We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dakotah Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dakotah Lodge to your Saves list
Dakotah Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Certificate of Excellence
S.W. Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed at the Dakotah Lodge for one night on 08/27/14. This hotel was such a nice surprise. Our room was newly remodeled and very nice. There was a work station, a big leather chair with accompanying ottoman, a mini fridge, microwave, and a cute baby coffeemaker. The bed was so comfortable that I hated to crawl out of it in the morning. The bedding appears to be of a lightweight type which can be laundered between every customer instead of the icky bedspreads that are reused over and over that you find at other hotels. The included breakfast is in a very cute country kitchen setting and the food was standard hot breakfast bar type food that is found in hotels, but still very good. There is a wonderful courtyard with a fireplace that made me wish we were staying another night, so we could actually enjoy it (we arrived very late).
The hotel is still hard at work remodeling their pool area, but it looks like it will be a good time when it is completed. The staff was very friendly, helpful and attentive.
Also of note, our room had a slight "chemical" like smell upon first entering the room that I think came from the new carpet, but it was very slight and not noticeable after just a few minutes. I'm sure the problem will dissipate after a short time.
If I find myself in the Sioux Falls area again, I look forward to staying at the Dakotah Lodge again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. It gives the staff a good feeling knowing we exceeded your expectations. They all work hard to give you a pleasant stay at a reasonable price, and providing the extra amenities that you normally will not find at some of the more expensive properties . The courtyard is a big hit with most of our guests and we all ready have had several return visits because of it. One guest mentioned how much the fish have grown since early summer. We feel we are a comfy , cozy kinds of place and are happy you enjoy it too. Hope to see you again soon, Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    119
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
140
102
26
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed here last night. There was a storm so there was no power when we checked in. The room was really nice. Bed and linens were clean. The only thing I don't like was the smell of new paint in the room which was really strong. Hope they do something about it. The staff were all nice though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. The power outage was definitely a problem for us and 2999 other places. We were so happy when it came back on at 11:15 A.M. I apologize about the the paint smell we try to air them out as long as possible. Please give us another try in the future and I promise it will be a 5 star stay all the way. Donna Gratzfeld, Genneral Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

(+)
- room size
- cleanliness
- new interior
- breakfast was fantastic!
- fast internet connection
- close to highway

I totally loved it and would recommend everyone to stay there!

They currently remodel and so there was actually no name outside and I almost mistook it for something else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. It is such a joy to visit with all the people from literally all over the world. Hope your holiday was a pleasant one ,if you get back this way please come see us again. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Very nice hotel going through some renovations. The rooms were very nice, clean with great beds and pillows. They are adding a pool and fixing everything up. There was no noise when we were there. They have a very nice courtyard with a gas fireplace. The staff was very friendly. Laundry room came in handy but expensive compared to the average laundry machines. Great restaurant across the street. This hotel was a little hard to find, but was worth it. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you so much for writing us such a nice review. We continue to try to provide the best in hospitality at the lowest price. Glad we were able to do just that. Hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The Dakotah Lodge is currently being remodeled, so almost everything in the room was new and clean. It is an older building so it has its quirks like a low ceiling in the bathroom and minor inconsistent temperature for the shower, but they are definitely making the most out of the hotel. The dining area for breakfast is cute with a decent spread including waffles and cereal. The hotel is a big square with a courtyard in the center which was also landscaped and remodeled with a nice water feature and plenty of seating. Any other hotel in this price range is usually pretty bad, but the Dakotah Lodge offers clean, updated rooms and good hospitality. I think we have found a good halfway point for our trips from Duluth to the Badlands and will certainly stay at the Dakotah Lodge again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. We are happy to have provided you with a comfortable stay at a reasonable price. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
177 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were generally happy with our stay at the Dakotah Lodge. Our room was a bit dark, but it was large and tastefully furnished. The beds were good and firm, and the bathroom was fine, though my wife complained about the very short cord on the hair dryer. They offer breakfast which is o.k., but the breakfast room is very crowded, making it hard to get to food and to sit.

The front-desk service was top-notch--very friendly and helpful. Our first room had a tub drain so slow that my shower turned into a bath. The woman at the front desk quickly moved us to an alternative room with her apologies.

That said, there are downsides to this place. It is in an unattractive neighborhood--basically a warehouse district. There is a huge vacant lot on one side and a recreational vehicle dealer on the other. There are no decent restaurants nearby. They are renovating, which means that there is noise if you are near the front of the place. There is also some airport noise, and the day we were there the hotel was apparently downwind from a feedlot.

On balance, though, at less than $70 a night, this is an excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to give us your views. I do want to point out there is an excellent restaurant and bar less than a block to the north of the hotel on the frontage road. Next time you get in the area please give it a try. Thank you for staying with us . Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

So happy to have found the wonderful Dakotah Lodge! What a great place to stay; so cute and charming. The staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable - kept breakfast open late for us, mailed our 5-year old her favorite stuffed animal that we left behund and generally acted like a business that cares about their clients should. Recommend without hesitation and encourage you to book your stay today!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.d.granny, General Manager at Dakotah Lodge, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. It was our pleasure to mail your daughters precious friend I am sure he was lonely without her. So glad we provided you with a comfortable stay and hope to see you again soon. Donna Gratzfeld, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sioux Falls hotels
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Sioux Falls Airport Hotel and Suites
3.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
Candlewood Suites Sioux Falls
#10 of 51 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sioux Falls ClubHouse Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
My Place Hotel-Sioux Falls
#5 of 51 in Sioux Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sioux Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakotah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakotah Lodge

Address: 3200 West Russell Street, Exit 81 off I-29, Sioux Falls, SD 57107 (Formerly Brimark Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Sioux Falls
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Sioux Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dakotah Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This totally remodeled property is an all masonry construction which makes our rooms so very quiet.We have interior corridors, a beautiful courtyard with a guest barbeque grill, fireplace, waterfall with a large seating and eating area great for group gatherings. Refrigerators, microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen T.V.S in every room. Rooms have new beds either 2 queen or 1 king.We have a business center and fitness center.Complimentary hot breakfast. Indoor pool, 167 foot waterslide and kids play area. Waterpark is for registered guests only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dakotah Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dakotah Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.