We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel needs some updates” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Older hotel needs some updates”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location of this hotel is great if you want to stay in Downtown Sioux Falls. It's only a short walk to Phillips Ave and all the shops, cafes and restaurants. However, the hotel is old and needs some updates. The a/c in my room was very noisy. It woke me up every time it came on. Also, my room was on the 3rd floor above a nice outdoor patio; but the noise from people visiting and partying on the patio was loud and went on until I called the front desk after midnight and asked that they shut down the patio for the night so hotel guests could get some sleep. The bathroom is small and has no vanity -- just a pedestal sink, so not much space for your personal items. The hotel personnel were nice and very helpful. The city is very clean and quiet. A very nice place to visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do have one more round of renovations taking place this winter to remodel our guest room bathrooms. There will be new vanities to replace the old pedestal sinks and this will add valuable counter space. Please contact me when you plan to return to Sioux Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    74
    55
    27
    7
See reviews for
56
42
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here on our cross country trip. We did a priceline.com "express deal". It was totally worth it. The parking was close and check in was fast. The room was clean and modern. The bathroom had bath and body works amenities and a clean shower which is always important. The gym had the basics and got a good run in before we ordered dinner from the restaurant/bar from down stairs. I had a great ahi tuna salad and he had the wings which were so-so. But it was super nice that we could call down to place our order and the bar tender called us in our room when it was ready to pick up. We would totally stay here again for a over night stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Just a few blocks a away for
Restaurants and local shops on Phillips ave.

The hotel looks very good, the restaurant is ample and located near the pool and gym.

The pool is small and gets deep really quick. Good thing it has a rope to indicate that. The gym is small too but has the basic necessary equipment.

The rooms are spacious. Some of the rooms have balconies some others are just normal.
The bathrooms don't really have counter space even thought they build shelves and got creative where to place the shampoo, location etc.

The beds are very comfortable. The closet which is right off from the main door doesn't have a door.

I really like the couch in the room. Even though is not deep like a lounge couch is great for seating and has a pull out bed.

Overall a good stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've had several stays at this hotel when visiting for business, and have been more than satisfied each time. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The hotel bar, restaurant and room service offer a good selection. Staff is friendly and professional. The location is very good. The hotel is situated on the downtown Sculpture Walk, and so it is an easy stroll to good restaurants, shopping, and the sculptures that line the street. In addition, it is a short walk to Falls Park, where you can see the falls themselves, or walk or jog along the river path. The only downside is that the rail yard is about half a mile away, and so during the night, train horns can be heard at times. It generally does not bother me, but it might awaken a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Some rooms comes with refrigerators. If you don't like the sound of the motor running in the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Found a nice place to stay downtown Sioux Falls. The hotel is close to the park, which is nice for a morning walk. Really good restaurants within walking distance. We enjoyed a steakhouse named Minerva's. The executive floor upgrade was worth the extra charge and included a breakfast and evening cocktails with apps. Bernie in the hospitality lounge was a delight. Room was clean.

Room Tip: Stay on executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on August 27, 2013 for one night. It was very clean and in a nice location for downtown restaurants and shops. We did not have any food there, but enjoyed a couple drinks in the bar and the staff there was great. It is a few blocks from Falls Park, which I would recommend taking in if you have the time, as it is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This Hotel was recently remodeled and had very lovely decor. I stayed on the concierge level which was great as they offered breakfast and beverages during my stay. Always nice for a business traveler. The attendant was very friendly.

Although I did not dine at the Hotel, I did have a nice glass of wine in the Lobby bar. It was a lively, yet relaxing atmosphere.

The room was quiet and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a concierge floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Address: 100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.