We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in a Great Little City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
skatefox
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oasis in a Great Little City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

For a jaded New Yorker, my recent trip to Sioux Falls, SD was a breath of fresh, cool air, with a side of tumbleweed! Sioux Falls is a midwest city on the rise, with a revitalized downtown that features boutiques, cafes, galleries, and patisseries! There is more outdoor commissioned art in Sioux Falls than I have seen in many major cities! What a surprise to me.

I was there on business, and my hosts booked the Holiday Inn City Center for me. A courtesy van picked me up at the airport. (They run about every twenty minutes) for the five minute ride to the hotel. The courtesy began there. the diver was a friendly as could be, welcoming, and free with the advice about restaurants and attractions.

The hotel itself in not a destination. The lobby is sparse. There is a homey feeling bar and restaurant adjacent to a really lovely indoor pool. This is cowboy country, and I was not disappointed. Cowboy hats and boots dominated, along with an even tempered friendliness not often encountered in my home state.

The room was pristinely clean, up to date, and included a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The bed was comfortable, and the room was kept at a temperate heat level.

I was in town for an affair that was held in the upstairs ballrrom. It was a spacious, circular area with huge glass windows featuring views of the city at night. The star sight was an enormous cathedral that was the focal point of the Sioux Falls lineup. I had my first taste of the hotel fare at the hors d'oevres bar. Wow! Jumbo shrimp, perfectly steamed and iced. Stuffed mushrooms, several other hot appetizers, appetizing cheese platter and fresh fruits. Everything was beautifully presented and good.

At Sunday breakfast the following morning, I thought we were going to eat until someone in the group died! The hotel features a Sunday breakfast buffet,and they hold nothing back. For $12.00, we were offered coffee, pastries, cereals, yogurt, omelettes, the usual. THEN, there was the carving stand with roast prime rib, fresh turkey, and ham. Mashed potatoes, fresh vegetables, and those enormous shrimp again. Did I mention the dessert bar? Ice cream, chocolate mousse, 7 layer cake, cheese cake, and every pie you could think of. And it was all good!

The staff at this hotel are uniformly pleasant and helpful. There are printer stations in the lobby that you can use to print your boarding passes. Everything in the downtown is within easy walking distance. The shuttles run regularly. And the rate was only $89 per night for a double queen room!

Room Tip: Take a room away from the elevators to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    75
    56
    28
    8
See reviews for
57
42
14
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here two nights on business. First nice surprise was the free shuttle from the airport, runs every 20 minutes to/from hotel. Clean, large room. Complementary wifi worked very well and didn't make me login every 3 hours, which can be a pain. Printer in lobby for my boarding pass. Nice breakfast spread. This hotel is downtown so it's a very easy walk to strip of restaurants and shops. I hadn't stayed at a holiday inn in a long time and my expectations were low. This place surprised me in the best ways, including friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was there recently for an event which was held in the hotel. I was to recognize a young lays at the front desk who was very helpful. I can't remember her name but she had red hair and I believe she was the manager on duty. She got me checked in and recognized me as an IHG Rewards Member.
The only negative I have was the elevators were a bit slow, even during low use.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because we were attending a function being held at the hotel. What I liked about the hotel was the central location to many things in Sioux Falls, the comfortable beds and the newness feel of the hotel despite its age. What I didn't like about the room was the front desks willingness to work with us. We received a room by the elevators and asked if we could be moved and the clerk said she wasn't sure because it would be a full hotel that night. Long pause. So I asked her to please check to see if there is a possibility of a room change. She came back on after 10 seconds and said no because the hotel was full. It was 1:30 in the afternoon and I am sure not all guests were checked in and we could have easily been moved. My son made a call to our cell phones and the charge was over $6.00. The only other complaint was the dust in the room. It was in dire need of a dusting (see photo) and the whole room was like the photo. I would stay here for the convenience of the hotel's location but would choose another hotel if going there for a shopping or sporting event.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
While we met some of your expectations it seems clear we did accomodate all of your requests or expectations. Thank you for your feedback and please contact me directly when planning your next visit to Sioux Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with our stay. Although it's obvious the hotel is older, they've done a great job and keeping it feeling fresh and clean. The beds were great. The staff was friendly. The downtown location was great. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRINCETON
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This Holiday Inn is located just off the main street in Sioux Falls. It is walking distance to several good (and very inexpensive) restaurants, which are on a reasonably lively street lined with sculpture. The hotel is also only a short walk from the Falls, which are worth a quick visit. The hotel's concierge floor serves a very nice complimentary breakfast and, in the evenings, complimentary drinks and hors d'oeurves that could substitute for a light dinner. The rooms are excellent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was at the Holiday Inn for a wedding and was more then pleased!!! The staff at the front desk was wonderful, I was always greeted with a smile! My room was very clean and fresh, the lobby looked newly remodeled with modern updates. Parking was a bit confusing because the hotel was doing some construction on the ramp. I will stay here again anytime I am in Sioux Falls. Loved it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Address: 100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.