We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't swim in the pools!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Maple Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Myrtle Beach, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't swim in the pools!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a large group of us and 9 of the kids ended up with a rash. One of our group works at a place with a pool and has seen outbreaks like this before when the Ph levels aren't right in the pool. We went to the front desk to report the problem and were told we were the 4th group to report such problems. The hotel did NOTHING except deny anything was wrong. They blamed it on our kids rubbing on the bottom of the pool! I work in customer service and I have never been so appalled. Our group will never go back and neither should you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your comments; I am very sorry your group got a rash. Our pool chemicals are all automated really helping us manage the water safely. On a rare occasion there will be an issue and I assure you it is addressed immediately. Our pool pump rooms are behind the scenes; not 'seeing' anyone does not mean it wasn't being addressed. IF there is ever an issue where safety is an issue the pool(s) are shut down.

I do hope we will have an opportunity to turn this negative into a positive on a return visit.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    73
    69
    29
    27
See reviews for
137
29
5
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Took the poolside room. It was exteremely noisy. Absolutely no sound insulation at all. The pool is a mini theme park, and is open till 11 PM, so imagine the noise! Also, they do not offer complimentary breakfast or anything, so that's a bummer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments; the pool area is an attraction to be sure and full of kids and families having fun, it does get noisy. It usually quiets down right away after it closes though.

We are a full service hotel so I apologize you were disappointed there was not a complimentary breakfast available. We've worked hard to keep our menu prices very affordable, and coffee is on us in the morning! As well, we have complimentary coffee and whole fresh fruit in the lobby.

We have numerous room choices should you return, and can keep you away from the pool.

Thank you again for your comments,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

No additional pet fee and our room had a door directly to the outside making it a breeze to let our dogs out to go to the bathroom. Very thoughtful from the manager/ownership to have this for pet rooms and would definitely stay there again because of this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, and so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Soon the weather will be better, just 2 short blocks from us is a wonderful bike path for great safe walking. Hope to see you again soon!

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Terrific facility!! It's Large but laid out in such a way that it's not overwhelming- very easy to find where you are going. Terrific, friendly staff. Beds were super comfy - I slept well both nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your nice comments; we're so glad you were able to do your business and relax and enjoy your stay as well. Perfect!

Hope to see you again soon-

Happy New Year!

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faulkton, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I will NEVER stay here again. I had booked my room online (a 2-room suite with 3 beds). When we arrived, my husband checked in and we went to the room, only to find that we were in the wrong suite (we were given a 2 room suite with 1 bed and 1 couch). I went to the front desk to explain the situation and to show her my confirmation email and she said that our reservation had been changed that morning and there was nothing that she could do. I received no notification, even though my phone number and email were both on the reservation. First she told me that the room was overbooked so we were moved, and then she told me that it was closed for maintenance. I wonder which one was true? I was persistent that they move us to the correct room since I had a confirmation and I needed 3 beds for my family. I was told that there were air mattresses available. To me, that is NOT the same thing as sleeping in a bed. I expressed my frustration and disgust about not being notified about the change in our reservation and she offered me breakfast coupons to "make me feel better." Since they were "full" we had no other options. (But, even though they were "full", a gentleman in front of me was able to book a room...)

The room was dirty and cold. The loud heater couldn't keep up with the drafty windows. I had to bundle up my baby to put her to sleep because the room was so cold and the only place to put her pack & play was in front of the drafty window. The room door had about a 1-inch gap on the top and bottom of the door so I had to put a towel down to block out (some of) the noise. I could hear every door slam and person walking down the hall. The carpet was so dirty that I didn't want my toddler to walk on it. The bathroom floor was gross and obviously hadn't been scrubbed because there was hair all over when we checked in. The TV remote didn't work. The bathroom was small. The bathroom sink has more water pressure than the shower does.

The only good part about our stay was the food in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is great and the coffee is very good.

Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for reaching out to us again in reference to your experience. As noted we regret very much that a maintenance issue negated us from selling you your requested room type. We genuinely thought the call back to make sure you were comfortable and adjusting your room and tax 30 minutes into your stay was to your satisfaction.

I really hope we'll have an opportunity in the future to turn this negative experience into a positive one.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have stayed here many times. this is a nice hotel with great amenities. close to the airport. nice waterpark for the kids. the rooms are nice, but are older. good parking and fantastic restaurant/lounge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much for the nice comments; it's true we are an older hotel but so proud our ownership believes in reinvesting in their product so we can sell with pride. We do nice improvements every year! Thank you so much for your loyalty - we appreciate it so much!

Happy New Year!

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here on a short business trip and found it just fine. Since it was out of the main downtown area it was nice there was a restaurant and a bar on property. The room was typical Best Western and was fine.

The pool/waterpark was nice and in future I would bring the kids if they aren't in school. The only real issue with it was that lap swimming was minimal since most of the area was for play. The hot tub was great though. I expected the area to be full of families but it actually wasn't and it was relaxing.

The hotel shuttle not only took me to and from the airport but they also took us into town for dinner and picked us back up which was nice. Tyler, the bellman who drove the shuttle every time I used it, was a great resource for information and a fun person to talk to.

The only real issue was the rattling of the heating vent every time it turned on. It was really loud and woke me up several times a night.

The bacon at breakfast made up for it though. Best cooked bacon I've had in a long time!

I would stay here again. Not fancy but nice, comfortable, staff was friendly and it had everything I needed.

Room Tip: If the pool is important to you, there are rooms that open right into the pool area that you could a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful, detailed comments. We appreciate them so much. We have an incentive program for our associates in which the highest denomination earned is if a guest uses their name in a positive way.........thank you on behalf of Tyler!

Happy Holidays,

Jan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Address: 3200 West Maple Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the Splash-Tacular Water Park. A great place to make memories. Family-friendly atmosphere featuring our indoor water park, outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge. Kids can join the Ramkota Rascals Kids Club. Refrigerators and microwaves in all poolside rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ramkota
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.