We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phillips Avenue Diner

Phillips Avenue Diner
121 South Phillips Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57104
605.335.4977
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 326 Restaurants in Sioux Falls
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Pierre, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food was great along with the menu options, great breakfast. A definate go to while in Sioux Falls.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    80
    57
    18
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“GREAT shakes, quality ingredients, friendly, well maintained.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We visited during an early season snow storm and they were open and ready to serve anyone braving the weather with a smile! The atmosphere is very good, clean, and well maintained. The food and ingredients was very good. The shakes, DELICIOUS. And, to top it off, it's reasonably priced in the heart of downtown.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Very casual, great place. Parking is limited to the street which is metered but oh well. Awesome coffee, pastries and breakfast. Delicious and easy!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papillion
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great diner food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

strongly encourage you to detour if necessary to Phillips Avenue and check this place out. Hit it for breakfast and the food was PLENTIFUL and GREAT. Have absolutely nothing negative to say. Lots to choose from, lots to like. Really diverse menu, not just the burger and fries fare. Well decorated classic diner. Go hungry or you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Nice casual place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We tried the diner on our return to the Sioux Falls area as we had heard it was owned by the same people that own Minervas, where we had eaten on our previous visit. Also, we had planned a visit to Sioux Falls Park and wanted something more casual. Done up as a 50's diner it has a
fun atmosphere and the food was certainly ok. They have an extensive milk shake menu and both my husband and I enjoyed our shakes. We were there on a Monday night and they were featuring Burger Night. Not exceptional, but certainly quite acceptable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phillips Avenue Diner also viewed

 

Been to Phillips Avenue Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phillips Avenue Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.