We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a GREAT PLACE to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Maple Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #34 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always a GREAT PLACE to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Once again we were in Sioux Falls SD and stayed at the Best Western Ramkota Hotel. They have done improvements such as TV's, the lobby area. It is exceptionally clean and welcoming.

The room we had was really nice and spotless. It was quiet even though there were several children nearby. The ac worked well the only down side was the water pressure in the shower but we brought it to the attention of the front desk when we checked out and they said they would repair it.

One thing that is really appreciated is the "Clean remote" a covering that is over the remote control that gets changed with each new occupant. More hotels should use this.

As usual this is a great place to stay, the rooms are clean and its quiet. The price is good. You can eat at the hotel or the local place called the Rolling PIn is near by which is where we go. Also you can have pets at this hotel and there is no additional fee which pet owners can really appreciate.

Room Tip: If traveling with pets and using crates for them its easier to get a room closer to an exit door jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and your loyality......we do not take it for granite! We appreciate our good neighbor the Rolling Pin, but please try the Maple Street Cafe' too......kids eat for .99, and we've worked hard to offer good food at a fair price.

I do hope we see you again.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    70
    68
    29
    26
See reviews for
132
27
5
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Granite Falls, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here early June with my husband and two boys. The boys loved both the outdoor and indoor pools! The indoor pool was quite busy but what else would one expect on a Saturday in June. The indoor pool area has lots of tables and chairs for the adults to hang out. Would be a fun place for a group of people. There are rooms that have direct access to the pool area. If you want someplace quiet, this would not be it. Beds were comfortable. We did have problems with our air conditioning not working. We did not call the front desk untiil we checked out as we didn't wan't someone coming to fix it in the middle of the night. We thought the room would evently get cooler. It did not but the hotel discounted our room to 50% off. Very considerate.

Room Tip: If you have kids, you might want to have the pool rooms otherwise just ask for one of the more cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments, we appreciate your feedback. We do apologize for the ac issue. We really want our guests to make memories - so glad you did!

Best reguards,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The rooms were old! The door only closed when it was slammed. The floors were dirty, the tub didn't drain. The AC didn't cool. The room itself was terrible. You heard every noise through the door. The only thing that saved the room itself was the TV. The waterpark, which was included in the price, was nice. Too bad it was salt water, but otherwise, it was amazing. We had so much fun bonding and having a good time. I wish the rooms were just as nice! When we were checking out, the cleaning crew was cleaning the rooms with doors wide open. They were disrespecting fellow co-workers and guests. It was just rude!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments; everyone help us learn and be better. For the negative comments, I assure you they will be addressed and not who we are. As for the rooms, the TV's you mention are brand new, as are the fridges, and microwaves on the way. The restaurant, lounge and lobby are newly done. Improvements will continue. AND the salt water is going away....in the process.
Thank you for making memories at the Best Western PLUS Ramkota Hotel, we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sioux city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

What a great hotel to stay for the weekend.they have a big pool inside mainly for kids with a water slide and another pool outside with a courtyard.excellent service and a great bar to hang out in.I would stay here each time i need to over night in Sioux Falls.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the nice comments; we apprecaite them so much. I am so glad you and your family had a great time. Please come see us again!

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The hotel was in the process of being renovated. We are quite sure our room had not been renovated, because it looked nothing like the photographs on the hotel web site. On check in, we told the desk clerk we wanted a room that was centrally-located. Her first selection would have been at a good location, but she then said it had an exterior corridor, so we opted for another room with an interior corridor, only to be located at the extreme end of the hotel, very far away from the central location we had requested. As it turned out, we don't believe the first room actually had an exterior corridor after all. She also advised us to park our car in a remote location instead of simply entering through the lobby, which would have been more convenient. The bottom line was that the desk clerk did not seem to know much about the layout of this sprawling hotel.

We felt the "plus" rating was solely due to the water park and possibly some renovated rooms. We were also disappointed to find out no breakfast was provided. They did say there would be coffee and fresh fruit available in the morning, but at 7:00 AM we had a choice of one orange and three apples, and there was no hot water for tea. We ordered breakfast in the restaurant, which was plentiful and reasonably priced.

If you have children, this place is for you. Otherwise, you aren't getting your money's worth.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room close to an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your response; hearing directly from our guests is the best way to measure our success.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, and that you were not aware we were a full service hotel. We've tried to keep our pricing very reasonable and children eat for .99. And has you mention have the complimentary whole fresh fruit and coffee/tea in the morning.

We will continue to re-invest in the hotel and hope that you will try us again.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

First time to stay here. The kids loved the pool. Rooms are a bit dated, but comfortable. At this price point a flat screen TV is a must have. Made service ignored do-not-disturb and barged in at 8am. Would stay again when traveling with kids, but for a couple or business travel I'd probably consider other places first.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments; we are so glad that your family enjoyed the water features. At the end of May our lovely outdoor pool opens as well.

I am thrilled to tell you flat screen TV's ship for all our rooms April 30! Please come and visit us again!

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

When we checked in, the place was packed full of kids...the pool was wall to wall to the point of making safety an issue. When we got to our room, all we could hear was kids running and screaming down the halls. It was not a pleasant place to stat as newlyweds. Needless to say, we checked out and moves to the Sheraton,,l where we were given the service we deserved.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate hearing from our guests. Waterpark Hotels do tend to be busy on a weekend. We are very sorry we could not meet expectations; and glad your found an alternative option for your special evening. I do hope you will visit us again under better circumstances.

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Address: 3200 West Maple Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the Splash-Tacular Water Park. A great place to make memories. Family-friendly atmosphere featuring our indoor water park, outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge. Kids can join the Ramkota Rascals Kids Club. Refrigerators and microwaves in all poolside rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ramkota
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.