We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids had a blast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Maple Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Spicer, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kids had a blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Our kids, 5 and 3, had an absolute blast at the hotel swimming. They enjoyed the sun in the outside pool and all there was to do in the inside pool.

I enjoyed the restaurant inside the hotel. The prices were amazing and the food was good! They had kids meals for $0.99 with the purchase of an adult entree, which were also very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for the positive comments; we work hard for them and never get tired of hearing from our guests! We appreciate your comments and your business very much ~ we hope to see you and your family again!

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    109
    91
    38
    32
See reviews for
179
44
9
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

During a quick weekend trip (3 different hotels) this Best Western was a great choice!! The rooms are nice size, the beds were super comfortable, the AC was quite and functional, the bathroom was a adequate and it was clean!! They have a water park that is fairly good size and a fun slide!! The entire complex is quite large but everything seemed to be well kept. They have a couple of on-site restautants which is nice but do not offer and continental breakfast because of that reason. If we are ever in need of a place to stay in Sioux Falls, this would be our choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
THank you so much for your kind comments; we're thrilled you had a great time and made some memories. We hope to see you again!

SIncerely,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

First, I want to point out that we did not stay here for the pools and weren’t travelling with children. We only wanted a hotel room to stay in while on a road trip. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone in a similar situation.

We had a “non-smoking” room but when we first entered we were smacked in the face by the odor of stale cigarette smoke with undertones of rotten fish. We arrived fairly late in the evening so we just tolerated the stench and went to bed. The next morning at around 8:30 a.m. we went to the hotel restaurant for breakfast. We had to wait awhile for anyone to notice us and give us a table. The service continued to be surly and slow and the food was only mediocre.

When we returned to our room at about 9:15-9:30 am, housekeeping had already begun to clean our room even though we hadn’t checked out yet. No one was in the room when we arrived and the door was propped open. The bedding was piled on the tables and desk. Fortunately, we had already loaded the car with our belongings. We had stopped back in the room to make sure we hadn’t forgotten anything. We couldn’t find anything so we had assumed we had everything. When we got home we discovered that my husband’s toiletry bag with his prescription medications was left behind. Housekeeping had taken it BEFORE we even checked out! To add insult to injury, they returned it to us COD! So we had to pay for their mistake.

This place needs a refresher course on hotel management and customer service. Or maybe it just needs to be torn down.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Thank you for your comments; there will be immediate action steps to investigate your comments about this room and they will be addressed and resolved. I will also share your comments with our housekeeping department so they learn from their actions also. I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations and genuinely believe your experience here is not the norm. I do hope in the future we can turn his negative into a positive.

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

While passing through town, we stayed at this large hotel and convention space. The room we stayed in was a very long walk from the lounge and front of the hotel. They must have done some recent renos, because the lounge was beautiful, well appointed and staffed by the nicest lady i've come across in a long time! The food portions were large and tasty. The room itself was nothing special, but it was quiet and clean, and that is what we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you very much for the great comments.....we're thrilled with our new Frankies Lounge and Maple Street Cafe too! Lobby renovation and new TV's next.....so exciting for our valuable guests like you and your family. Hope to see you again soon!

Respectfully,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I am glad I did not read the reviews. We had a great visit. My 3, 4, and 5 yr old all loved the waterpark. I liked the room décor and the beds were so comfortable that it was the best night sleep I had in a while. restaurant prices were reasonable. kids ate for 99 cents. total bill was $10

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Thank you for the positive comments; we apprecaite them so much! Thank you also for noting the .99 kids meal program. We really wanted to provide a benefit that our guests would value. I hope you joined our Kids Club too!

Best Regards,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I was just amazed at the professionalism shown in arranging this family celebration. Even though the 4th of July was a busy time for them with so many groups, we were made to feel special and our every need was addressed and accomodated. We needed a place to congregate as a family and even though the hotel was full, we had a shady picnic area near the pool that we used all day. The restaurant where we had brunch was adequate and the hotel allowed us to bring in outside food for our dinner. The inside water park was enjoyable with our little guests and they also had an inside adult pool. The outside pool was beautiful, the grounds manicured, and the other guests were so friendly and well behaved. Thank you Ramkota for a weekend that excelled expectations!! And thank you to the front desk for all their help. (One recommendation-that the hotel considers adding refrigerators)

Room Tip: Ask the front desk and they will help you choose the perfect room(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Thank so much for the wonderful note! It will be shared with all of the staff, they will be so happy to see the positive impact they had on your special event An 80th Birthday should be filled with wonderful memories, I am so glad we had a role!

Best Wishes,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great place for a holiday weekend with the family. My 6yr old daughter and I spent most of our time on the curly water slide, while my in-laws relaxed beside the pool.There is also an area for the younger kids, with slides and other fun things for them to climb on. Although it can get a little busy on Sundays, the line is well worth the wait for the water slide. The hotel rooms were dated but they had plenty of room, this is by no means a Luxury hotel and a good portion of my rating is associated with the water park, if you are looking for a quite place to relax poolside this is not it! However if you are looking to entertain younger children this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunie, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Thank you so much for the great comments on our waterpark, our lovely outdoor pool is open now too! You will see many new enhancements to our hotel over the next two years such as new TV's, fridges in every room, new lobby which follows our recent all new beds, bedding treatments, brand new restaurant and sport theme lounge....kids eat for .99!

The absolute best barometer of our performance comes from our guests, so thank you again for the feedback.....we look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Jan Grunewaldt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
0.2 mi away
Dakotah Lodge
Dakotah Lodge
#17 of 51 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel and Suites
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Sioux Falls
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls
Ramada Sioux Falls
#42 of 51 in Sioux Falls
3.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
3.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
#10 of 51 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel

Address: 3200 West Maple Street, Sioux Falls, SD 57107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the Splash-Tacular Water Park. A great place to make memories. Family-friendly atmosphere featuring our indoor water park, outdoor pool, and restaurant/lounge. Kids can join the Ramkota Rascals Kids Club. Refrigerators and microwaves in all poolside rooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Ramkota
Best Western Sioux Falls
Sioux Falls Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.