We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Room During Our Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Empire Towers

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Empire Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
4100 West Shirley Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #20 of 48 hotels in Sioux Falls
Blue Springs, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Room During Our Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed at 4 different hotels/motels during our trip through South Dakota and this was the best room. We stayed in a room with a king-size bed and jacuzzi in the room. We didn't find an entrance to the hotel from the main road and had to enter from a side road. We were "winging" our entire vacation and would have known this if we had mapped out our trip like normal people. The breakfast had a little more "extra" compared to most offered by other hotels/motels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
43
45
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We choose this hotel after looking at some reviews on tripadvisor but was a little concerned because of some not so favorable reviews and the price was a little higher than we wanted to pay.
We called the hotel and was given a better price than we saw on the web and decided to give it a shot. After talking to them we were able to get an even better price.
When we arrived at the hotel to check in we asked if there was an upgrade an to our surprise we were given an upgrade. Our check in was easy and pleasant. When we arrived they were serving the afternoon snack of cookies. Milk or juice was also available from the breakfast room.
Our room was on the 2nd floor and was non-smoking. Yes there was a smell of smoke in the hallway but only a minor distraction as once you were in the room it was non existent.
When we got to our room we found we were upgraded to a jacuzzi room, which came in handy since it stormed the night we stayed and the pool had to be closed due to lightning. Our room had 2 comfortable queen size beds, small microwave & fridge. The sink was located outside the bathroom. Bathroom was small but adequate. It had coffee maker and iron and a flat screen TV. The room was very clean and nicely decorated with decorative pillows for the beds. The Jacuzzi was large and relaxing. As I stated before it stormed the night we stayed our children went down and checked out the computer in the business center and the desk clerk allowed them to get juice from the breakfast room which is where the business center is located. This was really nice since some of the children were bummed out because they had to close the pool early due to the storm. The next morning breakfast was hot, well stocked, and plentiful. There were omelets, ham, sausage gravy & biscuits assorted cereals, bagels, yogurt, donuts, fruit and a belgian waffle maker assorted juices and milk. Our checkout was handled with ease our receipt was under the door when we got up in the morning. Newspapers were available in the lobby near the breakfast room. The staff was knowledgeable and courteous. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to any 1 staying over night in Sioux Falls. It is near the mall but does sit back from the street so it is a little hard to find. Worth the look. By the way Ruby Tuesdays delivers to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles, MO
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We passed through Sioux Falls on our way home from the Badlands/Black Hills. The hotel was very nice and my kids loved the large indoor pool. The breakfast was good too. The room was clean and nice and the staff was friendly. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

The only reason this hotel was not a five is because they are still working on the exterior renovation and some members of our group had them start work at 7 AM on Sunday--right outside their window. Luckily for us, the work had been completed in our section and we were able to sleep in. It looked like the outside work will soon be done. The hotel has recently had the interior redone and the rooms are very nice--and clean.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Our group was there for a run/walk against breast cancer, so we were up early on Saturday and ate as soon as the breakfast room was open. When we returned, it was past closing time for breakfast, but their was still some food left so they let us eat again. Very nice of them and the food was good!! All of us were impressed.

The pool was nice for the kids, but no hot tub.

We also got a very good race rate and would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We booked the room online with Best Western and after paying for the room in full we saved money. Four adults in 1-room 2-queen beds was only $64.58. They have a pool (no hot tub) and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

We stayed one night at this hotel on the first leg of a two week drive across country. We got a goverment employee discount rate of $70. We were very pleased with the hotel. It was very clean (#1 priority for me) nicely decorated . The breakfast was good also. No complaints, would stay there again.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana City, Montana
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

This is the second hotel we have stayed at in this same packed together area. I think they are all overpriced. It is just as regular as can be. Rooms are small and reasonably clean. We pass through Sioux Falls often and are still looking for a standout.

  • Liked — Near the mall
  • Disliked — overpriced
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Empire Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Empire Towers

Address: 4100 West Shirley Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sioux Falls
#10 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Empire Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Empire Towers Hotel Sioux Falls
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western
Best Western Empire Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Empire Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.