We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice..........But” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center to your Saves list
Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1211 North West Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Sioux Falls
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Nice..........But”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a very nice hotel if you have an exprense write off or if the boss is paying. Not doing as we were a road trip. Rate was good as there was a AAA special. BUT, there was no free internet, breakfast, paper, etc. Desk clerk was friendly on check in. Bellman, bar tender, other staff very efficious, but not friendly, Unusual from we had found everywhere else on this trip.

Room Tip: Not a htole if you are traveling or with kids. Great if you have an expense account or can write of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcwdz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This particular Sheraton has a large open atrium in the center of the building. And the bar is pretty much right in the middle. Nice if you want to drink & have a good time. Not so good if your room is on a lower level & you want to sleep after a stressful day of business. If you stay here, make sure your room is the 4th floor or higher.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dementia-Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Sheraton in Sioux Falls over the Labor Day weekend. Even though we only live about an hour away, we return to this hotel almost every year to "get out of town" for a while. The fact that we keep going back should say a lot. It's clean, it's comfortable, and in our opinion, it's MUCH nicer than a Super 8 at about the same value. The food in the on-site restaraunt is usually very good and the pool area or the on-site bar is great way to relax at night. In all fairness, we did have a couple of issues this time that were a bit disappointing. Our first night, we called the front desk prior to going to bed to ask about times for the breakfast buffet; we were given the impression by the desk clerk the buffet would be open... so we were disappointed the next morning to find the buffet wasn't being offered. And the other problem we had this time was the hot tub in the pool area seemed really dirty. But these issues were never a problem in our previous stays.

One thing travelers should be aware of is that this hotel is on the "right" side of town for the airport, but on the complete opposite side of town from all of the main shopping areas and "good" eating establishment other than what's in the hotel.

We really like this place simply for what you get and the price you pay for it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Fourche, South Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Before booking I looked at the website and on tripadvisor, which is why I am posting this now, so you can be warned........looked like a perfect place for my family to meet and enjoy our Labor Day weekend. Ambience10! :) I called the Sheraton to book a room. I was told the room was 109.99 plus 10 dollars for each extra person over 2 people, plus 10 dollars per night for a rollaway. I made it clear that i was coming with my parents and my brother and his fiance', 5 people. This made the room 149.99 for 2 nights according to reservations and I requested the 3rd night free as I had seen on the web. The person I spoke to in reservations said that the last night had to be 40 dollars because the free night was only for 2 people, I understood that. I was told that my total was 342.58 and would be charged that day. Still, ok with that (but I shouldnt have been bc later, when didnt have the option to LEAVE). When I viewed my bank statement online, I was only charged 310.58. I called the Sheraton bc I didnt need the extra 40 dollars on there, if it was?, bc I would be staying the last night alone. I called and spoke to Jennifer at the front desk who transferred me to reservations, who said that they couldnt help and transferred me to accounting, where I left a message. I hung up and called immediately back and again spoke with Jennifer who said that i would not be charged the extra 40 for the free night and shouldnt have been charged that anyhow, that reservations was wrong to tell me that. A couple of days later my family decided that they would stay the free night. I called back and added their 4 names to my reservation. I spoke with Jennifer and asked her if I needed to be there right at 3 pm to check in bc I was driving from over 6 hrs away, she said that I could check in anytime before 2 am, bc there would be someone at the front desk to check me in. I said ok and hung up thinking that my reservation was taken care of. BOY WAS I WRONG!!!! At check in I was asked for my drivers license and credit card. The girl who checked me in said that she could see that the room was paid for, but that they needed a credit card "on file" to cover "incidentals." I thought, well, that is fine bc I have never stolen anything or trashed a hotel room in my life. I got up to the room and noticed that there was no rollaway in the room. So I went back to the front desk, then I was told that rollaways are first come, first serve and they didnt have any left. What??? I pointed out that i had 4 people in my room and had asked for a rollaway when i made the reservation a week in advance!!! Jennifer then came over and said "I told you that rollaway beds are first come, first serve." No apology, nothing, they just shrugged it off!!! (My 23 yr old brother slept on the floor for 3 nights, we checked back and there were never any rollaways while we were there.) After returning to the room, now with my family, My father wrote an email about the way we were treated and the next day we found a card on the bed for breakfast for all of us at the Sheraton's restaurant, Falling Water Cafe, compliments of the hotel and FINALLY a note, saying sorry for the inconvienance. I thought it was very nice and that the craziness was over....NO!!!! I was very wrong..... On Monday, Labor Day we woke up to bills under the door charging each extra person in my room. Again, What???? I had paid for the entire stay before even arriving. So I devided to check my statement online again, at this point knowing it was a mistake to trust the Sheraton with my credit card. There was an additional charge from the Sheraton for 277.00 charged when I checked in! I immediately went down to the front desk. I was told that there is always a hold placed when guests check in, ONCE AGAIN, I SHOULD HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT BEFORE!!! Then the person at the front desk told me that she didnt know when the money would be back in my account, that it was up to my bank..... She then said, it was Labor Day and there was nothing she could do. I asked to leave my name and number and have a manager call me. I then asked about the bills that we had recieved under the door. She said that they were auto generated and not owed. What a mess! I was stressed all Labor Day weekend, what should have been a nice relaxing trip to see family turned into the HOTEL STAY FROM HELL! I did speak with a manager and its a week and a half later now, the hold (that should have never been placed) is now removed and I am supposed to be recieving a nights refund. They said at the Sheraton that they sent the refund to my account yest........ my bank still hasnt processed it ??? This manager is good, Michelle, the first person that I have spoken to there that knows anything about service. BUT unless you want to be charged, who knows what amount and be told one thing at the time you make the reservation and another when checking in.... DONT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! NOT WORTH THE STRESS.

Room Tip: Dont get a room by the glass elevators, you can hear them run and ding all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NOTHAPPY4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. It is the philosophy of our hotel to exceed our guest expectation and we failed to accomplish this for you. I sincerely apologize for the attitude of indifference and the lack of attention to the rollaway request you received during your stay from our associates. I have no excuse or explanation. I can however tell you we have addressed your comments with the appropriate people and have come up with some solutions that may help us achieve this goal.

I am appreciative that Michelle was able to assist you. I know that Michelle has spoken to you and indicated that our accounting office issued a full credit of a one-night stay back to your credit card. The credit was issued by our hotel on September 12, 2011.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. My hope is that you will consider staying with us again as to prove our commitment to guest service.

Kind regards,

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sioux Falls hotels

San José, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We chose this hotel based on its proximity to the airport and to the downtown area. The convention center is literally next door. The room was clean and quiet, the travel-sized toiletries nice, the bed comfortable, and there were enough electrical outlets for our needs. We didn't use WiFi so I am unable to comment about this.

We saw kids enjoying the indoor pool without too much of a chlorine odor and there was someone using the workout room as well. The workout room had multiple machines available to give you options. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and we really appreciated the level of detail on the map provided by the Convention and Visitor's Bureau. Offerings at the breakfast buffet were varied and tasty but I'm not sure it was worth the nearly $11/person price.

License plates in the parking lot indicated that this was a popular choice with other travellers. We will definitely consider staying here the next time we're in Sioux Falls.

Room Tip: I called the hotel directly and ended up with a room in the smaller executive wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimba_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sd
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Stayed just one night. Room was very nice and clean. The resturant is great for breakfast although we did not eat during this stay. Pets allowed, listened to a dog barking at night. For our very short stay and the priceline deal of $45. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The team at this Sheraton are bent on service, especially for the business meeting traveller. They took care of all catering and room setup needs to a tee. The rooms were quiet, cool and dark for a good night's sleep. The sheets are better than Hiltons.

There is some construction outside that should be done by the fall, but it was not too much an inconvenience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveberry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls Downtown
0.1 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#35 of 52 in Sioux Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sioux Falls South
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sioux Falls Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center

Address: 1211 North West Ave, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to the Sioux Falls Convention Center, Denny Sanford Premier Center and Sioux Falls Arena by indoor walkway, our hotel in Sioux Falls provides a convenient location for easy access to the best Sioux Falls has to offer. With complimentary shuttle service to and from the Sioux Falls Regional Airport, and a variety of Fortune 500 companies nearby including Wells Fargo, Citi Bank, and Great Western Bank, our Sioux Falls hotel makes exploring South Dakota easy and exciting. After completing a $6.5 million renovation, our redesigned guest rooms provide you with all the comforts you need. All rooms and suites are equipped with our signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper™ Bed, High Speed Internet Access, and much more. Our Sheraton Club Rooms provide exclusive access to our Sheraton Club Lounge, an upscale space to gather and enjoy complimentary breakfast, evening hors d’oeuvres, wireless High Speed Internet Access and more. Relax in our indoor heated pool and spa or join us in Water's Edge Lounge or Falling Waters Grille for classic bistro cuisine and cocktails. Our downtown Sioux Falls hotel is the ideal venue for your next corporate meeting, wedding or any special event. With our connection to the Sioux Falls Convention Center, featuring 97,400 square feet of modern event space, events are our specialty. Our attentive and experienced staff is here to help you every step of the way and ensure that your event is successful and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Regatta Hotels, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Sioux Falls & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Sioux Falls Hotel Sioux Falls
Sheraton Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing