We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What it Was ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Not What it Was ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed here on business a few years ago and gave it 5 stars. Location is great - all the more as it's 100 yds from Phillips Diner which is a must if in town and a 10 minute walk to the falls. Things have just got shabby... My room had peeling paint, AC didn't work, bulb out in the tiny bathroom. Shame. Wouldn't take much to put it right.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    76
    58
    28
    8
See reviews for
59
42
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I come to Sioux Falls 6-8 times per year for business. I used to shop around for my accommodation. No more. This property is located within walking distance of all of my needs. More importantly, the staff cares that I am there. Where I stay is all about the attitude of the staff. Also, the facility is well maintained, the parking is plenty, the amenities are complete. I am glad to know where I stay in Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Good Holiday Inn standard regarding the rooms however, no breakfast not included. Parking house in the facility. Be aware of the rooms to the right of the building with windows facing the entrance - there is quite a lot of noise from the little "power plant" on 2. floor level. Location is very good.

Room Tip: Left side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out this review. We endeavor move your opinion of us from good to great. Please reach out to me during your next planned trip to Sioux Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nothing remarkable to mention here -- pleasant enough service from most of the front desk personnel, clean (but tiny) bathrooms, and nice location -- except for the fact I do need to mention it is the first hotel at which I have ever stayed where I did not hear a peep from the elevator while staying in a room that practically wraps around the elevator bank (Room 409).

(This review re-posted due to delay by TripAdvisor in merging my accounts).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
This looks to be a duplicate posting from your July 30th stay where you rated us a 4 out of 5. Glad to hear that the elevators did not cause any noise issues during your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here Fri. & Sat. with my husband and 2 kids (1 yo and 3 yo). It was our first time in Sioux Falls. We were here for a wedding at the Pavilion. We did have to pay to park in the ramp. It was only a couple bucks but in my opinion I shouldn't have to pay for parking at the hotel where I'm staying. Room was clean. Bathroom was small. Our room was across from the elevators and ice machine which I thought would be terrible but we didn't have a problem with noise. Maybe it was because many of the rooms on our floor were family and friends of the wedding party and they were being considerate to each other. Food at the restaurant was good (giant omelets at buffet), the service was bad. Even when the place was empty we waited a long time to get noticed. Then we'd have 2 different waiters at one time. They seemed unorganized. Pool and hot tub were a nice size and temperature. Kids had fun swimming. A bathroom near the pool would have been nice. Quite a distance to the bathroom for 3 yo who has got to go now. I found the staff to be less than helpful but my husband had the opposite experience. Maybe he's cuter than me. ;) Hotel is a great location if you want to check out the downtown area. It was within walking distance to the wedding we attended which was convenient. Would love to come back to Sioux Falls but I'm not sure I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We appreciate your feedback. Please allow us the opportunity to move your opinion from good to great during your next visit to Sioux Falls please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonganoxie, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Very nice hotel, rooms were nice and clean and comfortable! Close to great shops and restaurants. Staff was friendly and recommended places to eat. We are thinking about bringing the whole family here for a vacation. You do have to pay to park but it's only a couple of bucks.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed one night here, and it was a very pleasant stay. We happened to stay during the "Hot Harley Nights" event. Even though there was a lot of bustling motorcycle traffic all around us, the noise level was actually kept to a minimum since we were on the eighth floor of this hotel. We could barely hear it! The rooms were comfortable and spacious, and from where we were situated we had a wonderful view of the Cathedral of St. Joseph and the federal landmark center. Overall a pleasant stay with first-rate amenities!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to or at the very top of the hotel for some excellent views of the surrounding...
See more room tips
Green Features: They ask that towels be re-used if staying for more than one night, and they use recycled paper products when they can.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Address: 100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.