We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value and Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Empire Towers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Empire Towers to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Empire Towers
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4100 West Shirley Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Brookings, South Dakota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Value and Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Although ranked lower in Tripadvisor than what we usually choose we made a reservation based on location, which is close to the Empire Mall, stores at which we like to shop and easy access to the rest of Sioux Falls. We were pleased to find a clean, well maintained Best Western without frills such as a big lobby but with decent sized rooms, good beds and little or no freeway or Interstate noise. Breakfast was the standard observed by most hotels these days but the attendant kept the coffee pots full, the eggs, biscuits and gravy warm and was friendly.

We noticed many commerial vehices in the parking lot the night we stayed and that's always a sign of good accomodations at a reasonable (for today) price. People on the road a lot share information/recommendations as to the best places to stay when looking for lodging that fits their travel budgets. Plus, working or commercial travelers tend to be quiet at night.

The only "downside" we found is common to many hotel properties, which is placing a few smoking rooms on the same floor as nonsmoking rooms. The smoking odors emanating from a smoking room can often drift down the hallways and even to those of us who smoked at one time, befiore quitting, the smell is not pleasant. However, this problem is not unique to this property and should not be reason not to stay here when coming to Sioux Falls.

We feel this Best Western is a bargain considering location, price and facility.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    80
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
69
72
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for business and was just expecting the usual hotel experience. The hotel is located by one of the major streets (41st) in Sioux Falls, but the hotel is set back from the street, so you don't hear all the traffic. What impressed me most, was that they decor was very modern and up-to-date, and everything was so clean. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast room was very inviting and they had plenty of tables and the breakfast items were beyond the usually continental breakfast. They even had grape juice, which you don't see that often. At the front desk, they have free cookies throughout the day. I enjoyed using the business center and there were two computers available to use. I also liked the fact that the hotel provided two different newpapers for free. When I'm in different hotels, I especially look at how clean the bathroom is and it was clean, clean, clean. One benefit of staying here, is that the sink area is seperate from the shower area, so two people can get ready at the same time. There were always enough towels in the bathroom, and I know this has been an issue in other hotels that I have stayed at. The staff were always very friendly and willing to help as needed. I was traveling with another person, and we kept saying to each other, "This is just such a nice hotel." "It is just so clean." We both work in health care and we know what to look for. When I travel to Sioux Falls with my family, I will definitely take them here to stay, for it's just not the usual hotel, but it's an experience. Job well done!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Great stay during the last Week of March 2011. One of the best hotel breakfast we have had. Empire Mall is right across 41st St.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We found a great rate online so we stayed there. The hotel was the best we stayed at on our trip!! The hotel was clean and up to date, the beds were comfortable, the heat worked great, our room was quiet, and the wi-fi was great. The breakfast was the best free breakfast we have had anywhere!! The front desk staff was friendly, helpful and courteous.
It is located near the areas mall. Sorry forgot to take pictures. I would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stopped here on our way back from the Black Hills to Minneapolis. It was a quiet nights stay. The breakfast was the best free breakfast I have ever had. Omelets, waffles,biscuits and gravy plus the normal continetal breakfast items.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Overall a nice hotel. We had to switch rooms as they had recently done some repairs or remodeling in the first room and there was a strong residual solvent smell. The staff was very accommodating and the second room was fine. The breakfast and pool were more than satisfactory. We had a little difficulty driving right to the front door as it sits off the road a bit and the location isn't the greatest, but nothing major. Overall it is recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We decided to stay here after finding a great deal online. The hotel is very nice and was recently remodeled. We checked in around 3pm & our room looked great. Very new decor and bedding. But then the problem started... our room was on the first floor next to the steps with paper thin walls & all we could hear was what sounded loud banging noises from people going up and down non stop. The hotel was full the day we stayed so we couldnt change rooms & of course people were going up and down at all hours. Around 11pm it did finally quiet down & we got some sleep, but it was very irritating to say the least!! The breakfast in the morning was a little above average with a very nice eating area. They do have a small pool, but no hot tub. I think we would stay at the hotel again, as long as we are NOT near the steps!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwempiretowers, Manager at BEST WESTERN Empire Towers, responded to this review, June 8, 2010
Let me start by thanking you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at our property. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create a enjoyable experience for every guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you and have a great day!

Danyell Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Empire Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Empire Towers

Address: 4100 West Shirley Place, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sioux Falls
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sioux Falls
#19 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Empire Towers 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Empire Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Empire Towers Hotel Sioux Falls
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western
Best Western Empire Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Empire Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.