We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Maple Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Parrish, Florida
1 review
“Will not return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

The first room we got was outdated. Two days later we realized there were fleas so we were offered another room with 1 night free of charge. The second room was updated and cleaner. However housekeeping barely came around during our 1 week stay. We had to call for towel, coffee and trash
replacements. Overall the staff is very friendly and the indoor pool was ideal for our children except for the fact that the pool water had heating issues. Our kids shivered most of the time. Check in was fast, easy and friendly whereas check out was not. We checked out around 4am and the night shift clerk was rude and unhelpful. At first we were charged for the previous guest. Along with her lack of customer service we were then charged for the entire stay when we should have been compensated 1 night. She had refused to do so until I made it clear repeatedly that we were moved to another room due to fleas. She eventually credited us for the 1 night. Overall we will never go
back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments; I really apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, they are not the norm, and will be addressed. Should you return, please ask for me. I am sure we can turn this negative into a positive.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    82
    72
    30
    29
See reviews for
142
35
6
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel on our way to Mount Rushmore and we couldn't be happier with our experience. Our room was clean and comfortable and the free wi-fi internet was a bonus. We did have a problem with our air conditioner not working properly but it was fixed promptly. The water park was definitely the highlight of the night. Our kids absolutely loved the waterslide and pool! The next morning we ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was absolutely delicious. The price of the breakfast more than fair for the abundance of food that was served. Would definitely stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments; so glad you had a great time and made memories here. We hope to see you again!

Jan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This was a good hotel and great value. We stopped here traveling west. They accepted our small dog with no issues. Hotel room was nice. A bit surprised considering it was Stugis week and the hotel also has a big water park that attracts lots of large families. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you very much for the nice comments, we appreciate them so much. We hope to see you and your little pal again next year in your travels.

Jan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We were looking for a place for several families to meet for the weekend including 5 children under the age of 9. Good location, easy access, friendly professional front desk and staff throughout the hotel, very clean spacious rooms and the waterpark was a complete hit with the children! I really enjoyed the suite I had with 8 shower heads in the shower. Suites are very reasonably priced as well. The food was also a hit with the children and the special prices for children was a hit with the parents! I would have given it 5 stars if the buffet breakfast was a little more thought out. What was there wasn't bad however not much more variety than you would expect from a hot complimentary breakfast at any chain hotel.

Room Tip: Book early...the hotel fills up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments, we're so happy memories were made at our hotel - we hope to see you all again!

Jan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canova, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The suite we had was far from a suite quality. The AC did not work properly and the room was above the laundry room which was blaring music from a radio in the night time. Also the bill was wrong twice and the room was not properly stocked with bedding and towels.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments; they will be shared with the appropriate staff so that we can get these very correctable issues corrected. I do apologize for the inconvenience.

My Best,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Lake, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Chose the Ramkota as a destination for a weekend with granddaughters. They loved the waterpark, so Grandpa was a genius. However, there is more to the hotel stay than the chlorine and splashing. On check in, the clerk was distracted, not attentive. After interstate travel, I guess I expected quick, courteous check in. The bathroom seemed in need of updating. The second morning, the hair care products and towels had not been replenished. Having said that, I imagine we will go back, otherwise, I wouldn't be Grandpa.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments, and I am so glad your grandchildren had fun! Attention to detail is usually a strength for us, so I apologize for the issues mentioned. It will be shared with staff. Please call Kathy the next time you want to visit and she'll make sure you are set up perfectly!

My Best,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have stayed in several Best Western Plus and this one just does not measure up. Terrible internet connection. Lousy check in and check out experience. Room was fine just not what you expect from a BW Plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments; they will be shared with staff. I apologize for the internet, we did have a situation recently that has been resolved. Also we do have a bed and breakfast package should you try us again.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Address: 3200 West Maple Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the Splash-Tacular Water Park. A great place to make memories. Family-friendly atmosphere featuring our indoor water park, outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge. Kids can join the Ramkota Rascals Kids Club. Refrigerators and microwaves in all poolside rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ramkota
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.