We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for shorter or longer stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great place for shorter or longer stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed at this property a couple of times now for work and while there are many other choices along the interstate and the outskirts of town, this hotel cannot be beat for location near great restaurants and attractions in the downtown area and for the great full services they offer.

The place has been completely updated in a modern and classy decor. While, there are a few "charming" leftovers that are inescapable from what is fundamentally an older building (like the drain in my bathtub in my 7th floor room gurgling when ever I ran water in the sink or someone in nearby rooms above or beside took a shower or flushed their toilet or the low drop ceiling panels in the bath to accommodate the HVAC, or the lack of full closet due to limited space), they have done a great job.

There is a full service restaurant with a pretty decent menu, a bar, pool, and fitness room. It is a comfortable and friendly hotel. Generally they have very reasonable rates and compared to the other limited downtown options, this place is a great value.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south are away from the railroad and you may hear less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    82
    59
    28
    8
See reviews for
60
43
15
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MADISON
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Been here for 2 nights and very pleased with the professionalism at the front desk and the layout of the hotel.
The food is very good and the drinks at the bar.
My only negative would be that the hotel(s) in this area is/are close to train tracks. Throughout the day, you hear the train horn and periodically you hear it in the middle of the night. It may just be me though, as I am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My family and I recently stayed here while we were moving. It provided a great home away from home during our transitional time. Our family stayed quite comfortably in a two room suite. I appreciated the in-room fridge and microwave the two room suite offered. The kids also enjoyed the pool. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This Holiday Inn is an outstanding property. I went to the Jason Aldean concert and chose this property because of their location. Check-in process was very smooth and easy. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and was in great condition. They really pay attention to detail. Overall this was a great experience and I highly recommend this property for anyone traveling to Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This Holiday Inn has been my preferred stay when in Sioux Falls area.
To be honest, one of my main reasons is the famous Bernie.
She is your host of the reception on the 9th Concierge floor.
Ask any road warrior anywhere in the US that has stayed in SF, they know Bernie. She is a ray of sunshine.
It is a larger facility that normally has groups or conferences in the heart of downtown district.
The room has always been clean and the staff is nice.
Airline staff use this hotel, so that should also tell you something.
Smokers ask for a balcony room.
There is plenty to do in walking distance. Walk the sculptures, straight out front door.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For anyone who has stayed in the IHG family of hotels, you'll know they offer the most inconsistent experience for the business traveler. Some Holiday Inns are spectacular, some are a total dump. This holiday Inn is thankfully closer to the spectacular, though I wouldn't quite go that far. Seems after a fresh renovation, this older building shines. The lobby, restaurants and bar area are clean and up-to-date, the staff is friendly and the location is very good.

Rooms are slightly smaller than today's average hotel room, but they are well appointed and clean. The best part: They have plugs everywhere within easy reach. Most older hotels like this make you move furniture or unplug alarm clocks to find a spot to plug in your phone. Bed was comfortable and linens were new and fresh. The bathroom is very small, but well laid out for the space and nicely remodeled. There was some noise from a nearby train, but any hotel in this area would have the same train horn noise.

If every Holiday Inn had this level of cleanliness and was remodeled to this standard, I would stay at more Holiday Inns as I really like their rewards program. The only downside is there seemed to be no benefit to being a IHG Platinum while staying at this location. I was given a room on the 4th floor, no high floor, no room with balcony, no upgrade to the "Concierge" level. It's not the end of the world, but I do like when I check in to a Marriott Property they do their best to give the best available room they have.

Room Tip: Seems like the rooms on the ends of the hotel had balconies. Higher rooms would have better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've been staying at the holiday inn city center for the past couple of years, since their remodel. I average 10-15 nights a year here. The staff is always courteous and delightful. I can usually check in early. I always stay on the concierge floor. This includes a week night happy hour and breakfast. The hotel is clean with easy parking. It is within walking distance of many nice restaurants, a spa and the falls. There are many choices of hotels in Sioux Falls, but I always choose here. Nice to come back to a familiar spot after working on the road.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Address: 100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Reservation Counter, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.