open all the way to the top was attractive it was terribly noisy. People in the bar on the main floor were partying till all hours and no attempt that we could see was ever made to quiet the crowds. We stayed there over the weekend of July 18 - 20 and we quickly realized that dozens of young basketball teams were also staying there and the noise of kids running up and down the halls slamming doors kept up until 2 AM both nights. Our group was staying in rooms all over the hotel, including the Executive wing which was not over the atrium and we compared notes in the morning and discovered every one of us were kept awake much of the night. We did go out and ask the kids involved to quiet down which made no difference. One of the group called security after having no luck himself and apparently this made no difference as well. It was terribly unpleasant to say the least.
Other issues - they charge for wifi? Really? The sheets were uncomfortable - they were stiff and noisy. Every time I turned over it sounded like stiff plastic. I was so surprised to see our room had two double beds instead of queen size. Looking back at my reservations I see it did say double beds but it's rare these days to expect two people to sleep comfortably in double beds. While the breakfast buffet was good and not expensive at $11, for the price we paid for our room a free continental breakfast would have been nice.
The group who stayed at the Ramada paid less for their rooms and had no complaints at all about the rooms or the service. I wish we would have joined them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very comfortable stay. Room was well appointed and bedding was excellent. Staff was professional yet friendly. Quiet and close to the airport. Great price. I wish they would offer free wifi. Starbucks coffee was available with the in room coffee maker!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear activetravelerusa,
Thank you for taking time to share your review. I am happy to hear that your overall experience was a great one. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sioux Falls in the future!
Sincerely,
Karen Masterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 1211 North West Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center has redesigned guest rooms and modernized 97,400 square feet of meeting space, including ballrooms and exhibition space, to accommodate up to 6000 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.