We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, updated rooms; beware of weddings/parties on top floor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Denver, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean, updated rooms; beware of weddings/parties on top floor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Entire hotel has been recently updated, hotel has been there a long time (grew up in this area, no longer live there). Bathrooms are very small, not much they could do about it in the renovation. Rooms were across from the elevator, did not hear noise from that. No refrigerator in our room. On your own to get luggage from car to room, not enough luggage carts for size of hotel. Used the hot tub, was fine. Walked to the new Sioux River Greenway, nice walk there. Nice restaurants just a few blocks down Phillips or Main.

BUT...we forgot when we booked that this hotel is notorious for noise from a band or DJ on top floor going thru the entire hotel. Rooms were on the 7th floor, three floors from the band, noise from the wedding band was unbearable at 10 pm, still bad at 11:30 pm, only comment from front office was "we've sent security up there and asked them to tone it down" and "they have to stop at midnight". Even with our white noise machine, it was not possible to sleep until the band quit after midnight. The booming from the bass was as bad as any hotel I've been in. One room asked for the general manager, left a voice mail, one room was comp'd for that night, other room didn't ask for general manager, no comp'd room.

We were there during the Sturgis motorcycle event, lots of bikes, no noise from them, only from the wedding band.

New Hilton Garden Inn under construction two block away, I'd try that before this hotel, although the trains are required to blow their horns just a block from the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Pleased to hear you found the hotel clean and updated. We do apologize for the noise from busy events in the city and within the hotel. Please contact me when planning your next trip to Sioux Falls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    59
    46
    23
    7
See reviews for
46
34
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through Sioux Falls late in the evening. Holiday Inn accepted a $45 bid on Priceline. We were thrilled with the downtown location, easy access to restaurants in the morning (we did not partake in the hotel breakfast), and easy parking. They are pet friendly to dogs under 50lbs. There are rooms directly across from the elevators, so be sure to ask for something else. We were given an 8th floor corner room on the southwest side - as far away from the elevator as we could get. The room was large, had a king bed (comfy), and a balcony with a beautiful view of the city. The bathroom was a bit small. The experience was great - hotel staff professional and friendly, rooms were clean, and our stay was restful for the next day of travel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night for a wedding event. We had a king with a small couch. These rooms have been updated and that's really nice, but the bathrooms are pretty small and the toilet was tricky...once we figured it out it worked smoothly. We didn't eat there since we were eating at the events. The front desk staff were very pleasant and no problems checking in or out. I thought the price was reasonable too.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is right downtown in Sioux Falls. The views from the hotel are great. We booked through HOTWIRE & got a great deal in a room with a balcony. Staff very amenable. Hot breakfast was included with plenty of choice & you can have made to order omelettes. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent and the rooms were clean. The pool was a nice relaxing finish for the day. A nightcap in the in house bar before bed washed the dust of the road off. This was a nice layover for a night on our way across country. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Staff were friendly, however the hotel is tired. Benefit was that the Executive Floor rooms had balconies, coffee in the morning and wine in the evening.

Centrally located, I was in town for business and we used the conference facilities at the hotel.

Meals in the hotel restaurant are average, I would suggest walking down the block to one of many nice restaurants.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to fill out this review. We have one more round of renovations this Fall in the guest bathrooms to complete our property renewal. Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Best choice between this and the Sheraton, primarily because of location (old town area with some cool restaurants in walking distance) and the fact it's most recently refurbished. Great helpful staff. Obviously best to get the highest room possible. 9th floor is some kind of exec floor that's the ideal if you can afford it/get upgraded.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel Sioux Falls
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls-City Hotel
Holiday Inn Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Holiday Inn
Address: 100 West 8th Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of vibrant & historice downtown Sioux Falls. We are a full service hotel with 290 comfortable guestrooms, complimentary airport shuttle service, a business center and fitness center. Right outside our front door you will find many unique shops and restaurants. Our convenient location offers easy access to the airport, I-90 & I-29. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sioux Falls - City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.