We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Either you are or you aren't” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Either you are or you aren't”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We are AAA members and were not give the discount because we were told they were too full. I was under the impression that if hotels had affiliations with AAA, they needed to honor the discount. Not just give it when it the most convienent for them.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    81
    59
    28
    8
See reviews for
60
43
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010 via mobile

Hey to everyone at he hotel dont know if u remember me aoife from ireland hope u do im sure i stood out! I miss sioux falls way too much ive had the best time of my life there i am in contact with madonna shes a sweetie.. When i finished my experience with u guys i became a front desk supervisor i do that part time i love it, but im actually training to be a nurse at the minute i have one year left with 3 done, i will be happy then! My little boy is called Cillian he is 3 and is my angel he is in kindergarden as u guys call it.. Hope the weather there is as beautiful as sioux falls is.. X

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

My wife and I have stayed before and are pleased with the hotel overall but the rumored remodel is essential to attain the level that this hotel should be at. The layout is awkward and annoying. I would walk down stairs to the lobby from the 2nd floor but that requires going across the hotel past the elavators and then walking back across the hotel when you get to the main floor. Having to walk all the way across the hotel from the pool to go to the bathroom while you're soaking wet is not ideal. And if they expect people to shower before entering the pool, even though no one ever does, would mean showering in your room and then riding in the elavator, dripping wet, down to the lobby and then making you're way to the pool. Another small criticism is the "bubbly" tub that is supposed to be a jetted whirlpool/hot tub in the pool area. The pool was really well heated and the hot tub actually hot. The brunch buffet is pretty great but it is EXPENSIVE! The rooms really need to all be redone from scratch. I.e. new tv's, fridges and microwaves in each room, patio sets for the balconies, new decor, etc. By the way a FREE continental breakfast is standard at even the cheapest of hotels. (i.e. the ramada limited on west 12th which I think is nearly as good as this hotel)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We just spent one night here on our way out to the Black Hills. It is easy enough to find, despite the street construction out front. There is plenty of parking with a ramp behind the hotel and the area appears very safe. The hotel lobby is nice, conference rooms, a bar/ lounge with 6-8 good beers on tap and a restaurant.
The front desk had us checked in very quickly and off to our room. The room was nice, but not luxurious. It seemed clean and the beds were very comfortable with tons of pillows. There were no bed bugs or other serious problems.
We did go look at the pool and it was rather unimpressive, but not bad per se. Nice size hot tub and average size pool.
I'm sure there are nicer, newer hotels out near the interstates but not for the price we got on Priceline.
I wouldn't call it 3* but it isn't a bad place at all, very nice for a quick overnight stay for us anyway!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Due to competition in the hotel industry, it is truly amazing that this Holiday Inn has not stepped up to the renovation game. The number one thing it has going is location (which is why we rate it a 3). If the hotel were renovated it could deserve a 5 - but until then - 3 is tops. Our family had various size rooms on numerous floors...all were very worn & tired (chipped furniture, rolling carpet, dated televisions - just an overall sense of dreariness) - thankfully the beds were relatively comfortable and you are offered soft & firm pillows. Sleeping would have been fine except for the partiers in the next room. At 3:00am we decided we'd had enough and called down to the front desk. A few cosmetic touches have been attempted throughout - but not enough - the hotel needs a full renovation. As stated before, if you want to be downtown (& you should want to be downtown because Sioux Falls is doing things right when it comes to revitalizing downtown - so give the city some support) - the Holiday Inn could be a primo destination for a week-end get-away if the decor kept up with the times.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBosch, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback (both good and bad)regarding your stay. We strive to make every guests experience the best it can be and was sorry to hear about some of the negative experiences you encountered. I'm happy to announce that our hotel will begin a major renovation in the fall to address some of the issues you noted in your review.

Tom Bosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Excellent location downtown during the "Hot Harley Nights" event. This hotel is very spacious, clean, accommodating and just a super place to stay. My wife and I stayed for two nights at $99 per night, which I felt was a little on the high side, but never the less, I think we got our moneys worth. They have very good dining for all meals, nice swimming pool if you want to take a dip, good bar or lounge, and very spacious parking out back. (two floor parking garage with lots of room. Got rained out during the big event of Hot Harley Nights just a few blocks north of the hotel, but did get to see the motorcycle (bike) parade which lasted forever. Awesome! Will make plans to stay there again in 2011. What a blast! Was disappointed that the outside deck on the west side of the hotel was closed. Really need to be cleaned up. They need to work on that. We really wanted to use it just to sit in the shade, have a few drinks with friends, and chew the fat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBosch, Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
I was so happy to read your review regarding your stay with us recently and that you enjoyed our downtown location. We appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests and look forward to serving you in the future.

Tom Bosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The purpose of our stay in Sioux Falls was for the Blues and Jazz Festival. This was our second visit for this event and our second stay at this hotel. Seems in just a couple years, time has taken its toll on their rooms. We do realize that with an event or convention in town we will pay more for a hotel room. With that being said, for $150.00 a night you should not have cracks on the ceilings, bubbling, worn and frayed carpet, or cracked and missing tile in the bathroom to name a few. The only thing in this room that has been updated was the bed. This particular room (King Size Bed Room 601) should not cost more than $100.00 a night, event or no event.

The positives and negatives of this hotel contradicted each other during our stay. For example, the bed was extremely comfortable but wish I could have slept in longer. The city is currently doing road construction right outside their front door; Saturdays and Sundays included. 7:00 a.m. sharp on Saturday morning we were woken by bulldozers, dump trucks and thud, thud, thud. Not your typical road construction - the road is completely closed, torn-up and being replaced. Not the hotels fault per se, but you would think this would have been conveyed to us prior to our visit or while we were checking in, rather than be surprisingly (not happy) awakened by the noise on an early weekend morning. To me this is common sense, respect and courtesy to their guests. This issue could have been easily rectified when checking in. Let’s role play: “Good afternoon and welcome to the Holiday Inn. We are currently going through some road construction issues that the city deems necessary that may be an inconvenience during your stay. With that in mind, please accept this voucher good for breakfast, lunch. . . . etc.” Not a lot out of their pocket but makes the guest feel valued. A good PR move that was left out and this construction obviously did not start recently. This issue falls squarely on the managers shoulders.

Back to the room. The water pressure in the shower was great. However, if you are over 6’ tall you may have some issues as the ceiling tiles are very low which also should be replaced. The bathroom was very small and there is no countertop. Not a deal breaker, but as a female guest I had to spread out my makeup and such on the toilet seat.

They tout their fitness center as Sioux Falls largest hotel fitness center on their website. It’s very small with no weight machines or free weights.

With the hotel at full capacity, the elevators could not keep up with supply and demand and at times there were long, cramped lines. Our cardio was using the stairs instead of their fitness center.

On the plus side, the staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel is in a great downtown location. The rooms and lobbies were very clean and we did enjoy the balcony – although peeled. They are the only hotel in Sioux Falls (at this time) who offers a free shuttle/trolley to the Blues and Jazz Festival which is what attracted us to this particular hotel both times.

They have many positives going for them, they just need to either adjust their rates based on sub-par rooms or update their rooms to get returning guests. You can save 30.00 to 50.00 a night at a hotel one block away that includes a continental breakfast. You do the math.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomBosch, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
I wanted to thank you for your providing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with our staff and sorry to hear about some of concerns you encountered. I apologize for the issues and thank you for taking the time to visit with me on the phone regarding them. I was also extremely happy that I was able to handle your issues with the hotel and that you'll be staying with us again in the future.

Tom Bosch
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Address: 100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.