We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you expect from a plus!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Maple Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Maryville, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not what you expect from a plus!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I have stayed in several Best Western Plus and this one just does not measure up. Terrible internet connection. Lousy check in and check out experience. Room was fine just not what you expect from a BW Plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments; they will be shared with staff. I apologize for the internet, we did have a situation recently that has been resolved. Also we do have a bed and breakfast package should you try us again.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    76
    69
    29
    27
See reviews for
138
30
6
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We called the 800 number to find last minute accommodations on our way home from Mt. Rushmore. The helpful operator found us a competitive rate at this hotel. Our stay was very brief (in at 9:00pm out by 7:00am) but we found the hotel to be clean and updated. I still don't understand why they allow for smoking in hotel rooms. I get it that it is a hard habit to break but really? The front desk did not as a preference for smoking/non-smoking. Fortunately we were placed in what we believe was a non-smoking room. The room was super clean mainly due to the fact it is a convention hotel room. I believe business travelers tread very lightly on their hotel rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments; we are a 100% non-smoking, however sometimes people will smoke anyway. We address when it happens, but I apologize for the inconvenience.

My Best,

Jan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Check in poor - desk clerk more concerned about watching television show on lobby t.v. Room was larger than average but the bathroom was small. Breakfast selection was ample and good. Nothing remarkable that would warrant a return stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, and I apologize for the desk associate. I hope we see you again so we can turn average into remarkable!

My Best,

Jan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was here on a business trip but wished I could have been on vacation at the Ramkota. Lots of things to do! The staff was very personable and the food I ordered for lunch exceeded my expectations. The conference staff was readily available to help me set up for my business.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments; we pride ourselves in having something for everyone, business or pleasure. We hope to see you again with your family to relax and make some memories.

Our Best,

Jan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a very clean nice hotel with a rest., bar, and indoor and outdoor pool areas...the only thing was it was very confusing with the layout had to use a map to find the guest laundry but other than that this place is great for families with kids

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Sounds like you enjoyed everything we have to offer..........wonderful! Thank you so much for selecting us, I hope we see you again.

Jan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was night #2 on a cross country road trip. After reading reviews/responses on TA regarding other area hotels (namely the Dakotah Lodge) we opted to stay here at the last minute.

It is clearly an old hotel. The lobby was remodeled nicely and the staff seemed polite enough.

We stayed close to the pool area but our door did not open to the pool. I can see how those rooms would be very loud.

The pool was a great break for our kids. We all had a nice time and appreciated that it was open until 10 so that we could get some much needed energy out. The best aspect of the pool was the American Ninja Warrior/Wipeout lily pad challenge. We were very entertained watching our kids and others attempt to cross the pool on floating 'lily pads' and 'logs'.

The hotel itself seemed as though it was recently painted and maintained fairly well. I would recommend getting new carpet as the carpet seemed old and was soiled in many places in the hallway.

The beds were comfortable, which is always a major plus.

We ordered a pizza and the woman seemed very, very overwhelmed. She seemed to need some extra help.

Overall a good experience and lots of families having a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Glad we were a fun spot to stop on the interstate, and that you enjoyed your time with us. We'll get the shampooer out! Appreciate the feedback - hope to see you again.

My Best,

Jan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeman, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Best Western is the BEST in service and location! They also have an excellent fitness room and 2 awesome pools! The rooms are clean with superb beds and tons of pillows! Never stay anywhere else in Sioux Falls!
~Amanda Schrock

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Well you made our Monday morning! Thank you very much for the great review - so glad we do a nice job for you and your family. Thank you for your business, we appreciate it so much.

Jan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Address: 3200 West Maple Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the Splash-Tacular Water Park. A great place to make memories. Family-friendly atmosphere featuring our indoor water park, outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge. Kids can join the Ramkota Rascals Kids Club. Refrigerators and microwaves in all poolside rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ramkota
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.