We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Cloquet, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice place to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rooms are nice although a bit smaller and dated. The 9th floor conciegre is ok but I question if I would pay the extra cost to stay on it. Breakfast was limited in the C lounge and the evening happy hour is only open 1.5 hrs. Nice food selection in the evening. I found the staff helpful and friendly. Several good eating and beer establishments within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    76
    58
    28
    8
See reviews for
59
42
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurley, Sd
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a wedding reception. We stayed on the concierge floor where we were under the impression that there was continental breakfast in the mornings. However, they didn't tell us that it was only Monday-Friday mornings. Very bummed out as we only wanted a quick bite to eat before heading out for wedding related activities. Otherwise very comfortable rooms, friendly staff, and we had a quiet floor (there were several weddings/groups staying in the hotel this weekend). Would highly recommend this hotel, however the extra money for the concierge floor on the weekends wouldn't necessarily be worth it.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for three nights this past weekend. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. I only gave it three stars because their were a few oddities.... 1. The rooms were so hot! My entire family (we had a bank of rooms throughout the hotel) had to turn the heat/ac completely off and open our windows or outside patio doors....I had to keep mine open all night long which made me feel a little uneasy (it was a patio with a door that opened to the outside, not a window...so it was completely open and flys were coming in). 2. The shower head was super low. If you are a tall guy, good luck. I'm only 5'6" and I had to be careful not to hit my head on the darn thing. 3. The toilets were weird in some of the rooms...basically about a foot away from the wall...just strange...function was fine (except my parent's which was leaking and caused my mother to slip and fall in the night). 4. Like coffee with cream (not coffeemate?)...good luck with that!---I had to ask SEVERAL times for CREAM...not COFFEEMATE...and would still get Coffeemate. I do not like non-dairy processed creamers, so was very frustrated by this...especially for a hotel with a bar. There should be cream somewhere in the hotel. I eventually found two servers who actually cared enough to go to the kitchen and get some. 5. If I am going to purchase a breakfast buffet I expect coffee and orange juice to be included (just my expectations from traveling all over the country and many parts of the world).

On the positives, the hotel has a good location, the food in the restaurant is good, and the lobby is very nice. It is a nice hotel...I just think they need some training for the staff and perhaps a re-think on the buffet. I would stay here again being the price is not bad...but I have definitely stayed in Holiday Inn's with better service/dining prices (and free coffee in the lobby).

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate your positive review of cleanliness and the location of our hotel and will work to address opportunities for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location and excellent rooms! 9th floor is definitely the floor to ask for! Happy Hour is great! The staff is great and very helpful with suggestions on where to eat and what to see. The rooms are very clean and modern.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 9th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location and clean rooms. Not impressed with the front desk staff. Not very good customer service. She seemed to be bothered when we asked her a question. The shuttle driver was very nice and friendly. He was the only one who was friendly and helpful. I wish I would have gotten his name. I would not recommend this place and hoping our company moves us from here. The only good things about this place are the shuttle driver and location.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
While I am happy that you found our rooms clean and liked the downtown location, I do apologize if the desk staff did not meet your expectations. During your next crew layover please stop by my office, which is next to the front desk check in area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have a special place for this place when I travel. And it looks better now than it ever has.
Heidi the night auditor was great. Arriving late at night it was nice to be greeted by a smiling face.
3 dings though, one is very small, while in the shower I noticed rusty screws holding the grab bar up. Second, although, I had arranged for a late check out and had my DND on the door here came the maids wondering when I was checking out. Third. When I went down to the desk to check out the lady at the desk was not in a uniform, looked more like it was her day off, and her hair looked like she had been in a really bad wind storm.
BUT, I will always stay here.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The main benefit of this hotel is the central location and the remodeled rooms. However, Sioux Falls is not that big of a city, so if you are on a road trip like me, it wasn't necessary to stay downtown. I would recommend to stay near the mall and then drive less than 10 mins to get downtown. I thought I would take advantage and visit the restaurants on Phillips, but I arrived fairly late. The rooms are remodeled, so the look of new is nice and I liked the mattress (not too firm, not too soft). The bathrooms are tight (aka. small) and I was disappointed they charge $2.50 a night for parking (just include it in the overall price, please). Overall, a nice stay, but for my needs it would have been fine to stay near the mall.

Room Tip: With any downtown hotel, request the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I would say that staying in the downtown area does offer superior restaurant choices, unique shopping, and access to a great park system. The Mall location on the southern edge of town has different options, but is within 10 minutes of downtown. Either location has plentiful options and we thank you for visiting Sioux Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Address: 100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.