We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and trendy, with excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spezia

Spezia
4801 S. Louise Avenue, Sioux Falls, SD 57105
605-334-7491
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Spezia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 324 restaurants in Sioux Falls
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 57th Street and Louise Ave
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Lovely and trendy, with excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I ate here many times during a month in SF and loved the place. All of the entries I had were excellent, as is the service. Wine comes in generous portions. A lively, well-run place with a great menu and great waitstaff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    31
    21
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overrated/Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Had never been to Spezia before, but had heard good things and received a Spezia gift card for my birthday. We went there on a Sunday at noon, and they had their Sunday brunch buffet. The pasta was overcooked, and the sauce tasted like it came out of a can (both the red and white sauces). Not horrible by any means, but there are much better buffets in Sioux Falls for less money. Will try Spezia again for dinner some evening, but will definitely not be back for Sunday brunch again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to host a rehursal dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I worked with Nancy, she was wonderful! We had 58 people for the dinner and we were handled wonderfully! The food was wonderful! There was a little confusion with how I wanted it set up, but was handled immediately! Planning a rehursal dinner this large from across the country would have been a nightmare, but went wonderfully! I can't even tell you how many people came up to me to thank me for the wonderful food, and staff! Thank you Spezia (Nancy) for making this Mom of the Grooms event so wonderful!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mixed results”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We met at 11:45 for lunch--big crowd, but we were seated immediately. Excellent tomato basil soup and good bread. Took quite a while for our entries to arrive. The salmon and chicken dishes were fine. The Italian beef tips were awful; very tough and an odd taste. Dessert was good; lemon cake and creme brulee. This used to be one of our favorite restaurants, but this was not their finest hour. We'll give them another chance though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“So-So and Your Outta Here!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

First time in Sioux City on business. This restaurant was convenient and the reviews were okay so my colleague and I gave it a try. It wasn't awful, it just wasn't anything special. Crowded, so the locals must thing its okay. Had the sea bass (I know, why are you ordering sea bass in South Dakota?) on the waiter's recommendation. Should have known better when he said the dish, usually $24.99, was on special for $19.99. Sea bass for under twenty bucks? I don't think so. When it came I understood why. It had the shape and consistency of a a calamari steak. Obviously frozen and pre-shaped. Not your usual thick piece of sea bass. And it was served on a bed on dried out and sticky angel hair pasta. It wasn't bad; it just wasn't good. The irony of the night was that the service was so good it was silly. We couldn't have been at the table more than forty minutes -- appetizer, salad, and entree and, bang you are out of here. It was weird!

Ah well. I'll try some place else tomorrow night!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spezia also viewed

 
Sioux Falls, SD

Been to Spezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.